Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th April 2011, 14:49   #616
Senior - BHPian
 
Mr.Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,894
Thanked: 2,331 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by dar3dev|l View Post
i am looking for a PC
....
for Surfing, Movies, Music and some MS Office related documents
....
My budget for the same is 18-20K
Quote:
Originally Posted by anku94 View Post
Case : Cooler Master Elite 310

Motherboard : Intel DH67BL B3 stepping (Do not buy B2, they're defective.)

Processor : Core i3 2100

RAM : Corsair/Transcend/GSkill 2x2GB (will provide better performance than 1x4 GB due to dual-channel mode)

HDD : WD/Seagate whatever you need

PSU : FSP Saga II 350W/400W
Hi anku94, configuration seems to be perfect with possibilities of future upgradations. But will it fit in the budget?
With a rough calculation (all values are approximate),
i3 processor - 5k
Mother Board - 5k
HDD - 2k
RAM - 3k
PSU - 1.5k
Case / CAbinet - 1.5k
Monitor - 6.5k
Key Board & Mouse - 1k
2.1 Speaker - 1.5k
Configuration exceeds 25k (please correct me if I am wrong)

@dar3dev : Is it really required a 4GB RAM for the above stated application?
Mr.Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2011, 16:40   #617
BHPian
 
dar3dev|l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hannover, DE
Posts: 293
Thanked: 87 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

not really i think 2 or 3Gb should do but the imp question here is will i3 2100 and intel b3 MBD fit my budget ?

was working on this config with AMD which seems to fit my budget. How does it look ?

Processor: AMD athlon II x3 435 @ 3.3k
Motherboard: Gigabyte 785g based motherboard @3.5k
RAM: Kingston 3gb ddr3 1333mhz ram @ 1.1k
Harddisk: Seagate 500gb blue @ 1.7k
CD Writer: lg dvd r/rw @ .9k
LCD: samsung 18.5" lcd @ 5.2k
Cabinet: Cooler master elite 310 cabinet @ 1.5k
SMPS: FSP saga 400W/500W @ 1.8k/2.1k whichever available
Speaker: Creative 2.1 channel with woofer@ 2.2K
Keyboard + Mouse: Logitech or Microsoft combo @ .5k

Last edited by dar3dev|l : 7th April 2011 at 16:44.
dar3dev|l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2011, 16:44   #618
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

I guess it will exceed even your approximations.

Motherboard costs Rs. 5600 and CPU costs Rs. 6000.

But 20k for a computer with LCD monitor and wireless KB/Mouse and a 2.1 speaker system is perhaps expecting too much.

If the OP goes with an AMD X3 based system, he could save some 3-4k. But that would mean no upgradability, and keeping that in mind, what I posted is the cheapest upgradable configuration with a decent PSU and case.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2011, 17:08   #619
BHPian
 
dar3dev|l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hannover, DE
Posts: 293
Thanked: 87 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

well Anku, if i remove wireless keyboard mouse and a 2.1 speaker will that fit my budget of 20K ?

I mean i can live without those two components as of now and can upgrade them later. But yea LCD is a must. Btw not sure if you went thru the AMD option i gave. How does that look ?

As i mentioned, this is for my sister who is not into gaming, video editing, etc and i doubt if she would require any processor or mbd related upgrades atleast for next 3-4 years.

Last edited by dar3dev|l : 7th April 2011 at 17:09.
dar3dev|l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2011, 20:13   #620
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by dar3dev|l View Post
well Anku, if i remove wireless keyboard mouse and a 2.1 speaker will that fit my budget of 20K ?
I guess not. It would still be about 25k.
Quote:
I mean i can live without those two components as of now and can upgrade them later. But yea LCD is a must. Btw not sure if you went thru the AMD option i gave. How does that look ?
If upgradability is not a concern, the Athlon X3 is a good bang for buck. Feel free to go for it. But make sure the motherboard comes with an AM3 socket (not sure if all 785G boards have AM3).
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2011, 21:06   #621
BHPian
 
dar3dev|l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hannover, DE
Posts: 293
Thanked: 87 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

sorry anku may sound stupid, but whats an AM3 socket and what is it used for ?
dar3dev|l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2011, 21:57   #622
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by dar3dev|l View Post
sorry anku may sound stupid, but whats an AM3 socket and what is it used for ?
Don't worry. By AM3 socket, I mean the socket which the CPU goes into. Many AMD processors are compatible with both AM2+ and AM3 sockets, but AM3 is newer, so a better option. And some AMD proccies won't run on AM2+ at all.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2011, 13:19   #623
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai/BLR/USA
Posts: 927
Thanked: 183 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Yesterday assembled a CPU with the following configuration , prices are excluding 5% taxes.

CPU Intel Core i3 2100 3.1 Ghz. Socket 1155 Rs.5,335
MB Intel Sandy Bridge DH67VR 1155 Pin Boxed Rs.5,127
HDD WD SATA 1TB 64 MB Cache -Green Cavier Rs.2,560
Memory DDR III Transcend 4gb 1333 mhz. Rs.1,742
Cabinet with SMPS iball Rs.1850.
DVD writer SATA supported Rs 1000

Overall damage over 18.7 k for CPU

Last edited by tj123 : 23rd June 2011 at 13:23.
tj123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2011, 12:29   #624
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 375 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

I know this is the wrong thread (but I am not able to find the right one).

I am looking for computer peripheral dealers in Pune. I need to buy a new graphics card.
I am also looking for getting my old card repaired. Anyone with chip level repairing skills in Pune?
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2011, 21:53   #625
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,607
Thanked: 1,210 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

My nVidia XFX 8800GT graphics card threw up yesterday.Its showing screen full of semicolons and double ghost images are appearing.The computer does not load beyond the windows load screen,ie,the desktop doesnot appear.I switched to onboard graphics card.

So,can the card be repaired(its out of warranty) ?If not please suggest some good cards within 10K.
sagarpadaki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2011, 22:29   #626
BHPian
 
prateekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai & BLR
Posts: 756
Thanked: 307 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
My nVidia XFX 8800GT graphics card threw up yesterday.Its showing screen full of semicolons and double ghost images are appearing.The computer does not load beyond the windows load screen,ie,the desktop doesnot appear.I switched to onboard graphics card.

So,can the card be repaired(its out of warranty) ?If not please suggest some good cards within 10K.
I'd suggest you MSI Cyclone OC R6850 1GB DDR5. Costs a tad above 10k, but is the best performer in the budget.

http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R6850...#?div=Overview

Last edited by prateekm : 28th July 2011 at 22:30.
prateekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2011, 09:01   #627
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,607
Thanked: 1,210 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
I'd suggest you MSI Cyclone OC R6850 1GB DDR5. Costs a tad above 10k, but is the best performer in the budget.

http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R6850...#?div=Overview

Can the 8800GT i have be repaired?Its out of warranty though.Any idea if XFX or nvidia have service center in india?

Apart from MSi cyclone,what options do i have from nvidia Gforce stable?
sagarpadaki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2011, 10:46   #628
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 375 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Hey Sagar,
It is possible to repair graphics cards.
Unfortunately, I am in Pune and the guys who do chip level repairs (I got my motherboard rectified a few years ago from them) are in Mumbai. Hang on to your card till I get my graphics card repaired. Else search for chip level repair guys in your city.

How much is the warranty on XFX card?
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2011, 12:56   #629
BHPian
 
prateekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai & BLR
Posts: 756
Thanked: 307 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Can the 8800GT i have be repaired?Its out of warranty though.Any idea if XFX or nvidia have service center in india?

Apart from MSi cyclone,what options do i have from nvidia Gforce stable?
I guess you will have to contact the authorised distributor for Nvidia in BLR.

A quick google helped me locate these Nvidia authorised dealers:

Big Byte Crop.

Rashi Peripherals

Abacus

Last edited by prateekm : 29th July 2011 at 12:59.
prateekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2011, 14:39   #630
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,607
Thanked: 1,210 Times
Default re: Help with Computer Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
Hey Sagar,
It is possible to repair graphics cards.
Unfortunately, I am in Pune and the guys who do chip level repairs (I got my motherboard rectified a few years ago from them) are in Mumbai. Hang on to your card till I get my graphics card repaired. Else search for chip level repair guys in your city.

How much is the warranty on XFX card?
There is one chip level service provider in bangalore-Phoenix technologies.Have to contact and ask them.However if the repair cost exceeds 3K then no point in repairing it.Better off buying a new card!

XFX warranty is 3 years

Quote:
Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
I guess you will have to contact the authorised distributor for Nvidia in BLR.

A quick google helped me locate these Nvidia authorised dealers:

Big Byte Crop.

Rashi Peripherals

Abacus

Will contact them prateek.thanks for the info
sagarpadaki is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:31.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks