Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th December 2007, 09:29   #121
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkg View Post
better buy Two RAM's at once.it is always better. the chances of getting same batch RAM is more.if youbuy second RAM later, chances of getting same make and batch are rare. latency differs between brands that will affect MB

try ankit infotech/computers at SP road. it is good. PM me if you want details

never buy intel CPU without bill. intel will not accept it for repairs/replacement if it is not imported through proper channels. every board/CPU will have a sticker clearly mentioning the importer's name and address with MRP.
Good info. Pls do the same souljah. Get two gigs same make. Forget the P4 or any of the Pentium D line. Get a Dual Core E2140/2160/2180.
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2007, 10:14   #122
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_V View Post
Good info. Pls do the same souljah. Get two gigs same make. Forget the P4 or any of the Pentium D line. Get a Dual Core E2140/2160/2180.
Computer Warehouse quote

1 CPU E2160 INTEL 1.8GHZ DUAL CORE 1 3,320.00
2 MOTHERBOARD INTEL D 945 GCNL 1 3,140.00
3 HARD DISK 250 GB SEAGATE SATA 1 2,810.00
4 CABLE SATA CABLE 1 40.00
5 CABINET I BALL BLACK 1 1,500.00
6 MONITOR XXXX X XXXXX
7 KEYBOARD SAMSUNG BLACK 1 260.00
8 MOUSE SAMSUNG OPTICAL BLACK 1 300.00
9 DVD WRITER 20X LG BLACK 1 1,220.00
10 RAM 2 GB DDR2 667 TRANSCEND 1 2200.00

Total including VAT approx 15200/-
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2007, 11:05   #123
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
Computer Warehouse quote

1 CPU E2160 INTEL 1.8GHZ DUAL CORE 1 3,320.00
2 MOTHERBOARD INTEL D 945 GCNL 1 3,140.00
3 HARD DISK 250 GB SEAGATE SATA 1 2,810.00
4 CABLE SATA CABLE 1 40.00
5 CABINET I BALL BLACK 1 1,500.00
6 MONITOR XXXX X XXXXX
7 KEYBOARD SAMSUNG BLACK 1 260.00
8 MOUSE SAMSUNG OPTICAL BLACK 1 300.00
9 DVD WRITER 20X LG BLACK 1 1,220.00
10 RAM 2 GB DDR2 667 TRANSCEND 1 2200.00

Total including VAT approx 15200/-
Anyways here's the deal with dual channel myth.
Parallel Processing, Part 2: RAM and HDD | Tom's Hardware

CPU, RAM, HDD look fine.

Suggest you go for a newer chipset, one that has compatibilty with Quad core? 945G is one of the older chipsets.

Intel GMA - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

"This IGP is capable of running Windows Vista’s [COLOR=#0000ff]Aero[/COLOR] interface and certified as DirectX 9 compliant. However no WDDM driver has been made publicly available for this chipset. This is claimed to be due to the lack of a "hardware scheduler" in the GMA chipsets.
Many owners of GMA900 hardware believed they would be able to run Aero on their systems, as early release candidates of Vista permitted XPDM drivers to run Aero. However, Intel contends that Microsoft's final specs for Aero/WDDM certification did not permit releasing a WDDM driver for GMA900 (due to issues with the hardware scheduler, as mentioned above), so when the final version of Vista was released, no WDDM driver was released. The last minute pulling of OpenGL capabilities from the GMA drivers for Windows Vista leaves the large number of GMA based workstations unable to perform basic 3D hardware acceleration with OpenGL."

U should get urself a newer chipset. like the G965 ?

Why does the keyboard cost so much? Isnt it around 500? Save a thousand from ur keyboard and mouse ,use it for a better motherboard.
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2007, 14:48   #124
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_V View Post
CPU, RAM, HDD look fine.

Suggest you go for a newer chipset, one that has compatibilty with Quad core? 945G is one of the older chipsets. U should get urself a newer chipset. like the G965 ?
Yeah in fact I had asked the guy over the phone to give me an option of a new motherboard. Thanks for the links, I will browse through them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_V View Post
Why does the keyboard cost so much? Isnt it around 500? Save a thousand from ur keyboard and mouse ,use it for a better motherboard.
Thats actually 220 for the keyboard and 300 for the mouse
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2007, 15:09   #125
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Note: BUSA hijacking your thread for a while lol.

I was just going through my garage room and i saw my old system lying there. Hooked it up and its working perfectly fine. Hooked it up with my spare 160 GB ATA HDD. Working fine as of now.

The config is:

1. AMD ATHLON 200+
2. ASUS X SERIES MOBO
3. 265 MB RAM
4. ATI GFX CARD (NOT WORKING DUNNO WHY) SOMETIMES IT WORK SOMETIMES IT KEEPS ON SHOWING BLANK SCREEN AND MONITOR LIGHT KEEPS ON BLINKING.

Now i have a budget of 10k excluding selling my ram, mobo, processor.

Whats the best i can get in 10k including a DirectX 10 GFX card ?

P.S. I am not sure what to do. I also have 1 more system whose config is

1. AMD 64 3600+
2. Asus Mobo Xseries
3. HAD Nvidia GFX Card (Blew it up overcloked it way too much i guess)
4. 512 MB Ram 266 Mhz (Had 512 more sold it for good $$$ to someone)
5. 160 GB SATA, 80GB x 2 ATA

Its around 3 - 4 years old now and still kicks some good *** in gaming and regular working.

Now should i sell both of them and add 10K to it and get a complete gaming rig.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2007, 16:25   #126
BHPian
 
Torqueguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 277
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Yup... games are inherently single threaded. Of the few truly multithreaded games out there, most don't use more than two cores. The only games I know of that actually uses as many cores as available are Lost Planet and Supreme Commander. I'd wait until Quad cores become more affordable. Right now its just meant for pimping one's machine.
Well its not just for pimping one's machine!!! if you r planning to work on image processing, sound processing and 3d rendering software, Quad is the way to go!!!! So chaos, i guess wat you stated applies to the pure gamer alone, right?
Torqueguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2007, 16:33   #127
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
Yeah in fact I had asked the guy over the phone to give me an option of a new motherboard. Thanks for the links, I will browse through them.



Thats actually 220 for the keyboard and 300 for the mouse
. Ok, thats good.
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2007, 18:26   #128
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Note: BUSA hijacking your thread for a while lol.
No issues at all buddy, feel free to discuss so i can also learn

Last edited by BUSA : 15th December 2007 at 18:28.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2007, 19:08   #129
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Note: BUSA hijacking your thread for a while lol.

I was just going through my garage room and i saw my old system lying there. Hooked it up and its working perfectly fine. Hooked it up with my spare 160 GB ATA HDD. Working fine as of now.

The config is:

1. AMD ATHLON 200+
2. ASUS X SERIES MOBO
3. 265 MB RAM
4. ATI GFX CARD (NOT WORKING DUNNO WHY) SOMETIMES IT WORK SOMETIMES IT KEEPS ON SHOWING BLANK SCREEN AND MONITOR LIGHT KEEPS ON BLINKING.

Now i have a budget of 10k excluding selling my ram, mobo, processor.

Whats the best i can get in 10k including a DirectX 10 GFX card ?

P.S. I am not sure what to do. I also have 1 more system whose config is

1. AMD 64 3600+
2. Asus Mobo Xseries
3. HAD Nvidia GFX Card (Blew it up overcloked it way too much i guess)
4. 512 MB Ram 266 Mhz (Had 512 more sold it for good $$$ to someone)
5. 160 GB SATA, 80GB x 2 ATA

Its around 3 - 4 years old now and still kicks some good *** in gaming and regular working.

Now should i sell both of them and add 10K to it and get a complete gaming rig.
If 10K is just for GPU, then excellent. Otherwise Atleast 6-7K would fetch you a respectable GPU. Otherwise dont bother.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 19:59   #130
BHPian
 
rohan_fonseca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Panaji
Posts: 984
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Advice here please guys. Am going in for a new pc and am out of touch with whats new and happening out there ever since the days of athlon/GF4.
Budget 45k with gaming in mind. Heres what i got in mind so far.

Core 2 2.2Ghz
Intel 945 GCNL(pls suggest an alternative)
2gb RAM (suggest brand)
Dedicated PSU
GF 8800 GTxx (suggest which one)
LG 17" monitor LCD ( i can always go for a bigger one later on and shift this one to the office)
250gb sata (yet to finalize the brand. Definately not going to be samsung though)
HELP!!
rohan_fonseca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 20:10   #131
BHPian
 
jaibir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 317
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_fonseca View Post
Advice here please guys. Am going in for a new pc and am out of touch with whats new and happening out there ever since the days of athlon/GF4.
Budget 45k with gaming in mind. Heres what i got in mind so far.

Core 2 2.2Ghz which model number?
Intel 945 GCNL(pls suggest an alternative) - Suggest you pick a newer chipset. one of the P35 boards should do. also take a non-Intel if you want to overclock.
2gb RAM (suggest brand). if you can source this abroad, there are some good cost effective options of high performance RAM (Corsair is generally most reliable). However, if buying in India these arent VFM so stick to Kingston. 800 MHz
Dedicated PSU - seventeam if you can get one. otherwise corsair or cooler master (but avoid Cooler Master extreme 600W - crappy PSU)
GF 8800 GTxx (suggest which one) - again, better to source this abroad if you can. 8800 GT or GTS depending on your budget.
LG 17" monitor LCD ( i can always go for a bigger one later on and shift this one to the office)
250gb sata (yet to finalize the brand. Definately not going to be samsung though) - get 2 drives if your motherboard has RAID capability. makes a lot of difference
HELP!!
my comments in bold above. if possible, source the graphics card and RAM abroad. also the aftermarket cooler if you want one (necessary if you plan to overclock). i did that for my current build.
jaibir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 11:12   #132
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_fonseca View Post
Core 2 2.2Ghz
Intel 945 GCNL(pls suggest an alternative)
2gb RAM (suggest brand)
Dedicated PSU
GF 8800 GTxx (suggest which one)
LG 17" monitor LCD ( i can always go for a bigger one later on and shift this one to the office)
250gb sata (yet to finalize the brand. Definately not going to be samsung though)
HELP!!

Cpu is ok
Get better chipset like Nvidia series
Mem -> corsair
Psu coolermaster, antec,corsair
8800gt will be good,
go for 19 inch widescreen. 10k approx
250 sata is good. WD, Hitachi.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 15:21   #133
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Guys,
Need some help in determining the gfx card and sound card. Have a fair idea of gfx card, it will be a 8600GT based card.

Current availability : Got a 32" samsung bordeaux LCD and onkyo sr601 HT system. Let say that i going to down load HD stuff off the net.

If i need to redirect my vdo to lcd and the sound to HT system, then how to go about it? What are the connecting cables involved and what are vdo out, sound out from the cards that i need to care about.
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 15:33   #134
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,072 Times
Default

something 8600Gt, passive preferably, HDMI/DVI out with HDCP


For the audio

Auzentech, Inc. Sound Cards. Audio You Can Believe In. World First soundcards for Music, HTPC, and Gaming.
and connect it via SPDIF
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 18:40   #135
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Secunderabad
Posts: 16
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Well...I hope to find some help in this forum...our friendly neibhourhood forum!
My issue is this....i have a 250GB HD n 2GB RAM CPU...which was running on Windows Server 2003 OS. I have since loaded WIN XP PRO on it and the problem arose....only abt 130gb of my HD is beind identified after new OS installation.I was advised by a friend to install service pack 2 on it,which i have, but the problem stil persists! Could someone help me with this problem....I need to find the other 120gb that i paid for!
Cheers.
P.S. If the moderators feel that this post is OT in this thread,by all means delete my post but do be kind to point out where i could post this?
mushy876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:58.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks