Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:48   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 242 Times
Default

Its related to your graphics card, if you have an available PCI slot, you can go for a higher graphics card with more VRAM (see gaming recommendations printed on the box)
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:49   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Thanks ROC, very very helpful indeed. I guess i will stick to the setup in post 23.

Also my notebook runs on AMD Turion, 1MB Ram, and NVidia 128MB 5200X, but it never hangs when i am playingthe same game, why so? Game card is similar as the PC but the PC always tends to hang up.

Quote:

I would highly suggest this motherboard.

Intel&reg Desktop Board D975XBX2 Overview
Any insight on this ROC?
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:50   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,179
Thanked: 1,111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetan View Post
chaos i have a amd 2800, 1gb hynix 330mzh and msi k8mm-v mother board now i dont know a clue about over clocking......is it safe to overclock the mentioned setup.....
That board can't overclock. There are no overclocking controls in it.

Quote:
does this setup play current games like cod4, quake wars, crysis? and what resolution, is there any ghosting while playing
This system will play all games, albeit at medium settings. If you get an 8800GT instead, you can play everything at high settings. Ghosting depends on your LCD. LCDs with low response time won't suffer from ghosting.

Quote:
is the gpu overclocked too.........is there any good guide for overclocking.


Hey you never replied on how much u payed for the momo, does it have two paddle shifts, where did you buy it
I'd refrain from overclocking the GPU as typically overclocked GPUs die and the mileage from overclocking is not significant.

Sorry about that. I think I forgot. I paid 4.5k for my Momo and got it from Computer Shop at brigade road.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 12:52   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,179
Thanked: 1,111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Thanks ROC, very very helpful indeed. I guess i will stick to the setup in post 23.

Also my notebook runs on AMD Turion, 1MB Ram, and NVidia 128MB 5200X, but it never hangs when i am playingthe same game, why so? Game card is similar as the PC but the PC always tends to hang up.
I have a weird feeling that your video card is dying or is half dead. Screen corruption as you say is typically because of that.

975XBX2 is an outdated board. Intel has already released the updated X38 and X48 chipsets to replace the 975X. Infact P35 I suggested performs much better than 975X, even though its a mainstream chipset.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 13:05   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Thanks Once again ROC.

I have finalised the setup in post 23. Can i upgrade it a bit further since i can spend 5k more then the setup mentioned in post 23. I guess a 256MB Ram for the Game card is fine, motherboard is also fine since it fulfills all requirements.

What do you think about Intel Quad processor?
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 13:08   #36
BHPian
 
chetan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 466
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

[quote=reignofchaos;634572]That board can't overclock. There are no overclocking controls in it.

can u suggest a good mobo i have a agp card 6200 i know its not good compared to cards right now, im planning a small upgrade

is a agp mobo costlier than a pcie baord, I need RAM aswell
chetan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 13:13   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,179
Thanked: 1,111 Times
Default

Its hard to get an AGP board now.What CPU is it exactly? Could you please post a CPU-Z screenshot.

@dadu: You need a PCI Express or AGP slot. Its completely different from a PCI slot.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 13:51   #38
BHPian
 
chetan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 466
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

its a AMD 2800+ claw hammer...i dont have a camera....u can also suggest a pcie mobo
chetan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 14:07   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
What do you think about Intel Quad processor?
Guys any input on the above, costs?
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 14:54   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,179
Thanked: 1,111 Times
Default

If you want a quad core, wait for the 45nm chips to arrive. They are not cheap anyway. You'd have to spend 11k or so on the processor alone.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 15:08   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

The 45nm chips (so called Penryn range of processors) may not arrive soon enough for BUSA and may be very expensive to begin with. Can you wait for say mid-2008. Perhaps in 2-3 years, they may become the standard and if Moore's law holds, should be as cheap as perhaps the Core 2 Duo today. For more info, refer Intel. Moore's law is still working and if we wait for the best, we may wait forever.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 15:35   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

What about Core 2 Extreme?
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 16:00   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Maybe ROC would enlighten further, but I also enquired about that, and I think that is way high end, not required, and quite expensive. Go with Duo or Quad and have a good time. I previously had a P-4 which used to burn DVD movies (DVD shrink, idle pro, decrypter) in 60-65 mins. Core 2 Duo does that in less than 30 mins.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 16:22   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,179
Thanked: 1,111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
What about Core 2 Extreme?
Do you really want to spend 60k on just the processor?

The midrange chips are expected sometime early next year. If you want quad, better wait till then.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 22nd November 2007 at 16:24.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 16:47   #45
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 928
Thanked: 316 Times
Default

Hi Busa, I think ReignOfChaos had mentioned it in an earlier post, multiple CPUs do not necessarily mean that a game, or for that matter any application, is going to run faster. Most game engines in use today are primarily single-threaded, & cannot make use of multiple cores effectively.

Multi-threaded programming is a whole different beast altogether, race conditions, deadlocks - can quickly reduce a man to his knees ! There was a Dr.Dobbs article earlier this year where they optimized BFS for the Cell BBE, compared to a 3.4 GHz P4 the performance improvement was 22 times ! That's just awesome, but the cost of all this performance was a 20 times explosion in code !?!

That said, the game engines are getting there, I think Valve announced last year that they're going down the multi-threaded road. Within a couple of years, we'd probably be using all our cores when gaming

Last edited by im_srini : 22nd November 2007 at 16:53.
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks