Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th April 2008, 17:17   #1
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Mobile network trouble

Guys

I have been facing this issue in my apts since the last 6 months, ever since I moved into my flat in fact. I stay just beyond the Marathahalli bridge (Sriram Samrudhi apts, Kundenahalli Gate)

There is absolutely no signal inside my house.. max of 1 or 2 'dandies' I get but there is no way I can make or take a call indoors. People have major problems getting thru to me either via call or sms. I had to get a landline the moment I moved in.

Other people are also facing similar issues but those on the flats on higher floors are not affected that badly.

I have been pursuing this with Vodafone since the time I shifted but they haven't responded at all.

Its a desperate situation this, but is there a way out?
MC Mayank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 17:22   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
n_aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 5,184
Thanked: 2,674 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mayank View Post
Its a desperate situation this, but is there a way out?
Yes there is. You can get a signal booster box installed on the roof of the building. Hutch and Airtel boosters are installed on our apart roof. Contact their tech team.
n_aditya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 19:13   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
rjstyles69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bengalooru..
Posts: 4,343
Thanked: 784 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mayank View Post
Its a desperate situation this, but is there a way out?
Yupp !! Trouble them even more. It works since I had a similar issue and now I have the signal booster installed in my flat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
Yes there is. You can get a signal booster box installed on the roof of the building.
Adi ' the signal booster is installed in the house and they just put up an antenna on the roof. Works pretty well though.
rjstyles69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 21:31   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Switch to a provider with better signal in your house.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 22:02   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,293
Thanked: 18,822 Times
Default

Get a better phone maybe a new PDA which will pick up better signal with a more powerful receiver.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 23:01   #6
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Get a better phone maybe a new PDA which will pick up better signal with a more powerful receiver.
Viddy bahiya, Mayankbhai just bought new N95 8gb. Now if you ask him to get a better phone then...

Contact Vodafone, ask them this is the last time you asking to do something about the network. If not then dump them and shift to some other service provider.
Otherwise you have 2 options:
1) either you can talk only in balconies
2) or keep your phone near the balcony and use bluetooth headset with good range and talk aaraam se!

Last edited by F50 : 8th April 2008 at 23:06.
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 23:43   #7
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F50 View Post
Viddy bahiya, Mayankbhai just bought new N95 8gb. Now if you ask him to get a better phone then...

Contact Vodafone, ask them this is the last time you asking to do something about the network. If not then dump them and shift to some other service provider.
Otherwise you have 2 options:
1) either you can talk only in balconies
2) or keep your phone near the balcony and use bluetooth headset with good range and talk aaraam se!
I think viddy bhaiya is just being a naughty boy.. he knows i have got a new phone which ain't a pda

Man I tried calling the vodafone customer care today with my complaint number and everything. I just can't get thru to them man its so disgusting!

And as for switching to other service providers. I hear airtel is only a touch better.. its just these towers that absorb the signals.

Is this signal booster thing harmful in any way?
MC Mayank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2008, 08:17   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

IMO the signal booster should not cause any harm but I am no authority on them.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2008, 08:22   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,323
Thanked: 3,665 Times
Default

Round up the other residents in the building /complex who also have a vodafone connection, and show Vodafone some numbers. Should help things move faster.
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audi Mobile Terminal (Mobile Audi showroom) launched in India Aditya Indian Car Dealerships 3 23rd September 2015 15:28
Anybody facing problems with AIRTEL Mobile network snaronikar Shifting gears 88 27th September 2014 00:01
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
file sharing on home network vivekiny2k Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 24th May 2007 10:30
Need Help with Motorcycle Service network AntarAtma Motorbikes 6 26th March 2007 19:50


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:09.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks