Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st November 2007, 18:38   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Red face Help with Computer Config

Guys need your help asap.

My computer has many many problems, it hangs many a times and when i am playing games it suddenly hangs and gives me a message, The Game is not reponding blah, blah.

I have NVidia 5200FX 128MB. After installation of this, when ever i open a video its always showing colours and then when i open it again it works fine.

I guess my hardware system is mismatching, so i plan to upgrade.

Currently i have : -

512MB Ram
2.6AMD Hammer Processor
80GB HDD
Motherboard - K8M800-M2

Now can anyone please tell me a good configuration which will not cause any mismatch and i can play games succesfully. I plan to assemble the whole CPU only but again, so what should i go for. Something fast and the latest games should work. Please also qoute the cost. Which motherboard, processor and all.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by BUSA : 21st November 2007 at 18:56.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:04   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Bump guys any inputs?
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:07   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

You want a new system? What is your budget?
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:14   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Perhaps reinstall the game. Also increase memory to 2 GB.
I recently got a new PC +Viewsonic 1945wm for 38K. This included:

Viewsonic 1945 (19") monitor
Core 2 Duo 2.2 Mhz 4500
2 GB RAM
320 Gb Hitachi HDD
ASUS Motherboard
DVD Writer
Wireless keyboard and mouse
256 MB NVIDIA GeForce Graphics
650 VA APC UPS

If you are into gaming, get at least 512 MB NVIdia graphics card+2GB RAM+best processor that is compatible (Core 2 Duo is the min. but you can also consider Core 2 Quad).
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:17   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

As Vasu said, for a gaming rig, the GPU is more important than the processor. It would be easier for us to let us know about your budget. We can then suggest you the specs for the system.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:25   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Thanks guys for the input.

Sumit by budget is around 20k can be streched a bit.

Out of the things Vasudeva has mentioned i dont require

Quote:
Viewsonic 1945 (19") monitor - Have 19" syncmaster
Core 2 Duo 2.2 Mhz 4500
2 GB RAM
320 Gb Hitachi HDD
ASUS Motherboard
DVD Writer - Have Samsung
Wireless keyboard and mouse - Not using wireless though
256 MB NVIDIA GeForce Graphics
650 VA APC UPS - Using HP UPS
Can you let me know how much and which company system config should i go for.

Quote:
Perhaps reinstall the game
Hasnot worked, i tried. Infact i cant even play NFS HP2, such basic the system is, need to upgrade big time.

I am looking at soemthing like AMD Turion with 3.5GHz+(clock speed will be around 2.6GHz)

Last edited by BUSA : 22nd November 2007 at 10:29.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:25   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Don't forget to get a good PSU and a roomy cabinet.

Last edited by shuvd : 22nd November 2007 at 10:26.
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:35   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10
Thanked: Once
Default

Hi Busa .,

if you looking for new system assembly then i suggest this configuration
  • Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 Ghz E6850 --- 11000 /-
  • Intel 975X - Intel D975XBX2 ----- 11000 /-
  • 1 GB DDR2 800Mhz x 2 ( total 2 GB )-3000 /-
  • XFX - 320 MB GEFORCE FX 8800GTS PCI E CARD -- 17000/-
  • Hard disk 200 GB .
  • Any TFT display with response time less then 8ms
The rest of components ( cabinet , keyboard , mouse , DVD drive ) is of your preference . make sure you go for power supply minimum rating of 550W for above mentioned configuration .


Or else you can also have a look at Dell XPS desktop Also ( www. dell.co.in ) , its a very good configuration for the price and should be able to handel most of games ( i said most not all ).


regards
Prashanth
Prashanth Hegde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:40   #9
BHPian
 
l3g0l4s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 44
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Thanks guys for the input.

Sumit by budget is around 20k can be streched a bit.

Out of the things Vasudeva has mentioned i dont require



Can you let me know how much and which company system config should i go for.



Hasnot worked, i tried. Infact i cant even play NFS HP2, such basic the system is, need to upgrade big time.
It is always pereferable to go for an assembled pc because you will save a lot of money on the OS and ya will still enjoy the warranty offered on the individual components .

And i would suggest you to go for a comparable 6nxx core 2 duo processor instead of the 4 series one because the 6 series has a higher level 2 cache and a better fsb speed too . The price of the 6 series is on the higher side but it is surely worth all the xtra money !

And ya can probably consider a GeForce 8600 GTx graphics card considering your budget .
l3g0l4s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:48   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Busa, since you have a budget of 20K for only the CPU, you can achieve a lot. You will require the following:

CPU – Intel Core2Duo e4400 - approx. 5k
Motherboard - Biostar P35 - approx. 4.5k
RAM- 2GB Kingston/Transcend 667MHz - approx. 2k
Hard Disk- 160GB - approx. 2.2k
GPU 8600GT – approx. 5.5k
DVD-ROM - DVDRW approx. 1.3k
Cabinet - 1k
SMPS- CM 600W Extreme - 3.6k

I am Intel guy so I suggested the C2D proccessor. But I believe the AMD 4000X2 should be about 3k and the compatible motherboard should be about 3k. Rest should be the same.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:54   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

If you want to go for a company system, then definitely go for almost anyone-HP, HCL, Lenovo, Toshiba, etc. But customisation may be reduced because they would have a motherboard preinstalled which would leave perhaps little scope for processor upgrade.

I have never used AMD so cannot comment on that.

If your budget is 20-25K, and you do not need the things I have (because you already have them), you can definitely get a good system for your requirement, provided you get it assembled and get un-`original' OS.

I am posting the individual costs of my system (excl. 4% VAT). These were in early-Nov 2007 and prices may be somewhat higher/lower in different cities and may be dependent on whether I have been ripped or was smart:

Core 2 Duo 2.2 Ghz E4500 Rs. 6106
ASUS 946/WIFI Motherboard Rs. 4471
RAM DDR2 : 2GB at Rs. 3750 (2*1 GB RAM at Rs. 1875 each)
HDD 160 GB Hitachi Rs. 2644 (Seagate is cheaper at around Rs. 2100-2200 for 160 GB
Display Card PCIEx 256mb NVIDIA 7100 GS Rs. 2548.

512 MB NVIDIA would be for around Rs. 4600-5000.
Core 2 Quad with compatible motherboard would be higher priced.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 10:56   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

I forgot to add, cabinet at Rs. 1779.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:05   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

you ca upgrade the Motherboard/Ram/Processor/Graphics card of your current machine in that budget and make a good gaming PC,why not try an AMD i am usng the 3200+ 939pin with 2GB ram and 256 Radeon PCI graphics card.works well tru gaming pc

Last edited by ramie2400 : 22nd November 2007 at 11:08.
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:20   #14
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 927
Thanked: 313 Times
Default

Hi Busa, many a times I've had my game-related display problems sorted out by downloading & installing the latest NVidia drivers. You can also try running dxdiag to check your DirectX components.

AMD did rule the gaming market, but Intel's dual-core, & quad-core CPUs rule the roost now. A good graphics card is a necessity, but don't skimp on the CPU either - I upgraded to a NVidia 7300GT 512 MB card a few months ago, but my old AMD 3000+ is proving to be the weak link now ! You can get DX10 cards for around 10K, I think 'Digit' ran a comparison of graphics cards in the October issue.

2 GB of RAM should be adequate for current & future games. I would also suggest getting a bigger drive, games are getting bigger & bigger (MS-FSX is a whopping 14 GB) - you can get 320 GB drives for around 3.5K.

Last edited by im_srini : 22nd November 2007 at 11:25.
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2007, 11:30   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l3g0l4s View Post
And i would suggest you to go for a comparable 6nxx core 2 duo processor instead of the 4 series one because the 6 series has a higher level 2 cache and a better fsb speed too . The price of the 6 series is on the higher side but it is surely worth all the xtra money !

And ya can probably consider a GeForce 8600 GTx graphics card considering your budget .
Of course, 6 series is better than 4 series. But I wanted a smaller cabinet than standard, and that restricted my choices a bit. But why even Core2Duo, why not Core2Quad, failing that at least the 6 series.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks