Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th February 2008, 16:25   #1
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,519
Thanked: 80,175 Times
Default Intel dot station? Computer at 6,000 bucks!



Got this in a mass mailer. The box looks like a branded computer at 6 grand! I did a google on dot station, and the results show that Intel indeed ventured into consumer electronics.

Is this any good? Some departments of my office use the computer for no more than our CMS and email. This would be a good option for staff members who require minimal computer juice.

Any ownership experiences with this?

Quote:
I-Comp offers the finest brand i.e., Intel. Brand new. It is not just Intel inside as it is popularly known, but it is Intel on all the sides, in fact the machine is made by Intel and the whole machine carries Intel name and Intel original packing.

Intel Dot Station is a low cost, all-in-one, compact, easy to install and use, PC (Personal Computer). Its design allows a minimum use of space. This is all in one compact, envious, cute design with colour monitor integrated and the entire details are given below in the colour catalogue attached.

However brief details are given below for your ready reference:-

Intel dot station

- P-III Intel Processor.
- 810 E motherboard.
- 256 MB SD RAM.
- 10 GB HDD expandable to 80 GB and above.
- 10/100 Lan card for connecting to broadband, Internet connectivity etc.
- 56 Kbps fax modem voice V 90.
- Creative Sound card.
- Keyboard With TouchpadMouse
- 2 stereo JBL Speaker.
- 3 USB ports.
- 14" colour monitor, 0.28 DP, 1024 x 768 integrated.
- All manuals, cables, original Intel sealed box packing.

Price - Rs.6,000/- (Free Stylish Intel telephone)
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 16:31   #2
BHPian
 
manaa45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: nerul, navi mumbai
Posts: 344
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

if this comp can help us work with just MS office like excel, word then this could be the thing i could be looking at.

there are many ways of using it, that i can think of.

btw rushabh, can u pls forward the mail to me if u dont mind.
manaa45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 17:10   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

MS Office would be kludgy on the PIII, but it would definitely work as long as you work with small files, say less than 1MB in Word or PP - this thing has only 256MB RAM.

Unless one is hung up on MS software, Open Office would be far better on this box. We have a few of the old PIIIs in office which our Infrastructure dept is rather sentimental about; they are used by the PAs. Runs fine on them. Google Office also works just fine.

This would have been designed more as a web device: emails and browsing, and for kids games / learning. One wouldn't expect it to be used for business / professional purposes.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 17:26   #4
JPL
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: XXXXX
Posts: 241
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I would say go for it !!

The specs are pretty decent for Email and CMS, of course first buy one and check it out and then probably go for more.
JPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 18:16   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 258
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Except for hdd, its same as my stupid nonsense acer laptop.
6K INR, go for it!
subscrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 19:03   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,992
Thanked: 1,419 Times
Default

Business computers should have some leeway to expanded their functionalities- this is real cost saving wherein the next needed upgrade (when it comes) is seamless and cheap without having to buy new PCs. If cost is the primary consideration, I'd suggest asembled PCs.

Products such as Intel Dot Station are ideally targetted at those segments where scalability, uptime and business implications arent considerations
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 20:15   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

I would jump at the chance of this for RS6,000. I have something with a similar spec (but AMD) in the spare room for the kids to play on and it works fine.

Bang in a bigger HDD lying around and use it as a NAS box.

If you only need for CMS and email then this is ideal. Too many people I know go for the latest spec machines and all they do is use them for surfing the internet and messenger. What a waste of money and under utilisation of the machines capabilities.

Last edited by bigman : 16th February 2008 at 20:16.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 21:41   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,075 Times
Default

as much as i love open source, I hate OOo. Just too much bloat

do they still make P3's these days?
I wonder if they are refurb units, or ,maybe the ad/mail was dug up from 2000 ( thats seems to be the time when they were released)

PS: Thin client - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia might be what you're looking for
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2008, 04:54   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,135
Thanked: 1,892 Times
Default

This seems too good to be true....low specs but who cares if all it is goin to be used for is sending emails or typing letter. would be a great investment for certain office staff.
GTO- Can you give me the bombay dealers number? Also any mention of warranty?
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2008, 22:05   #10
BHPian
 
GTO - Touring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 713
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Sahil, This includes their contact information. My only concern is, how long will this box last? I can't afford any computer downtime in the office.
GTO - Touring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 11:34   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
safari_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bengaluru / Bagdal
Posts: 1,054
Thanked: 367 Times
Default

The Configuration looks great for 6000 Rs. This really would be steal if its available.
Office and Email should work fine on this machine. I used a Celeron based system with 128 SD RAM all through my Engineering, and never felt it to be slow!

Last edited by safari_lover : 18th February 2008 at 11:36.
safari_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 13:14   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

hi gto and others,

this intel pc is for sale in hyd from a long time, the hyd's distributor : 'Big apple' (near paradise) just reduced it's price to around Rs 3500 a few weeks back, he's been selling this model from a long time in hyderbad, it's been almost close to 4 years from when am seeing his ads in the paper wrt to this pc, never posted cos i assumed this to be some old intel model whose leftover stocks this guy might haved picked up.

his last ad was on last sat in the local newspaper "deccan chronicle" , will try to scan it and post it up.

Last edited by aadix : 18th February 2008 at 13:15.
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 13:36   #13
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: kolkata
Posts: 927
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

In Kolkata new papers there are ad's about this comp where the price is quoted as Rs 6995, but available at 60% discount, so the buy price is Rs 3495, I'm also curious to know what this dot station can do.
musicmanaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 13:43   #14
RAC
BHPian
 
RAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 185
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

I have seen a few courier guys using this comp. Seems good for the price. I am sure it will work since my home PC has lower config than this :-( and my home PC works just fine.
RAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 13:46   #15
BHPian
 
gopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 452
Thanked: Once
Default

What a 'Nano' of a comp!
gopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Information - Kolkata Airport to Howrah Station / Sealdah station? vvrchandra Route / Travel Queries 12 29th September 2009 16:06
DOT 3 vs DOT 4- Indica Brake Oil Change wolfinstein Technical Stuff 9 10th June 2007 18:04
They spent 15 bucks.... ajayclicks Shifting gears 13 12th April 2007 16:14
Intel`s revolutionary chip thanks to Intel India rahul_intlad Shifting gears 6 27th February 2007 10:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:14.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks