Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th July 2009, 07:21   #481
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

lurker, an 8800GT class card will need a better SMPS. if you want to run it off the stock PSU, get a Geforce 9600GT/Radeon 4770. both should be around 6~7k
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 09:52   #482
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Yes, the cost is on higher side.
For a comparison and just to get a rough idea about cost, have a look at this site:
TheITWares - Buy Computer Hardware , PC Components , Laptop Computers - One Stop for all Gizmos!!
There is another site that I came across: itdepot (google for exact address).
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 09:54   #483
IMP
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 117
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@devarshi84 - I currently have AMD , so no problems with that. I was looking for atleast a Quad Core Processor, since full HD video is an uphill task for most processors, and most video editors (adobe PE7, sony vegas) are multi threaded. Gaming is secondary for me. I can go with onboard graphics initially and add a GPU later.

I am currently looking at,

Intel Q9400 2.66/Q9550 2.83
P45/G45, G43 motherboard
3 GB ram DDR2 800
WD 640 GB HDD

Dont know much abt AMD but would like a similar configuration.
IMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 10:08   #484
Senior - BHPian
 
lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tura
Posts: 1,292
Thanked: 581 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
lurker, an 8800GT class card will need a better SMPS. if you want to run it off the stock PSU, get a Geforce 9600GT/Radeon 4770. both should be around 6~7k
Dell has assured me through email that the Vostro 220MT has capable SMPS to support 8800GT card.

but surprisingly I can't find the 8800 GT card anymore on any site ? Wonder what's a compatible card the 8800 GT ?
lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 10:17   #485
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMP View Post
I am currently looking at,

Intel Q9400 2.66/Q9550 2.83
P45/G45, G43 motherboard
3 GB ram DDR2 800
WD 640 GB HDD
I was looking at the same processor, but was correctly advised by aaggoswami to go for i7 920 as the price diff. was not much, but the performance diff. was a lot. i7 920 will require a more expensive MB and RAM though.

Here was my config in June 2009:
i7 920, MSI MB, 3GB DDR3 1333 RAM, 500 GB HDD, Coolermaster Cabinet, DVD writer. Had other components incl. Windows XP, office 2007, LCD, keyboard, mouse, 256MB graphics Nvidia.

Total cost was around 36.5-37K (exact amount forgotten).
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 10:25   #486
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker View Post
Dell has assured me through email that the Vostro 220MT has capable SMPS to support 8800GT card.

but surprisingly I can't find the 8800 GT card anymore on any site ? Wonder what's a compatible card the 8800 GT ?
google tells me that the 220 MT has a 300 W PSU. an 8800 GT is better off with a 500W unit.

I'm not sure what exactly is compatible with the dell desktop. maybe you can email them for a list of supported cards.

I'm not too sure with either the ATI or Nvidia lineup, except for the fact that the 4770 is the most bang for buck card out there, and its better than the 8800GT, and cheaper
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 11:14   #487
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMP View Post
@devarshi84 - I currently have AMD , so no problems with that. I was looking for atleast a Quad Core Processor, since full HD video is an uphill task for most processors, and most video editors (adobe PE7, sony vegas) are multi threaded. Gaming is secondary for me. I can go with onboard graphics initially and add a GPU later.

I am currently looking at,

Intel Q9400 2.66/Q9550 2.83
P45/G45, G43 motherboard
3 GB ram DDR2 800
WD 640 GB HDD

Dont know much abt AMD but would like a similar configuration.
Well, if it fits in your budget, go for it. I dont see a graphics card in you list and also the ram is only 3gb. 4gb would be a better bet.

PS: While performance is marginally better in quad-core its mostly a marketing gimmick than real life performance increase that Intel/AMD are banking on. We hardly need 2-cores.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 12:52   #488
IMP
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 117
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@vasudeva - are you sure about the price you have stated? core i7 mobo+processor best quote i got was 28500/- add 4k for GPU, 4k for ram, 3.5k for HDD, 3.5k for cabinet and smps and we are looking at 43k easily. excluding OS, Office, LCD, KB+Mouse.

@devarshi84 - even if you put 4gb of ram in windows(32bit systems) will only use 3.2 gb of it, its better to go for 3gb. For multi threaded applications the difference between a quad core and a dual core is substantial.
IMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 13:00   #489
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Plans to purchase a 5 port wired Network Hub. What's the price of it ?

I know that hubs are obsolete, but I just need it for home use to connect 4 computers and don't want to spend too much.
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 20:07   #490
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Buddy, i7 920 is not more than 14K anywhere in India and mobo another 13K for MSI x58 Pro. So you are looking at 27k from cheapest online vendor. Slash another grand or 2 for Palika/Lamington and you are looking at 25.5 odd grands in India. Rest looks good.

Regarding Windows, having 4 GB is always better because Windows will always take a lot of RAM for mapping drivers and hardwares resources whenever it boots up, irrespective of whatever RAM you put in. So having 3 GB, you will again be using about 2.5 gigs only well. What good is saving a grand in that case unless someone is really really tight on cash. Think about it in this way. If you have at least 4 GB, you will be in good books when scaling up with Windows 7 in 2 year's time. Remember future is 64 bit only and 32 bit is only for backward compatibility.

Windows 7 is the last version of Windows to come out in 32 bit only because of enterprise client. Since every org phases out comps at max 5 years intervals, this is the last time any 32 bit MS OS is coming out. In next 3 years, every org would have only have inventory of 64 bit machines, which will be a good cause for a 64 bit only OS development.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMP View Post
@vasudeva - are you sure about the price you have stated? core i7 mobo+processor best quote i got was 28500/- add 4k for GPU, 4k for ram, 3.5k for HDD, 3.5k for cabinet and smps and we are looking at 43k easily. excluding OS, Office, LCD, KB+Mouse.

@devarshi84 - even if you put 4gb of ram in windows(32bit systems) will only use 3.2 gb of it, its better to go for 3gb. For multi threaded applications the difference between a quad core and a dual core is substantial.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 20:12   #491
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Query regarding importing computer goods...

I'm looking to buy CPU, RAM & some more small things off NewEgg or some other website, having a friend receive the goods in US, do a burn-test for a week and then ship it to me. Is there anything I have to be careful about customs scanning the packages and asking me to pay duty. I have to buy this thing from US becase DDR3 and CPU/Mobos are awesomely cheap there compared to India. I mean where in India will I get 6 GB DDR3 1600 for 5 odd Grands (100$).

BTW, What is the duty on computer components?
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 20:46   #492
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMP View Post
@devarshi84 - even if you put 4gb of ram in windows(32bit systems) will only use 3.2 gb of it, its better to go for 3gb. For multi threaded applications the difference between a quad core and a dual core is substantial.
While buying for the present the system should be futureproof. 4gb is required for the systems to be used further. Desktops are mostly kept for a longer time than desktops. Also 4gb is a better deal compared to 3gb or 8gb.

While quad-core does make a difference, most applications hardly make use of dual-core. It's been proven on most reputed tech websites that quad-core doesnt make sense unless you want to have the a benchmarking pc.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 20:57   #493
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMP View Post
@vasudeva - are you sure about the price you have stated? core i7 mobo+processor best quote i got was 28500/- add 4k for GPU, 4k for ram, 3.5k for HDD, 3.5k for cabinet and smps and we are looking at 43k easily. excluding OS, Office, LCD, KB+Mouse.

@devarshi84 - even if you put 4gb of ram in windows(32bit systems) will only use 3.2 gb of it, its better to go for 3gb. For multi threaded applications the difference between a quad core and a dual core is substantial.
I think you are right. I remember now that I got that config for 40.5K. 36K was net after selling my old CPU.

It contained

Core i7 920
MSI MB
3GB DDR3 1333 MHZ RAM Patriot
500 GB HDD
Coolermaster Cabinet
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 09:19   #494
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,630
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
1) an 8800 GT is better off with a 500W unit.

2) the 4770 is the most bang for buck card out there, and its better than the 8800GT, and cheaper
1) Atleast around 450W minimum. At full loads it will eat energy.

2) Its one of the best. 4770 is the card that has effectively taken most of the cards down in under Rs. 8-9K. ATi has very serious design efficiencies or what I dont know, but this card is simply amazing. Used one for a couple of days and it never felt overloaded.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMP View Post
I currently have AMD , so no problems with that. I was looking for atleast a Quad Core Processor, since full HD video is an uphill task for most processors, and most video editors (adobe PE7, sony vegas) are multi threaded. Gaming is secondary for me. I can go with onboard graphics initially and add a GPU later.

I am currently looking at,

Intel Q9400 2.66/Q9550 2.83
P45/G45, G43 motherboard
3 GB ram DDR2 800
WD 640 GB HDD

Dont know much abt AMD but would like a similar configuration.
Vasudeva is correct, i7 is better than the processors you have listed.
Q9400 is itself Rs. 12.5 K online shopping.
Q9550 is Rs. 14.8K.
i7 920 is about Rs. 14.9K.

X58 mobos are expensive as compared to socket AM3 boards. So its better to atleast consider AMD set up as an option.

P will have onboard graphics disabled with no port available to activate it. G has on board graphics that are good, but not the best.
P45 board will be more stable. A good board will cost you around Rs. 7-7.5K.

I would suggest you AMD Phenom II set up. The Phenom II are VFM processors that dont compromise on performance.

I would suggest
AMD Phenom II 945, Rs. 11.2K.
MSI 790GX-G65, Rs. 9.3k
RAM requirement would be DDR3, but its worth it.

What is the max budget ?
aaggoswami is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 09:59   #495
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai/BLR/USA
Posts: 927
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

Came across this site Binary World | Where The Powerful Get Plugged In based out of Bangalore, it gives the retail prices of majority of the hardware devices which all of us generally look out.

Such sites are quite useful specially if you want to configure your own PC considering the your budget. I agree that they don’t have very high end stuff but still the range available is quite reasonable. The prices quoted seems to reasonable as it is updated on a daily basis.

I have bought a CPU from this site & till now I don’t have any hardware related issue.
tj123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks