Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th April 2008, 18:02   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Anyone help me with the FW update to Version 1.00F please ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 00:47   #17
BHPian
 
tadukuttan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 241
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Anyone help me with the FW update to Version 1.00F please ?
Something like this - Re: A620 1.00f firmware?: Canon Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review

And these pages has more - FAQ - CHDK Wiki
Official Canon firmware updates - CHDK Wiki

P.S. Never tried any of this myself.
tadukuttan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2008, 22:43   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Anyone updated the firmware(CHDK) ?
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 08:09   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,233
Thanked: 21,896 Times
Default

Mithun,

One of my friends has done it and he says it is quite cool.

I have not yet had the time to do it myself as yet!!

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2008, 11:37   #20
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 185
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

Yeah, cool is the word. Its cool.
And it does'nt "update" (or alter) your firmware permanently. It loads from the sd card everytime you start-up your camera, and if you do not wish to use it, simply delete it from the sd card. It has only 2 files (total size appx 250Kb) to be copied on the sd card..no installation is reqd.
There's no harm in trying it so go and take the plunge.
anuragn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 15:07   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

How do we know if a particular model has feature to store in RAW format?
For eg: I own a IXY 70 Canon camera. Does it have that capability? I tried to google but could not find good info. Any help?
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 15:26   #22
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore / Madras
Posts: 1,980
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

mjothi, please see the user manual of the Canon IXUS 70. Have you installed the Canon Utilities on your PC? You should have got the installation disc with the camera. I can see RAW Image Task under options when I run the utility - must admit I haven't graduated to finding out how to shoot RAW or even if my camera can do it.
hrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2008, 22:27   #23
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 30
Thanked: Once
Default

CHDK - CHDK Wiki is the place to check for updates to the chdk firmware.
crkishore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2008, 00:31   #24
Distinguished - BHPian
 
CrAzY dRiVeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore / TVM
Posts: 8,424
Thanked: 14,215 Times
Default

I've been playing around with CHDK firmware hack on my Canon S5 IS, for some time now. Here are my observations-

Positives-
1. Its true that RAW is enabled. Also, there are a lot of features, lot more than one would need.
2. Its not a firmware replacement, just an add-on program on the memory card, which can be deleted in case of any warranty problems.

Negatives-
1. When RAW is enabled, camera becomes slow- real slow. The saving time of each picture is increased by a huge margin!
2. There are concerns that the hack may tweak the firmware beyond the limits. For eg: shutter speed is increased from 15secs to 64secs (for S5IS). So, i haven't tried most of the settings in it except RAW.

3. Am not too satisfied with the quality of RAW files. (But, i haven't dealt with RAW files before. So, not sure if its a case of over-expectations)
4. Two weeks back, i went on a trip to try some pics, and then the CHDK firmware showed error message. And i had to format the card! All thoughts of shooting with RAW met with a sad fate.

5. The files are .CRW which has to converted into .DNG using another program before it can be used in photoshop. (Is it this way for other cams as well?)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrag View Post
mjothi, please see the user manual of the Canon IXUS 70. Have you installed the Canon Utilities on your PC? You should have got the installation disc with the camera. I can see RAW Image Task under options when I run the utility - must admit I haven't graduated to finding out how to shoot RAW or even if my camera can do it.
I think canon supplies same CD for several of its cams. Even my disc came with EOS utilities, however that is for their DSLRs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
How do we know if a particular model has feature to store in RAW format?
For eg: I own a IXY 70 Canon camera. Does it have that capability? I tried to google but could not find good info. Any help?
My knowledge is limited, but AFAIK, Canon has given RAW format only to its DSLR range.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 24th August 2008 at 00:40.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2008, 08:10   #25
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,745
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR View Post
3. Am not too satisfied with the quality of RAW files. (But, i haven't dealt with RAW files before. So, not sure if its a case of over-expectations)


5. The files are .CRW which has to converted into .DNG using another program before it can be used in photoshop. (Is it this way for other cams as well?)
RAW will give you the best results. always.
but you cant expect the unprocessed raw pic to look good. each RAW shot will have to be postprocessed to bring out the true potential of the pic.

.CRW can be handled directly by PS3, you just need to download the camera raw plugin from the photoshop website and install it on your PC by following the instructions.
rippergeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2008, 09:48   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/829099-post2233.html

I tried out the CHDK thing in my S3 a while ago before I gave it away. Its no biggie, you can boot from firmware *IF* you like. Otherwise when you switch off and switch on your back tot he regular mode so there's no question of reformatting/re loading firmware etc.

Never got around to fully exploring the options though :(
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2008, 16:48   #27
Distinguished - BHPian
 
CrAzY dRiVeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore / TVM
Posts: 8,424
Thanked: 14,215 Times
Default

rippergeo,

Thats what i read here in team-bhp. However, the noise levels seem to be increasing higher than expected when used in photoshop!
Quote:
Originally Posted by rippergeo View Post
.CRW can be handled directly by PS3, you just need to download the camera raw plugin from the photoshop website and install it on your PC by following the instructions.
That, i didnt know! Let me see how its done.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2008, 18:20   #28
BHPian
 
deetee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 222
Thanked: 85 Times
Default CHDK at work in 720IS

I have been experimenting this with my A720IS. The CHDK add on will extend the camera capabilities beyond its OEM set limits.
The CHDK(Canon Hacker's Development Kit) is ever evolving .Used patiently and properly , it can make you do amazing things with your cam. Its some thing like you are adding free flow,conical air filter,iridium spark plugs, upsizing tyres,stiffening suspension,pete's box --- to obtain the best out of your car.
Only thing here is , all the mods for your canon are free of cost and free for any development.
Even with all hardware mods, the way you drive and handle the car brings the best out of it while doing no harm to it.
Same is the case with CHDK; it can make your cam do all that it can without any damage provided you do handle it rationally.
Following are the links to various CHDK articles:
1.New capabilites which CHDK can add to each camera of canon:
CameraFeatures - CHDK Wiki

2.The CHDK FAQ
FAQ - CHDK Wiki

Exposure bracketing,focus bracketing, extreme shutter speed(varies depending on model),aperture overriding,Depth of field calculator, battery display(percent charge left or voltage display also), live histogram are some of the functionalities which CHDK can provide. And RAW support is always there.

Amazing hack it is.

Edit: true that shooting in RAW takes quite some time to record the image( to the card). But may be the card am using is slow or the P&S processors are too less capable for RAW shooting.

Last edited by deetee : 10th October 2008 at 18:24.
deetee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 09:59   #29
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 185
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

Yepp...saving a RAW file takes much longer due to its size (appx 9MB). It is not a drawback of CHDK but a limitation due to slow memory card speeds.
And processing a RAW file needs lots of patience and above all experience, which comes after lots of practice. And practice needs a lot of patience.
I am really sold on this firmware hack. It can do so many things that I never imagined could be possible with a low-end consumer digicam. Text file reader is a decent add-on. I have tried exposure and focus bracketting with awesome results.
Battery voltage display is the most wonderful and most needed feature, before that, I would never know when the low battery Red indicator started flashing all of a sudden.
anuragn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2008, 02:08   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,865
Thanked: 2,217 Times
Default

i just found out today that instead of converting the resultant crw files to dng and stuff, the easiest way to view them on the computer is to download the latest version of picasa.. its free and the interface is awesome. try it to view raw files
frankmehta is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tabby: Open Source vehicle platform (hardware) excelinnovator Technical Stuff 3 7th October 2013 15:04
My NEXUS ONE Smartphone - I have gone completely open source jassi Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 6th May 2012 07:05
Freeware/Open source project for managing recruitment windsurfer Shifting gears 0 17th September 2008 19:04
Open open open Sesame!! VJ_MAVRICK Shifting gears 12 10th January 2008 15:24
First Open-Source Car Unveiled navdeep The International Automotive Scene 2 2nd April 2007 11:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:16.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks