Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th January 2008, 02:08   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 290 Times
Default PC under 30k

Hi guys,

Need a suggestion, my old toshiba laptop is in its last stages and I need to get another comp to replace it. I already have another Thinkpad T60 but that is with the missus now ...dont wanna spend more than 30 k and am looking at a desktop so that I may also get a chance to indulge in a lil bit of gaming

Please help me configure a desktop asap.

Cheers !!
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:14   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

30k for a gaming PC is a litle low. Most of the games today use a lot of graphics for which you need good graphics cards coupled to good CPU's. See if you can stretch your budget by atleast 5 - 10k.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:21   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
30k for a gaming PC is a litle low. Most of the games today use a lot of graphics for which you need good graphics cards coupled to good CPU's. See if you can stretch your budget by atleast 5 - 10k.
Hey Vikram , i dont need a hard core gaming pc ..just a pc i can game a lil bit on , no quad processors or that kinda stuff. nothing too highend and no way above 30 k
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:22   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,074 Times
Default

what sort of games do you plan to play? the good old games like counter strike, ut2004, quake 3 etc , all run fine on the better onboard chipsets like the Ati X1250 (aka the 690G) or the nvidia 7050/6150 series.

Of course , if you want to play the latest stuff, something like an nvidia 8600GT needs to be the starting point

viewsonic VG1930WM - 10k
Altec lansing ATP 3 - 2.7k
Logitech MX 518- 1.3k
Samsung pleomax kbd- .3k
AMD Athlon X2 4800+ - 4k
Asus M2A VM - 3.4k
2 GB ram - 2k
Liteon DVDRW - 1.3
seagate 250 GB HDD - 2.9k

works out to about 28k . if you feel that you need more horsepower on the graphics side, lose the speakers, and mouse,get something cheaper , and invest the 6 k in an 8600 GT
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:37   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Can you let me know what kind of games you want to use it for. Name a few of them.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:51   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

See i basically need a system to do some basic work( MS office) lil bit of photoshop, flash etc n browsing.Need a good basic config cos I dont want the system to start acting up when i use 8 or 10 apps or windows at a go. Will put 2 gb ram min but which motherboard would be good or which 3d (nvidia ,ge force and model)is something I am not aware of now.I have been a tech support trainer so I do have some knowledge about systems just that havent been in touch with the advances in hardware for a lil more than 2 years now .
About games ..simple ones like nfs, counter strike, quake,... u know none of the halo3 new gen kinda games ..atleast not right now as i dont have the hardware budget for them
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:52   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
DirtyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dharamsala
Posts: 1,781
Thanked: 694 Times
Default ask around

Ask around. Maybe one of your friends knows a techy that snaps together and sells PCs in his spare time. If you find a guy who knows what he is doing these can be good. That is the only way you will get something decent on 30K.
DirtyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:57   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

Thanks Dan. I am in delhi these days so do have access to Nehru place so i can go and ask the shop keepers ..the only reason for asking here was that if i could know which hardware (make and model) to go in for i could check the prices n get it assembled.or if it is too much of a headache maybe i will just go n pick up another laptop ..only issue is i really dont wanna spend 50-60 k ..but if i have to will pick up another laptop
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 03:15   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

PM users speedonline, fuelled, LBM. All three are hardcore geeks
who'll help you out with the exact config & even dealers to approach in Nehru Place. Trust me on this one!
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 08:34   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 21
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 - 7900
Gigabyte GA-G33M-S2H - 6000 (approx.)
Transcend 2GB (DDR2 667) - 1850
Western Digital 250GB - 2850
Zebronics/ Ibal Cabby - 1500
Lite-On LH-20A1P 20x DVD Writer - 1450
Altec Lansing 121i - 1250
ViewSonic 17" widescreen - 8650
Microsoft/Logitech MM Keyboard+Mouse - 800

Total : approx 33k
Anand_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 08:37   #11
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,315
Thanked: 3,656 Times
Default

Quote:
iraghava : Trust me on this one!
Ishaan, and for other stuff .... ?
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 10:30   #12
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 703
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

my specs for 30k would be

amd athlon 4000
asus m2npv-mx mainboard
160 gb hdd ( hitachi) /seagate
4 gb ram
19 inch tft
a logitech mouse
a power supply which has atleast 450 w on it
o/s would be a windows server 64 bit or xp 64 bit . If you are going to use 32 bit o/s then it does not make sense to buy 4 gb ram ,you can stick on to 2 gb ram .windows 32 bit does not support 4 gb ram


The built in graphics is adequate for some games ,but incase you need to have a better gaming facility you can always buy a graphic card ,and graphic card prices sink everyday ,so may be you can play the same game which you cannot play today for a cheaper price .

The reason why more memory makes sense is because most of the systems are crippled due to memory bottle necks and having a higher memory with a hyper transport amd makes sense . Getting the same memory modules for upgradation such as what you have already at a later stage with the same bus speed ,chip count is next to impossible and ddr2 memory is quite cheap compared to ddr1 .
greatmana2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 10:35   #13
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 703
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

since you want to use photoshop as well, FYI ,photoshop is a 2d application whereas games are 3d applications . There is no benefit if you use a 3d graphic card for photoshop and 2d graphic card for games . You might also want to use a scratch disk if you use photoshop extensively
greatmana2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 10:38   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
msdivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,426
Thanked: 770 Times
Default

Recently I was browsing for a PC for my friend. I found this on Dell India site:

Intel G33 Chipset, Intel Core2Duo E4500, 1GB RAM, Sleek mini tower, 19" TFT with DVI, 160GB SATA HDD, 16x Dual layer DVD writer, USB Keyboard-Mouse, 19-in-1 card reader, Windows Vista Home + few software goodies + shipping + installation + 1 year support.
Total price: Rs 30,400/- in Bangalore (including all taxes), max 10 days for delivery.

It was a Dell Inspiron 530s Desktop - check out here: www.dell.co.in

Last edited by msdivy : 27th January 2008 at 10:41.
msdivy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 11:42   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,074 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greatmana2000 View Post
my specs for 30k would be

amd athlon 4000
asus m2npv-mx mainboard
greatmana, the 690G based M2A VM has vastly impoved , and better performing graphics compared to the 6150 based M2N-PV- VM . the 6150 is a generation older , and at the same time costs about 1k more.

The M2N-VM, which is 7050 based is a more worthy rival for the M2A-VM . However, even that is dearer by more than 1k.

The only scenario where i would recommend the 6150/7050 would be if you wanted gaming performance AND 3d support for linux ( for which, nvidia is better right now )
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bajaj PULSAR 180 DTSi @ 50 Months and 30k kms- Detailed Report CrAzY dRiVeR Motorbikes 85 13th December 2011 08:50
2005 Zen 30K on the ODO amtak Long-Term Ownership Reviews 3 5th September 2007 15:59
basic ICE - systems at various budgets -10K, 15K, 20K, 25K & 30K navin In-Car Entertainment 0 31st August 2006 13:55
N91 Is out @ 30k + unknown Gadgets, Computers & Software 78 17th May 2006 10:24
Best Audio Option in 30K Aroongupta In-Car Entertainment 11 19th November 2005 10:11


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:22.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks