Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd July 2009, 22:43   #466
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
aditya
1. I wonder if you are running a 64 bit OS. if you're not, then one of your 2GB sticks is virtually idle
Not really. If he is running Vista (Or have enabled /PAE , /3GB on XP). Then you can use almost all of 4 GB. Without /3GB switch, max memory "per process" is limited to 2 GB. But total system memory is still approx 4 GB.

OS is not actually 32 bit when it comes to memory management. OS sees memory blocks addressable as 36 bit units.


Thats why 32 bit Windows 2003 Enterprise can support up to 64 GB RAM.
And Linux (with 32 bit Kernel) can very easily use more memory than 4 GB RAM.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 22:58   #467
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Windows XP (32 bit) won't support more than 3.5 GB, even if you have 4 GB ram around 500 MB will be hidden and of no use.
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 23:49   #468
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,630
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srisha View Post
Pentium core 2 duo 2.8ghz processor
Intel DG 31 PR original motherboard
3GB DDR2 Transcend Ram
160 GB seagate hard disk
Wireless keyboard & Mouse
Flat cabinet from I Ball
Nvidia 1 GB graphic card

All the above for a price of 27,000. Which I though way too expensive and just walked out. Can some one provide a more realistic price.
Yes, the cost is on higher side.
For a comparison and just to get a rough idea about cost, have a look at this site:
TheITWares - Buy Computer Hardware , PC Components , Laptop Computers - One Stop for all Gizmos!!

This site manages to give quite realistic price, specially in case of processors, RAM, Graphic card. But this can vary as per location.

Get in touch with some assembler as you will get a good setup as per what you want.
Persoanlly I now assemble PC myself, but again this has its own advantages and disadvantages.

@greenhorn: Agree with you, 9500GT is a damn good card. I have one and its absolutely good.
About 4GB, I am now using 32 bit XP but machine is packed with 4GB of RAM. I am able to access 3.25GB. But when upgrading, this does not come in between. 64bit Vista with SP1 is nice. Dont dare to use 64bit XP.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 23rd July 2009 at 23:51.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 23:52   #469
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

srisha, just like i told aditya, dont go by the memory on a gfx card - it doesnt matter
its the model which makes the difference... check with us before you buy
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 10:19   #470
BHPian
 
srisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 165
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
srisha, just like i told aditya, dont go by the memory on a gfx card - it doesnt matter
its the model which makes the difference... check with us before you buy
Ok, I need a graphic card which is capable of supporting 1080P output through HDMI or DVX.
srisha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 10:44   #471
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

I think any graphics card should be able to do it, provided it has the outputs you wants ( you meant DVI right?)
heck, some motherboards can output 1080P over HDMI/DVI If your dealer has one of those, get them and save some $$, noise and power !
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 11:30   #472
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srisha View Post
Ok, I need a graphic card which is capable of supporting 1080P output through HDMI or DVX.
Even the built-in (onboard) Grafix on my PC (Asus M2AVM- HDMI) can do that. I think basically any Grafix card would be able to play video at that res.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 07:05   #473
BHPian
 
tortoiseNhare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Guwahati
Posts: 524
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Eversince I started using a notebook my home desktop has stopped getting attention and it has not got upgraded for the last five years. My Vaio CS15 had recently stopped working when the cpu fan clogged due to dust accumulation. I now want to give some respite to the overworked notebook by rebuilding my desktop.

To me the most bang for the buck desktop cpu in the market is the Pentium E5200. But recently I have seen reviews of a new Pentium E6300 which is even having virtualization technology. Unfortunately this chip is not here in my city. Could anyone update me about its availability anytime soon?
tortoiseNhare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 08:26   #474
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Bang for the buck spells AMD and nothing else. Intels are expensive.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 20:23   #475
Senior - BHPian
 
lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tura
Posts: 1,293
Thanked: 585 Times
Default

Can anybody advice me if the 8800 GT PCI graphic cards are now discontinued ? Sorry I am a bit behind the times. I ask this question because I can't find it anywhere either in techshop or any other online source.

Also if it indeed has been discontinued, what Graphic card has replaced it ?
lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 20:30   #476
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

what's your budget
PCI graphics card are kinda hard to find, especially high performance ones.
did you mean PCI express?
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 22:07   #477
Senior - BHPian
 
lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tura
Posts: 1,293
Thanked: 585 Times
Default

budget is 10-15, but it should be a design like 8800GT because my Dell Vostro 220 desktop SMPS may not be compatible with more.

Yes PCI-Express only.

My basic intention is to enable DVI in the desktop and get decent graphics.
lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 23:06   #478
BHPian
 
srisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 165
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I think any graphics card should be able to do it, provided it has the outputs you wants ( you meant DVI right?)
heck, some motherboards can output 1080P over HDMI/DVI If your dealer has one of those, get them and save some $$, noise and power !
I managed to get a good deal for the earlier mentioned config for 20,000. So I think, I will go in for this very soon.

Do you guys know if the BD ROMs are available in India and what may be the best price>?

Regards,

Srisha
srisha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 00:49   #479
IMP
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 117
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Hi Guys,
Please suggest a good configuration for me, budget around 25k, only need the motherboard+processor, ram, GFX card, cabinet+PSU & HDD to be replaced.

I need this configuration to edit HDV videos from my HD camcorder. so the motherboard should have a firewire/IEEE 1394 port.

I'm not into serious editing, these are mostly home videos, but would like the encoding and transitions to be fast.

Other than that it should be suitable for light gaming. (3-4 hrs a month on games like GTA4 and NFS undercover.)
IMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 03:38   #480
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

A good 25K budget pc with gpu means AMD and anyways AMD's kick Intel when it comes to gaming. Otherwise look at an entry level C2D. Many may say bad things about AMD but remember that most never used AMD and are just being Skeptical.

You can have an Entry Level X2 with MSI/Gigabye chipset, 4gb DDr2, Nvidia/ATI GPU (4K series at the best, anything above that should be expensive) and a 160/320gb hdd based on your requirements.

For GPU you can also look at the previous gen (latest DirectX compatible) gpu's. They are cheaper and more powerful than what's available in your budget from the current stables.

Last edited by devarshi84 : 28th July 2009 at 03:40.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks