Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th December 2007, 13:40   #16
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anuragn View Post
I assume that you have tried fiddling with all settings at the TV-end.
But just to be double-sure, check that you are connecting to the correct inputs of the TV e.g not video into audio-in or video into video-out of TV and whether you are selecting the right source e.g. AV-1 or 2 etc
Did all that. Infact connected a RCA cable to TV, conncted it's input end to another device I have, it plays the video on TV. But when I connect the same RVA cable to iM7, nothing happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anuragn View Post
Just now discovered (not sure though):
It plays only jpegs on the TV...nowhere is it mentioned that it plays videos. So just view any photos on your ipod and check whether they are displayed on your TV.
AL - Asia Support confirmed that iM7 can play Videos. Although mine is not even showing JPEGs.

I am quoting AL-Asia Support's mail here -

" There is no repair service available, never the less all of our speakers are covered by a 1 year warranty. As long as you are still under warranty we can replace that unit for you. If you are still under warranty please provide your full contact information such as Full name, Phone number, Shipping address, date and place of purchase, so we can provide an RMA number and proceed with the replacement.
Thank you for using Altec Lansing products and services "

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2007, 13:46   #17
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Try s-video. Can you post a link to the specifications and technical details of this thing
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2007, 14:59   #18
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Try s-video.
Will buy a s-video cable today and try.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Can you post a link to the specifications and technical details of this thing
Altec Lansing > DOCKING AUDIO > For iPod > inMotion iM7

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2007, 15:11   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

A very silly question.
Did you set your IPOD to "TV out" in the settings?
The Altec unit is a simple video passthrough, if ipod is not giving video out, the unit will not.
Which ipod model do you have BTW?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2007, 15:17   #20
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
A very silly question.
Did you set your IPOD to "TV out" in the settings?
The Altec unit is a simple video passthrough, if ipod is not giving video out, the unit will not.
Which ipod model do you have BTW?
Now an even sillier question - is there a "TV Out" setting in iPod? My iPod is the 5.5 G model, with video capability.

\N

Edited:

I searched on the net and there is a setting for "TV Out" in iPod. I will try this tonight.

Thanx Tanveer.

\N

Last edited by ntomer : 17th December 2007 at 15:21.
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2007, 15:22   #21
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Go to Videos - Video settings on your ipod.
Select "Yes".
Unless you do so, there is no video out buddy!
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2007, 15:29   #22
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Go to Videos - Video settings on your ipod.
Select "Yes".
Unless you do so, there is no video out buddy!
Thanx.

It's surprising that Altec support couldn't point this out.

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2007, 22:16   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

So, did it work ?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2007, 09:43   #24
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Yes, it does. Thanx for your help.

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2007, 10:15   #25
BHPian
 
hemanthisgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 587
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

@ntomer

wow. this is great. problem solved thanks to team-bhp. how come AL did not tell you this most basic point. It shows you can depend on team-bhp to provide all solutions.
hemanthisgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2007, 17:58   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Secunderabad
Posts: 16
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

If i was "tsk1979"...I would have been really proud of myself.....Good on ye mate...n as they say in the U.K....You are a STAR!
Cheers.
mushy876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Altec Lansing MX 5021 subtitute revvedup Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 26th October 2009 00:19
Altec Lansing MX 5021 sub gone bad revvedup Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 25th July 2008 22:12
Philips dvp5106k - Altec lansing 251 - Still no 5.1 channel Output Knight Rider Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 9th April 2007 15:38
ipod speakers - Altec IM3 and IM7 navin Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 1st September 2005 10:35
Altec Lansing 5.1 in My Santro Car... ! webjunk In-Car Entertainment 10 27th December 2004 12:30


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks