Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th March 2008, 20:56   #16
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 928
Thanked: 316 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
Does anybody know how to manage the memory cosumption on the browsers, i have noticed the same in firefox ( and i think opera, k-melon) too. My office laptop runs on 256 MB of memory, and it's very important to keep memory usage low.
Hi Vivek, in FireFox you can use "about:config" in the location bar & tweak the cache parameters. For example, "about:cache?device=memory" in the location bar will list the current contents of your cache.
Search for "browser.cache.memory.capacity" & "config.trim_on_minimize" in the Mozilla KB for ideal settings for your memory configuration.
But to be honest, for me at least, these settings didn't bring about a drastic reduction in memory usage. I finally succumbed & upgraded to 1 GB
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 13:17   #17
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

For all the mozilla fans, I have dumped it in favour of IE8 Beta 1. I was a fan of FF for a long time until they went really bad with their memory leak issues. After some time, it can go beyond control where it just stops responding and you can't do anything about it. I am currently using IE8 on my office production box with more than 25 tabs open simultaneously and it never had an issue. If it crashes for any reason, you reopen it and get back all the windows with their history. Website rendering is faster than IE7 and so is startup time. It is not yet fully compatible with all the website (occasional issues with Gmail initially, but not anymore), but then it has got the IE7 compatibility mode.So my recommendation is to get IE 8, even if it is beta stages. You won't regret it.

BTW, i am currently writing this from IE7 on Windows 2008. Is there any known issues with vBulletin or team-bhp not working well on IE7, because I can't use the advanced compose mode correctly. Has anyone seen this issue on Vista x64 IE7 or XP x64 IE7.

Last edited by Rehaan : 2nd June 2008 at 21:58. Reason: Posts merged.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 15:12   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,630
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Its probably some virus that is causing this. Except flash, dont install anything.

Firefox is very secure unless and untilll you do something horrible.

In other thread I have posted how to configure Mozilla Firefox for broadband.
Yes, by default Firefox is configured for Dialup and not broadband.

IE7 gave me realiability issues and IE6 is quite weak as far as security is concerned.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - problem with internet connection at home RAC Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 15th January 2012 09:21
Internet Explorer 9 (IE9) and Team-BHP problems kapilvgupta Gadgets, Computers & Software 24 7th July 2011 20:46
Internet Explorer 8 APZoom Gadgets, Computers & Software 24 9th May 2009 14:25
Unix File Explorer.. Is there any? clevermax Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 18th November 2008 14:25
Help with Internet Explorer problem viper Shifting gears 24 15th December 2005 22:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks