Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd June 2009, 12:07   #76
BHPian
 
muneemmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cochin
Posts: 809
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

It might not be a battery problem as my UPS's Buzzer also sounds kinda weak, anyway they provide unbelievable After sales service,just a call and someone comes homes and takes the current UPS and replaces it with another one.
muneemmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 16:00   #77
BHPian
 
keralshobhit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Delhi, IN
Posts: 121
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

I have been using APC UPS from 2003.In the beginning i got APC backup 500 VA black one with USB connectivity with APC software.It worked great, The day it used to give a backup less than 30 min i used to get it repleaced under warranty.Excellent service.But later once i was not at home and UPS was on charging mode,there was a sudden transformer burst in our colony and and even are house electricity meter got burned.But When i came back home i found MY UPS turned to ashes and all melted and due to its flames even my desktop monitor melted.
But thats one case where power came beyond the limit.I again bought a APC Backup 800 VA this time and it working awesome from more than a year by now with all surge protection and automatic cutoff.
I would strongly recommend APC.
keralshobhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 18:24   #78
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

The V-Guard UPS is in the same range as APC. But not famous in North Indya !

V-Guard
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 21:16   #79
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

Beware of V guard! they suck!
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 22:17   #80
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

if that is the case, better assemble a UPS.I know a guy who assembles UPS for some local brands .
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 22:29   #81
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raccoon View Post
^^^But with the Powercom, the reboot was inevitible! Such UPSs should be named Interrupting Power Supplies!

Whats worth noting was the switch over time mentioned by Powercom is much lower. What is mentioned by APC is significantly higher!! Yet I have not experienced a single reboot with APC. So it seems that even the product specifications given by companies like Powercom are absolute lies.
Bought two brands, one Powercom (1.9K) and the other Liebert Emerson (2.2K) about 3.5 years back. The Liebert conked of within 2 years beyond repair (microcontroller gone). Powercomm still working fine without any roboot ever, though nowadays the back up is less but enough to leisurely switch off. Moreover, IIRC it is one of the biggest international brands.

Previously I had one Kerala made Powersafe 700 VA which I used from 1998 to 2005 with one change of the battery pair, until finally it was killed by lightening.

Last edited by janitha : 2nd June 2009 at 22:35.
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 00:27   #82
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

^^^ Just looking at the quality, would any one believe Powercom to be a big or biggest international brand??? Just putting a label there does not make an iota of difference!

Powercom remains one of the worst and most troublesome products I'v used in my life. Absolutely no exaggeration there. You have no idea how many problems their products have created for me.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 17:59   #83
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
Beware of V guard! they suck!
Would you please care to explain ?
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 21:18   #84
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

there was one ol indian brand. Elnova. They are very good.

I dunno if its still available. I still have in my office which is 9 years old. changed battery thrice.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2009, 09:25   #85
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

I need a 1.5KV/2KV UPS with external battery support. The backup time needed is 2-3 hrs.

Which brand should I go for ? Budget is about Rs.18,000(battery + UPS)
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 03:50   #86
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Mithun, Try the following options.
APC
Genus
Su-kam

Iam using APC on PC, and Genus 800w (single battery) pure sine wave for home, sometimes i hook my APC to inverter and use a desktop with fan for 3-4 hours, still it remains quite fine for Fan.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2009, 21:06   #87
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,613
Thanked: 6,701 Times
Default

I too am currently amazed at APC's service!

My 1500kva runs out of warranty at the end of this month. It has been giving increasingly less backup time of late, so we called them for service. Frankly, I expected them to say that it is normal wear and tear, and we must replace the batteries at our cost; they did not... they replaced the unit!

They did not quite get the message that we have an additional battery pack too, but the technician said to make another service call and they would replace that as well.

Just got a new LCD monitor, which draws much less power than the old CRT: APC's Powerchute software says that the UPS is good for nearly five hours with the currently-connected kit. If I get two hours out of it, once the battery pack has been replaced, I'll be very happy
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2009, 16:56   #88
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,026
Thanked: 373 Times
Default

Hi my proview 700 VA UPS was doing the duty for my home PC since 2003 and in between the PCs were upgraded several times but I never felt the need to touch UPS. But seems it's battery has conked off now , I hear beeps ( similar to when power is out) some times after 1.5 hours of operation even when AC current is on. And sometimes it goes in deep discharge mode and need to be charged for 30 mts before I can start using,

Can someone please advice a good brand of battery for UPS ? Is it worth purchasing a battery or should I buy a new UPS itself ? Approximate costs involved will be helpful.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2009, 17:56   #89
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

^^^ I belive Base Terminal makes UPS batteries too. Since their auto batteries are supposed to be good, you could try getting a UPS battery from them. They should be priced competitively too.

Haven't used BT UPS batteries myself though. Wait and see if you get any recommendations based on personal usage.

If your UPS is going good and filtering power well, why not leave it be? Just go for a new battery.

Last edited by Raccoon : 20th July 2009 at 18:00.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2010, 11:47   #90
Senior - BHPian
 
Lukeskywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,396
Thanked: 1,148 Times
Default

Just got a Luminous "Tez" sinewave inverter of 800VA installed in my flat, the inverter is supported by LET18000 150Ah Luminous tubular battery.

The whole setup including installation came to 12750/-.

The APC unit of 800 VA with amco battery of 150 Ah installed about two years ago in my current house cost me about 14000/- at Metro.

Last edited by Lukeskywalker : 21st February 2010 at 11:48.
Lukeskywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APC UPS: Good Service EDIT: Now a bad service experience added as well bblost Gadgets, Computers & Software 52 14th March 2014 17:31
What is wrong with my UPS? kkdelhi Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 28th February 2008 16:12
Maruti Suzuki ups car prices windsurfer The Indian Car Scene 2 4th February 2008 18:16
pics: so more follow ups gemballa Super-Cars & Imports in India 1 4th October 2005 20:56
Formula 1 line ups for 2006 ?? Badcheetah Int'l Motorsport 32 3rd October 2005 18:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks