Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th January 2008, 22:17   #1
BHPian
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 168
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Ipaq internet access

Hi Guys,

I'm looking for some help to access the internet from my iPAQ 1935 wirelessly (using my Mobile's GPRS). This model does not have a Bluetooth nor can i find a cable that hooks up to my mobile. I could add a wifi card for internet access but then i have to be around the hot spots.

Is there any other way to achieve this? Any suggestions on this will greatly help.

thanks in advance....
nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2008, 14:29   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Even if you were to have a cable, it would be for connecting to a PC, not a mobile phone.

Your best bet would be a Bluetooth card in the SD card form factor. Had seen one in Japan in 2006 - I had bought one (also a WiFi card) in CF card form factor. But they are rare and it is unlikely that you will find one in India.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2008, 16:33   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
satish_appasani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Check on the following site if their cable can connect your IPaq to your phone model.
PDA to Cell Phone Internet Cables

If your phone is not listed, mail them to check it out.
satish_appasani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2008, 18:57   #4
BHPian
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 168
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

@satish_appasani,

I checked in the gomadic website, apparently they don't have cable for the 19 series PDA because of a limitation with this series of iPAQs.

@DerAlte,

i have the USB cable to connect to the PC which doesn't help other than for synchronization. Bluetooth seems to be the only solution but i was not able to find a BT SD card - CF card won't work as the slot can be used for only take SD cards. If you come across the BT SD card please let me know.

Thanks for taking time to respond to my query, both of you.
nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2008, 20:34   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Internet access on iPAQ 1935

If you are using your iPAQ 1935 as a mobile phone as well, then the simplest way to access the net is through your mobile service provider. All service providers - to the best of my knowledge - have two types of access schemes - one which gives you only wap-enabled sites on your phone browser, and the other which gives you full internet access! You could even use your phone as a modem to access the net on your laptop and even share this connection!
dakaikini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2008, 23:00   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

getting wireless pack is also an "expensive" option

WindowsMobileToday: View Graphic
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2008, 23:18   #7
BHPian
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 168
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

@Jaggu,

I did look out for a wireless pack but again there seems to be no support for this model.

@dakaikini,

I'm can't use this PDA as a mobile phone - i would love to. but there seems to be technical limitation with this model
nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 13:15   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

nemo did you find a solution?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2008, 11:48   #9
BHPian
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 168
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

i haven't found one jaggu - will keep trying
nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2008, 12:48   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Activesync with USB cable should give u internet access on ur iPaq. Also there is a way to enable Activesync via bluetooth using serial port profile.

Check the activesync settings on ur desktop
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 20:52   #11
BHPian
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 168
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

@spadival,

thanks for the reply.

Accessing internet through the USB cable & ActiveSync does not solve any problem.

And like i mentioned before my PDA does not have bluetooth.
nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 09:38   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

oh.. missed that one about BT not being present. In that case, there are no options
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 10:49   #13
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nemo View Post
If you come across the BT SD card please let me know.
@nemo, look for Toshiba PA3370 Bluetooth SD Card3. Should work with your iPaq.

This one is in the true SD mech size; there was an earlier Toshiba model PA3271U-1BTM, which was slightly larger and used to jut out of the slot.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2008, 11:38   #14
BHPian
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 168
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

thanks @DerAlte,

I'll check and shall let you know if it worked.
nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2008, 12:06   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Nemo, IMHO.. unnecessary additional investment for a PDA thats outdated anyway. Besides, BT will hardly give you a range of 10 meters.

Suggest you buy a HTC phone which has all the features of a PDA + phone. Infact, HTC was the contract manufacturer who made iPaqs for Compaq earlier.. Now there are models which are as cheap as 12k.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BMW to offer full internet access on iDrive Sahil The International Automotive Scene 15 9th July 2008 02:35
Internet connection sharing without WiFi access point gopz Gadgets, Computers & Software 14 5th December 2007 13:03
Ipaq 1940 repair - India pingmepal Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 29th June 2006 18:36
How good is the iPaq 5550? Harrie Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 5th September 2005 14:34
Honda-Mugen City and Access Accord. v12 The International Automotive Scene 16 28th April 2005 18:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks