Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th February 2009, 20:32   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

For the facebook thing there seem to be errors coming up more too often.
Try deleting browsing history, cache etc.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 22:01   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
No IE - using a macbook.
Oops!!

I should have known when you quoted Safari. my bad!!

BTW IE is available for Mac too.

As far as you problem is concerned why are you not using safari, its good enough no!
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 22:43   #18
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,600
Thanked: 6,686 Times
Default

Check the 'block pop-up' settings, make it allowed for this site.

Just an idea... might be way off...
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2009, 00:51   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

I use FF because it handles banking websites much better than Safari. And the facebook problem is on all browsers :(
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2009, 17:02   #20
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,600
Thanked: 6,686 Times
Default

I am used to Firefox being very, very reliable.

Just recently (Conficker scare, as well as a long held intention to take my XP to SP3) I applied all the Windows updates to date. Firefox itself I always update.

Since then, I've had FF crash maybe three times.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2009, 17:50   #21
BHPian
 
manaa45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: nerul, navi mumbai
Posts: 344
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

I have been using FF for some time now but for last few days it just crashes specially when on Facebook. Sometimes it happens more then 10 times in a day. I am using FB on I.E 8 now.

Is it happening with anybody else or is it just me?

Mansi
manaa45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2009, 18:07   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Oops!!



BTW IE is available for Mac too.
well .AFAIR ,they(microsoft) only released initial versions of internet exploder for mac(not for os x either!).

there is this ies4linux which uses wine emulator to emulate IE5,6 and 7(may be 8 too?) on GNU/Linux.
Main Page - IEs4Linux

They have a off-shoot for mac os x as well.it is ies4mac or something like that.
IEs 4 Linux News Presenting: IEs 4 Mac

Last edited by deepclutch : 8th April 2009 at 18:11.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2009, 23:42   #23
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,600
Thanked: 6,686 Times
Default

I never use Facebook.

It's been ok today... may just a bad couple of days.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2009, 00:25   #24
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 222
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

FF 3.x crashes a lot on Vista Ultimate.
It used to work perfectly on XP SP2
abhijitaparadh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2009, 16:51   #25
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,378 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
BTW IE is available for Mac too.

As far as you problem is concerned why are you not using safari, its good enough no!
IE was available for mac.

Safari has too many compatibility issues with various websites.

I was a devoted user of Firefox but recently I have discovered that everytime I try to print a page to PDF (Mac OSX Leopard user) FF will simply crash.
Restarting is not a problem, but when logged into a secure site like my bank, the crash leaves me stranded as I cannot log in to the bank again for a while. Security reasons.

Safari does not display certain buttons on my banks site so I was completely stuck.

While using electronic bill payment for my utilities I would print the reciept for my records. However I had to pay one bill at a time, let FF crash and then wait another 15 minutes to log in again. Too frustrating.

Just shifted to Opera for Mac and I'm quite amazed by this browser. Downloaded Opera Mini for my Blackberry too.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2009, 19:44   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

IE is available for GNU/Linux and mac UNOFFICIALLY .See this project:
http://www.tatanka.com.br/
Then,the derivative of ies4linux :
ies4osx
Darwine builds for OS X
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2009, 20:35   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
I was a devoted user of Firefox but recently I have discovered that everytime I try to print a page to PDF (Mac OSX Leopard user) FF will simply crash.

Does it make a difference if you print to PostScript (.ps) instead of .pdf? You can easily print .ps too - it is the "language" specifically for printers, or convert it (using tools like ps2pdf, part of the ghostscript suite) to .pdf.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 21:50   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
A couple of new problems now. I use MTNL Triband at home and a private ISP at office.

1) When I use FF at home, I can only browse. For example, on team-bhp, I can only browse and not post anything. When I use Safari, all is fine. I use Opera and it gives me the same result as FF.

2) When I am surfing at home and log in to Facebook via any browser - it logs in to the home page and thats it !! I cannot go further nor can I do anything ! At office - Facebook works like a charm on any browser.

Can anyone help please?
These problems are still on - anyone found any solution ? Coz I haven't !
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 23:50   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
These problems are still on - anyone found any solution ? Coz I haven't !
and the same computer at work works well with FF? I am thinking if your ISP blocks something that FF needs. did you try fresh install of FF with no add-ons, blocks etc?

take somebody else's computer home and see if that also has the same problem.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2009, 21:15   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

The problem is ONLY on the Macbook. The HP laptop works flawlessly at home - FB on any browser works like a charm.

What is happening ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Firefox Set a World Record sushanthr77 Gadgets, Computers & Software 37 14th July 2008 18:15
Help with Mozilla Firefox viper Shifting gears 23 3rd August 2007 22:45
Mozilla Firefox Help viper Shifting gears 2 22nd January 2006 21:06
Firefox going to hell in a hand basket imandeep Shifting gears 21 12th January 2006 00:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:22.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks