Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th September 2007, 16:16   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,174 Times
Default Shoot RAW with your Canon P&S! (CHDK open-source firmware)

Guys,

Came across this

Linux.com :: How to give your low-end Canon digital camera RAW support

RAW support for your plain vanilla Canon P&S.

Regards,
Lavkesh
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 16:28   #2
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
includes live histograms, depth-of-field calculation, under and overexposure highlighting, and -- best of all -- shooting your pictures in RAW.
Of these histogram and RAW should be really use full.
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 16:31   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,174 Times
Default

Yup, I want to try this but a little apprehensive as I bought my Cam from US and it not under warranty in India.
Although this doesnt overwrites the current firmware, even then I dont want to take a chance as yet. The firmware is booted from the SD card inserted in the cam itself and to return to the original firmware all you have to do it to delete the firmware files from the SD Card and restart the camera.
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 16:40   #4
BHPian
 
HellwratH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 115
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

And sigh, I cannot put that on my camera. :(
HellwratH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 18:34   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

If I have to add these RAW shoot feature, I'll have to format the SD card and RESET the file counter! I don't want to reset the file counter!! I hope there's a way of doing it without resetting the counter.

Its not compatible with my A620's fw of 1.00E, 1.00F is supported. However chances are there it might work with 1.00E. How do you update the fw for PowerShot cameras? I hope its downloadable.

Thanks,
cya
A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 19:09   #6
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Very interesting linky extreme torque!
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 19:24   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,174 Times
Default

Please update this thread, if someone has already tried this.
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 23:08   #8
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 139
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
Guys,

Came across this

Linux.com :: How to give your low-end Canon digital camera RAW support

RAW support for your plain vanilla Canon P&S.

Regards,
Lavkesh
If you shoot RAW with a low end P&S I can imagine that the buffer will fill very fast and you may have to wait even for the second shot. Just not worth it IMO. I had a Dimage 7i and shooting RAW was a pain as it would take 15-20sec to write a single image file.
kumar2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 13:13   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,174 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumar2007 View Post
If you shoot RAW with a low end P&S I can imagine that the buffer will fill very fast and you may have to wait even for the second shot. Just not worth it IMO. I had a Dimage 7i and shooting RAW was a pain as it would take 15-20sec to write a single image file.
You are not clicking in burst mode everytime, besides shoot to shoot time may or may not increase but just the firmware upgrade cant turn your P&S into a DSLR... are you not asking for too much?
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 02:40   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,233
Thanked: 21,896 Times
Default Open Source Firmware for Canon Cameras! (CHDK)

Hey guys,

A friend just sent me this link today - i havent dug in too deep but from the initial look of it it seems to add a lot of much needed features!

Quote:
CANON CAMERAS ONLY !!!!!
  • up to 1/60,000 of a second shutter speed
  • can be loaded on cameras using Canon's DIGIC II or DIGIC III firmware platforms.
  • RAW file format
  • live histogram display
  • a battery readout
  • the ability to run scripted actions on a camera
  • CHDK does not replace the existing firmware on your Canon, so the process is completely reversible.
Supercharge Your Camera with Open-Source CHDK Firmware - Wired How-To Wiki

If anyone tries this out please let us know how it goes!!

cya
R

EDIT : Some videos / samle pics :
The install + live histogram + sample time lapses etc > CHDK Videos - Truveo Video Search

High shutter speed pics > Samples: High-Speed Shutter & Flash-Sync - CHDK Wiki

Last edited by Rehaan : 7th April 2008 at 02:55.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 09:55   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 185
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

I've been using it. Its awesome and does not alter your oem firmware.
Scripting is the best feature. And the add-ons are simply great. Like live histogram, on-screen clock, battery level meter (in Millivolts or %), memory card meter, text file reader, raw image saving option, enabling of optical zoom during video shoot, remote shutter switch using usb port of the camera (still have to try), setting of any custom bitrate in video settings, increase in exposure limit of 15 secs in "B" mode etc etc.
anuragn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 10:13   #12
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,233
Thanked: 21,896 Times
Default

Great! I am going to try it soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anuragn View Post
....setting of any custom bitrate in video settings...
Is there any way you can increase the frame rate / resolution ?

At the moment 60fps @ 320x240 is whats offered, is there way i can increase the FPS @ that resolution, or alternatively - the resolution at that FPS ??

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 10:18   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,174 Times
Default

Came across this a while back.... not brave enough to try since my cam is out of warranty.
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 13:21   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

My firmware shows GM1.00E - so before I try this, I have to upgrade to GM1.00F

Can anyone tell me how I go about that ? I mean officially upgrade from Canon ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 16:02   #15
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,616
Thanked: 6,704 Times
Default

Very interesting to know that this stuff exists. Thanks Rehaan.

But it's not for me; not at this time, at any rate.



(S2 IS user)
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tabby: Open Source vehicle platform (hardware) excelinnovator Technical Stuff 3 7th October 2013 15:04
My NEXUS ONE Smartphone - I have gone completely open source jassi Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 6th May 2012 07:05
Freeware/Open source project for managing recruitment windsurfer Shifting gears 0 17th September 2008 19:04
Open open open Sesame!! VJ_MAVRICK Shifting gears 12 10th January 2008 15:24
First Open-Source Car Unveiled navdeep The International Automotive Scene 2 2nd April 2007 11:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:08.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks