Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th March 2008, 22:17   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default Internet Explorer problem!!!

Lately i've noticed that once in a while my IE hangs whenever i open a new window or click a link which causes the IE to open a new window automatically.

What could be the prob and how can i rectify it?

I'm running it on windows XP professional.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2008, 22:20   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

I have the same problem with firefox. I am using IE now.

most probably a trojan/malware adware etc somethings
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2008, 22:25   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

i suggest you shut off all add-ons and see if still happens. these add-ons keep communicating to internet in weird ways.

also, does it happen on any specific site?

PS: Tools -> manage add ons. disable all for the moment.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2008, 23:44   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Have disabled all add ons, will let you know if it works, by tom.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2008, 23:53   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

It's improved a lot. New windows used to take around a sec to load, now it's lightning fast.

I think we need to have a browser troubleshooting thread where all the problems and the sollutions are mentioned wrt the specific browsers. After all, team-bhp depends on them.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 00:12   #6
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Internet Explorer has been a problem. Robin asked me to change to Firefox and Im using that till date. No issues at all.
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 00:41   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

great. a lot of spyware lodge themselves as add-ons.

I like firefox too, but there are few things that don't work well in it. e.g. MS webaccess for mail, my company's project managment site etc.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 00:49   #8
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Fire fox is the way to go..IE just isnt good enough unless the sites are super secured and need major SSL handling
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 01:03   #9
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Both IE and Firefox are trash, I use Opera a good overall browser which is reasonably fast and safe as well. Has tons of tools available at a mere right click, select text, right click and there you have it dictionary, translator and ability to search with any of the many Pre-configured serch engines plus the additional ones you configure. Moreover it doubles up as a P2P client as wel . The only browser that comes close is the windows version of Safari, it is faster than Opera but then it also unstable as well.

Some may say that all the above can be integerated with the help of tons of add-ons vailable for firefox, but you see then Firefox is like the a Zen on which you put all sorts of Turbos an NOS to make it go as fast as a Boxster S but Opera is like a naturally aspirated Boxster S which goes as fast in stock form, and in the case of Opera you don't have to spend more dough as well, like Firefox it is too free.

Last edited by revvedup : 6th March 2008 at 01:04.
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 01:26   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by revvedup;747685. Has tons of tools available at a mere right click
.
.

but you see then Firefox is like the a Zen on which you put all sorts of Turbos an NOS to make it go as fast as a Boxster S but Opera is like a naturally aspirated Boxster S.
do you realise that these tools are mostly add-ons. sometimes inbuilt. I would rather take a browser which i can cutomize to my own needs, rather than having an unnecessary ebay search avaiiable all the time.

anyway, another Q on IE. I run 5-7 tabs at a time, mostly webaccess, gmail, tbhp, orkut etc. after runing for a few hours, IE memory increases, and it just keeps going up. Does anybody know how to manage the memory cosumption on the browsers, i have noticed the same in firefox ( and i think opera, k-melon) too. My office laptop runs on 256 MB of memory, and it's very important to keep memory usage low.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 02:42   #11
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,581
Thanked: 3,241 Times
Default

I did the above addon disabling, but then did something better, upgraded to IE7, and from 1Gb to 2.5GB. life jhingalala now

It is all primarily ads/AVs/addons/arbit services (disable form services.msc IFF you know what you are doing)
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 09:22   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
amtak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai - The city of Sea Link!!!
Posts: 2,772
Thanked: 331 Times
Default

Stop visiting "aisi waisi" websites and also see if there are any spywares/trojans in your system.

PS: I recommend not to visit any bank website for performing any transactions till you get all the spyware/trojans removed.
amtak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 19:19   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
Does anybody know how to manage the memory cosumption on the browsers, i have noticed the same in firefox ( and i think opera, k-melon) too. My office laptop runs on 256 MB of memory, and it's very important to keep memory usage low.
No Opera doesn't
Opera is very memory conservative. A must for low end systems
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 19:27   #14
BHPian
 
motorheadinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: University of Bath
Posts: 282
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I too love mozilla.
It allows you to have a very personal experience.
Thanks to all the add ons that make it great.
Must haves are ad block, no script and download statusbar.
They make the browser faster
motorheadinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 20:30   #15
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Facing the same problem in my IE7 in Vista. Have switched over to Firefox & am happy

I know this aint a solution
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - problem with internet connection at home RAC Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 15th January 2012 09:21
Internet Explorer 9 (IE9) and Team-BHP problems kapilvgupta Gadgets, Computers & Software 24 7th July 2011 20:46
Internet Explorer 8 APZoom Gadgets, Computers & Software 24 9th May 2009 14:25
Unix File Explorer.. Is there any? clevermax Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 18th November 2008 14:25
Help with Internet Explorer problem viper Shifting gears 24 15th December 2005 22:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks