Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th February 2008, 04:34   #16
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 102
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Noooooooooooooooo...
I came to TBhp for some cars/bikes and you geeks are trying to take over this place too. :P

No Benching rigs Amey- not fair- atleast here.
I think your watercooled rig will be even more welcome than some nerdy OC stuff.
After all it has some parts common to automobiles too.
BIKeINSTEIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 09:30   #17
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

@Nikhil
As i mentioned earlier, Moralfibre forced me to post this after checking it out on my forum.If i wanted to show off, i would have done it long ago,when i posted on my forum
@ Dinar,
Thanks for your kind suggestions but the kind of temperature drop LN2/DICE gives, i am not sure anything else can,maybe a cascade but thats about it.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 11:31   #18
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
TECs are risky for CPUs... if the junction fails, the CPU will fry.
Is it possible to fry the cpu? I guess thru some mechanism the cpu will shut down immediately... may be this is a stupid question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amey View Post
@Nikhil
As i mentioned earlier, Moralfibre forced me to post this after checking it out on my forum.If i wanted to show off, i would have done it long ago,when i posted on my forum
Amey, I bet nikhil was telling it in lighter vein. We have a bunch of show of threads under "modification" section where people go out and do show off.

BTW,
Got a question, For all OC gurus out here. today if i want to go out and buy a system(intel based... ) for my daily use with moderate amount of OC done in(just for the kick of it), with budget of 50k(for the rig alone) what would be the recommended hardware?

I have some idea about cpu OC, but almost zero about memory OC.
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 12:25   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,562
Thanked: 6,028 Times
Default

Amey what I wanted you tell people is how you designed that amazing looking copper pot. You are a mad man!
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 14:31   #20
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

@ Gkrishn,
Here you go,

Intel C2D E8200 = 8.1k
Thermalright Ultima 90 CPU cooler = 2.4k
Abit IP35-E = 5.6k
2GB DDR2 800 = 1.5k
Corsair VX450W PSU = 4k
Full ATX Chassis of your choice = 1.2k
500GB WD HDD = 5.4k
Samsung/Pioneer SATA DVD-RW = 1.4k
Nvidia 8600GT GPU = 5.8k
19" LCD Monitor = 9.5k
Optical mouse+Keyboard = 1k

Works out to ~ 46-47k

Well within your budget, and extremely powerful well balanced config.

Well within your budget
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 14:36   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrishn View Post
Is it possible to fry the cpu? I guess thru some mechanism the cpu will shut down immediately... may be this is a stupid question.
Old amd cpus did not have that feature. If the heat sink is removed they burn them selfs.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 15:05   #22
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amey View Post
Intel C2D E8200 = 8.1k
Thermalright Ultima 90 CPU cooler = 2.4k
Abit IP35-E = 5.6k
2GB DDR2 800 = 1.5k
Corsair VX450W PSU = 4k
Full ATX Chassis of your choice = 1.2k
500GB WD HDD = 5.4k
Samsung/Pioneer SATA DVD-RW = 1.4k
Nvidia 8600GT GPU = 5.8k
19" LCD Monitor = 9.5k
Optical mouse+Keyboard = 1k

Works out to ~ 46-47k
Thanks for that Amey.

BTW this c2d is not a EE. So how to over clock it? Is it by fiddling with the fsb nos? Basically how do you guys go about and start this OC? All i am aware of is, increasing the multiplier of cpu.

Coming back to cost, lets keep the silly keyboard/mouse outside. When I asked the question, forgot to factor in the monitor cost. So it is 40k just for the box...

Nvidia 8600GT GPU <- any specific board in mind?
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 15:19   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrishn View Post
Thanks for that Amey.

BTW this c2d is not a EE. So how to over clock it? Is it by fiddling with the fsb nos? Basically how do you guys go about and start this OC? All i am aware of is, increasing the multiplier of cpu.
Is not available in all cpu`s. In Amd FX series, Black Box, And Intel Extreme Edition. Are some of these have unlock multiplier
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 15:21   #24
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Is not available in all cpu`s. In Amd FX series, Black Box, And Intel Extreme Edition. Are some of these have unlock multiplier
Yes, thats the reason i asked the question...
Quote:
BTW this c2d is not a EE. So how to over clock it? Is it by fiddling with the fsb nos?
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 15:21   #25
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrishn View Post
Thanks for that Amey.

BTW this c2d is not a EE. So how to over clock it? Is it by fiddling with the fsb nos? Basically how do you guys go about and start this OC? All i am aware of is, increasing the multiplier of cpu.

Coming back to cost, lets keep the silly keyboard/mouse outside. When I asked the question, forgot to factor in the monitor cost. So it is 40k just for the box...

Nvidia 8600GT GPU <- any specific board in mind?
EE series CPU is not mandatory for overclocking.As long as you have a board that supports overclocking, you are set.
Overclocking for non EE CPUs is by increasing FSB as you cannot change the CPU Multipler.
Now for example,
8200 has a multiplier of 8x and FSB at stock is 333MHz hence its stock speed is 2.66GHz
now you bump the FSB through Motherboard BIOS to say 400MHz and the clock speed becomes 3.2GHz.
You keep pushing the FSB until your system becomes unstable, then you bump the vcore (CPU voltage) from motherboard BIOS to gain stability.
Thats the way you go about overclocking.This is just basic stuff, there are many things to fiddle around with when you do serious overclocking like VMCH,Vdimm voltages, PCIe frequency, DRAM dividers and so on.

you can go with Gigabyte, XFX,MSI,Asus for 8600GT. All these are good brands.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 15:32   #26
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,663
Thanked: 3,130 Times
Default

And another thing is, before overclocking, you need to be sure that you have a good Power Supply.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 16:04   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amey View Post
You keep pushing the FSB until your system becomes unstable, then you bump the vcore (CPU voltage) from motherboard BIOS to gain stability.
Thats the way you go about overclocking.This is just basic stuff, there are many things to fiddle around with when you do serious overclocking like VMCH,Vdimm voltages, PCIe frequency, DRAM dividers and so on.
This is over clocking in one line.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 16:58   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,177
Thanked: 1,096 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrishn View Post
Is it possible to fry the cpu? I guess thru some mechanism the cpu will shut down immediately... may be this is a stupid question.
Even if the CPU shuts down, the TEC is still at say 300 degrees. That is enough to make a mess of the CPU.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 21:42   #29
BHPian
 
hyper123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 321
Thanked: Once
Default

Umm, what does TEC, EE and FE stand for?

Amey, have you overclocked AMD 64 X2 processors?? How about the 4600+?

Last edited by hyper123 : 14th February 2008 at 21:48. Reason: added text
hyper123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 23:03   #30
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyper123 View Post
Umm, what does TEC, EE and FE stand for?

Amey, have you overclocked AMD 64 X2 processors?? How about the 4600+?
TEC = Thermo Electric Cooling
EE = Extreme Edition ( Intel's Top of the Line CPUs with unlocked multipliers)
FE = ??
Did you mean FX ?
FX = AMD's version of Extreme Edition CPUs.

I havent played with AMD CPUs lately.Its been a long time since i did so.The last i Overclocked on was AMD Opteron 170 Socket 939 based.
Here is what i achieved back then, then i clocked only on AIR cooling, no Water/DICE and all.
Even now i have 3800+ and 4000+ but its waste of time, trying to clock them as they wont get good numbers in benchmarks.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Team-Bhp thread of shame (Pray you arent mentioned in this thread ) speedsatya Street Experiences 10 24th February 2012 14:27
Like computers? In you SHOE? S350L-E240 Gadgets, Computers & Software 5 8th May 2004 14:08


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks