Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th November 2007, 15:08   #61
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugen_Power View Post
Dual core is old model and Core 2 Duo is newer..
Pentium D and Core 2 Duo both are Dual Core CPUs with entirely different architectures.

@ Busa,
stick with E2140, no point spending for E2160, you can think of E4500 for 5k.If biostar P35 is not available, think of Abit IP35-E for 6.2k, much better board compared to Biostar in terms of reliability IMHO.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2007, 15:23   #62
BHPian
 
NOTORIOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 783
Thanked: 86 Times
Talking Shaab Ji Is Confoosd

@ Busa

Sir Ji , i am a computer H/W & networking engineer by profession. i have read your thread and found that you are very much confused.please tell me the things you want in your pc.
  1. do you want only cpu or full pc.
  2. what do you do other then gaming (maya or something)
  3. What is your exact budget.
please answere these questions and i will give you a full configuration

and the rates which you were told were
NOTORIOUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2007, 15:23   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 1,094 Times
Default

^^The Abit is a much better board. However since he had a set budget of 20k I only suggested him the biostar.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2007, 16:57   #64
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Hmm if he can squeeze in the Abit, he will be a happy man for sure
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2007, 18:44   #65
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
He qouted me Rs. 1150 for DDR2 1 GB Ram, and if i opt for 2GB, single slot it would cost Rs. 3400
wont two 1 GB be a better option in terms of performance?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2007, 08:21   #66
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Hey ROC, what do you think of this?

I went to the dealer and asked him for the processor E2140 that you mentioned, he said its outdated and showed me high series ones. But which had speed of 2.2GHz written on them.

He qouted Rs.8800 for NVidia 256MB.
He qouted me Rs. 1150 for DDR2 1 GB Ram, and if i opt for 2GB, single slot it would cost Rs. 3400

Since i am more into gamming he suggested i opt for Chipset which would cost around 5500

Now i am really confused, what to do?

The Biostar motherboard he said is outdated and wont support all the things and would cost around 2000-3000 since biostar is the last to launch the products after Intel,

BTW any difference between Core 2 Duo and Dual Core?
Higher series? 4xxx series? Well the 2xxx series were released only three or 4 months ago.!!

Dual Core is E2xxx series with 1 MB L2 cache and 800 FSB
Core 2 Duo is E4xxx series (2MB L2 cache, 800 FSB) and E6xxx series (4MB L2, 1066 and 1333 FSB).
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2007, 15:17   #67
BHPian
 
NOTORIOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 783
Thanked: 86 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
wont two 1 GB be a better option in terms of performance?
1*2 gb modules are better for performance ans it is also a better choice because if in future, your one ram will go kaput then there is another to run your pc. and make sure that on that price you are gettin transcend ram of 667 MHZ.
NOTORIOUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2007, 18:44   #68
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
and make sure that on that price you are gettin transcend ram of 667 MHZ.
667MHZ? Or 800?
  1. do you want only cpu or full pc. Only CPU
  2. what do you do other then gaming (maya or something) Net surfing, download movies hence computer is on, almost around 20 hours a day.
  3. What is your exact budget. 25k
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2007, 19:55   #69
BHPian
 
NOTORIOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 783
Thanked: 86 Times
Default a Intel Configuration For Busa Ji.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
667MHZ? Or 800?
  1. do you want only cpu or full pc. Only CPU
  2. what do you do other then gaming (maya or something) Net surfing, download movies hence computer is on, almost around 20 hours a day.
  3. What is your exact budget. 25k
Here Your Configuration on intel platform
  1. Cabinet with psu =odessy with 500 watt smps =2000
  2. Ram 1 gb transcend 667 mhz (not worth spending extra few buks on 800mhz as there is no performance gain)==1100
  3. Sony DVD writer==1500
  4. Processor = core to duo E6750 2.66GHz 4mb cache 1333MHz fsb ==8000
  5. Mother board = xfx nvidia 650i==5000
  6. graphic card xfx nvidia 8600 gt = = 5500
Total = = = 23100

Rs 1900 saved , give rs 500 as a assembling charges and from rest give me a party !!!

Sir , Trust me this a best config that you can buy this time with your money and it is also a vista ready pc.you can also do a middle level gaming with this pc.i have included a graphics card because mother board doesnt have a onboard graphics.

I have another configuration for you which can serve your purpose at rs 14000 only but it is not windows vista ready.tell me if you are interested.
as you are in bombay, you can go to lamington road for a price check.
NOTORIOUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2007, 20:17   #70
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 1,094 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS View Post
Here Your Configuration on intel platform
  1. Cabinet with psu =odessy with 500 watt smps =2000
  2. Ram 1 gb transcend 667 mhz (not worth spending extra few buks on 800mhz as there is no performance gain)==1100
  3. Sony DVD writer==1500
  4. Processor = core to duo E6750 2.66GHz 4mb cache 1333MHz fsb ==8000
  5. Mother board = xfx nvidia 650i==5000
  6. graphic card xfx nvidia 8600 gt = = 5500

1. Never heard of Odessy power supplies. I'd seriously suggest not skimping on a PSU. You'd not want your computer to go up in flames.
2. 1GB of RAM is definitely not enough. You'd need 2GB and the price difference between 667 and 800 is hardly 200 bucks... worth spending it IMHO for roughly a 2-3% boost. Plus if you overclock, you *NEED* DDR2 800, bare minimum.
3. Okay
4. Okay but overkill for an 8600GT. I'd rather spend more on a graphics card.
5. Thats a lame board. 1 out of 3 are DOA. The 650i chipset doesnt support 45nm penryn chips. On top of that the NVIDIA chipsets are buggy and generally painful. If SLI is not used, there's absolutely no reason to go for an NVIDIA chipset.
6. Where will you get an 8600GT in 5500 bucks? I'd really like to know

Last edited by reignofchaos : 27th November 2007 at 20:19.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2007, 21:10   #71
BHPian
 
NOTORIOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 783
Thanked: 86 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
1. Never heard of Odessy power supplies. I'd seriously suggest not skimping on a PSU. You'd not want your computer to go up in flames.2. 1GB of RAM is definitely not enough. You'd need 2GB and the price difference between 667 and 800 is hardly 200 bucks... worth spending it IMHO for roughly a 2-3% boost. Plus if you overclock, you *NEED* DDR2 800, bare minimum. Where the hell in world you overclock a core2duo E-6750 for just surfing net and downloading movies.
DDR 2 667 Ram=1100
DDR 2 800 Ram= 1450 Diffrence of rs 200 eh?
3. Okay

4. Okay but overkill for an 8600GT. I'd rather spend more on a graphics card.Then suggest a vista compatible graphics card in 5-7 k range.


5. Thats a lame board. 1 out of 3 are DOA(What is This). The 650i chipset doesnt support 45nm penryn chips. On top of that the NVIDIA chipsets are buggy and generally painful. If SLI is not used, there's absolutely no reason to go for an NVIDIA chipset. source ?. I really need one very badly,best boards in the world are made on nvidia chipsets.wanna proof ???


6. Where will you get an 8600GT in 5500 bucks? I'd really like to know I will give you brand new with bill , wanna have one ?
Want a Tution
My response in bold ,italics and underlined.
NOTORIOUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2007, 21:34   #72
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 1,094 Times
Default

You yourself proved it that Odyssey is some local rubbish PSU, no further comments.

The price of DDR2 800 is 1400 bucks and that of 667 is 1200 bucks FYI here in bangalore and thats what I assumed. He said he's gonna play games on the machine. All C2D chips can easily be overclocked without a hitch and its especially useful for games.

Spending 8 grand on a CPU and just 5.5k on the graphics card is simply lame IMHO. Might as well spend 4k on CPU and 10k on a video card and get an ATI HD3850.

DOA = Dead on Arrival. Go ask rashi how many boards have been RMA'ed. FYI I'm running an Asus P5N32-E SLI board with the higher end 680i chipset and the chipset's memory performance, stability and drivers suck bigtime compared to Intel P35. It can't even overclock a kentsfield properly let alone penryn.

What brand is that card? Don't tell me some POV or such crap with no support whatsoever.

Thank you for your offer of tuitions. Don't think I need it. Have been building my own machines since the the mid 90's. No offence but my desktop is probably worth more than most entry level cars.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 27th November 2007 at 21:37.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2007, 19:42   #73
BHPian
 
NOTORIOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 783
Thanked: 86 Times
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post

You yourself proved it that Odyssey is some local rubbish PSU, no further comments.
  • Also see the prons from that site.
The price of DDR2 800 is 1400 bucks and that of 667 is 1200 bucks FYI here in bangalore and thats what I assumed. He said he's gonna play games on the machine. All C2D chips can easily be overclocked without a hitch and its especially useful for games.
  • for 25.5k i can also include a q6600, which is a quad core processor. over clock it and play all games you want.
Spending 8 grand on a CPU and just 5.5k on the graphics card is simply lame IMHO. Might as well spend 4k on CPU and 10k on a video card and get an ATI HD3850.
  • Nvidia is Nvidia and ati cannot match it where the performance is needed.and i said that suggest a vista compatible vidio card in 5-7k range and not 10k
DOA = Dead on Arrival. Go ask rashi how many boards have been RMA'ed. FYI I'm running an Asus P5N32-E SLI board with the higher end 680i chipset and the chipset's memory performance, stability and drivers suck bigtime compared to Intel P35. It can't even overclock a kentsfield properly let alone penryn
  • There you proved that you are not satisfied with your own pc.a person who cannot make a pc for himself, what he will advice to others. There is a way to do something.if you dont know the way, then it is not a mistake of any product or drivers.
What brand is that card? Don't tell me some POV or such crap with no support whatsoever.
  • Dont tell me that you are assembling pc's from 90s and never heard of xfx nvidia.
Thank you for your offer of tuitions. Don't think I need it. Have been building my own machines since the the mid 90's.
  • I can see what you are making from mid 90s.
No offence but my desktop is probably worth more than most entry level cars.
  • It is just not that you buy a high end things and thats all, be a man and learn to use that things.....
My response in bold ,italics and underlined. cheers:

@reignofchaos -=- Think before you speak and dont ever under-estimate a person in front of you.
NOTORIOUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2007, 19:52   #74
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Notorious and ROC - Thanks for the responses.

Firstly i dont need a CD writer, nor do i need dvd writer or ROMs.

I want to go for 2GB of RAM and for 300 more 800 is better i feel, worth the extra dough.

I want a CPU which will remain switched on 24 hours a day(there should be no heating issues) and i can play all games on it. And when i want to upgrade its not a problem.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2007, 19:53   #75
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 468
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Guyz coool off and watch out for that infraction thing! the Mods on this Forum are pretty fanatic!

Kidding! Kidding Kiddding!

Elito
Elito11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:03.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks