Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th September 2009, 22:34   #1711
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,962
Thanked: 4,858 Times
Default

This just in. Croma is in talks with Apple to sell unlocked iphone 3GS in India. Initially was to be launched tomorrow but, apparently apple price was high and vodafone and airtel started waving contracts. Launch hopefully now on 19 October (or 9th - my cell network dropped at that very moment) if all goes well.

Source: Croma head honcho #2.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 17:29   #1712
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Sigh. Unlocked phones would mean costs above 40K. :(
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2009, 08:39   #1713
BHPian
 
theEnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 534
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

A salesperson at the Imagine store in Atria Mall (Worli, Mumbai) told me that the iPhone 3GS would only be available in January!
theEnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 09:20   #1714
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

If you are really desperate, have the cash and don't have anyone to get you the iPhone, there is a guy willing to ship iPhones 3GS from Australia.

Live Overseas? Want an Unlocked iPhone 3GS? Look Inside - MacTalk Forums

Of course, Its another matter on whether it will get thru Indian customs without getting molested.

Edit: I lost 3G tethering after I upgraded to 3.1. Anyone knows of a hack (without jailbreaking?).

Last edited by spadival : 24th September 2009 at 09:21.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 13:31   #1715
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

People in India have bought iPhone 3GS from Australia via eBay. Customs cost in Tamil Nadu was Rs1800.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2009, 10:50   #1716
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
People in India have bought iPhone 3GS from Australia via eBay. Customs cost in Tamil Nadu was Rs1800.
eBay == Huge markup well over the cost price + chances of fraud.

What was the total cost of the 3GS from ebay excluding customs charges?
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2009, 12:22   #1717
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
eBay == Huge markup well over the cost price + chances of fraud.

What was the total cost of the 3GS from ebay excluding customs charges?
Not if you buy from reputed sellers. Cost was some $50-60 over price in AUS Apple store, plus $40 expedited shipping with tracking code.

Friend of mine messaged the people who bought from a seemingly reputed seller and got a guy in TN who had bought the 3GS. Got the customs rate from that guy.

ps: It is becoming increasingly difficult to jailbreak and upgrade. TUAW has an article, an interview with Saurik, which says that newer firmware will have to be approved by Apple before it gets installed on the phone. Yes, a working net connection will soon become a requirement to install a firmware.

So better to get a factory unlocked phone than buy a contract phone. Only drawback (and it is a huge one) is the cost. :(
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 12:21   #1718
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,962
Thanked: 4,858 Times
Default

Guys, download PING for iphone. It's exactly like the BB instant messaging service. Can be used iphone to iphone or touch and it's free.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 13:58   #1719
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Does that work with unlocked phones?
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 16:06   #1720
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,962
Thanked: 4,858 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
Does that work with unlocked phones?
Yes, but you need to enable push notifications which get automatically blocked once you unlock a phone. If you have a jailbroken phone and not unlocked, no problem.

If unlocked do this:

1. uninstall ping!
2. add source cydia.iphoneil.net to cydia
3. search for “push” in cydia and install “Push Fix” . Reboot the device.
4. install ping! again.
5. reboot device.

For the first time you launch ping, let it connect to the server via gprs and ot wifi. once you set your username, then you can go via wifi

For troubleshooting see:
[Support] I cannot get past the initial "Connecting please wait" screen. What am I doing wrong? | Facebook

Homepage:
www.pingmessaging.com
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 17:56   #1721
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,176
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Yes, but you need to enable push notifications which get automatically blocked once you unlock a phone. If you have a jailbroken phone and not unlocked, no problem.

If unlocked do this:

1. uninstall ping!
2. add source cydia.iphoneil.net to cydia
3. search for “push” in cydia and install “Push Fix” . Reboot the device.
4. install ping! again.
5. reboot device.

For the first time you launch ping, let it connect to the server via gprs and ot wifi. once you set your username, then you can go via wifi

For troubleshooting see:
[Support] I cannot get past the initial "Connecting please wait" screen. What am I doing wrong? | Facebook

Homepage:
www.pingmessaging.com
Tried all that. Still no go
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 12:22   #1722
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,962
Thanked: 4,858 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Tried all that. Still no go
Connect to their page on FB. There are troubleshooting discussions. Anyways, today's update says that they solved the issue.

Can you connect to their server or it hangs at connecting? Don't use Wifi first time.

What's your userid? try to ping me on tejask
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 14:17   #1723
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,176
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Connect to their page on FB. There are troubleshooting discussions. Anyways, today's update says that they solved the issue.

Can you connect to their server or it hangs at connecting? Don't use Wifi first time.

What's your userid? try to ping me on tejask
It says "Connect to iTunes to activate push notification" ??

Push is already active, I get my google sync mails as push.

I don't have a ping id yet, need the program to first open to create one !
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 16:49   #1724
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,962
Thanked: 4,858 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
It says "Connect to iTunes to activate push notification" ??

Push is already active, I get my google sync mails as push.

I don't have a ping id yet, need the program to first open to create one !
Are you using an unlocked iphone or officially vodafone? and 2g or 3g?

If you are using an unlocked iphone, then your push gets blocked and google mails come in as pull. You need to download the push fix then.

If you are using a vodafone official locked iphone, contact vodafone and ask them to enable push.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 17:01   #1725
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,176
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Are you using an unlocked iphone or officially vodafone? and 2g or 3g?

If you are using an unlocked iphone, then your push gets blocked and google mails come in as pull. You need to download the push fix then.

If you are using a vodafone official locked iphone, contact vodafone and ask them to enable push.
I have an unlocked 2g. Have installed the push fix from cydia. Push worked fine even before that via google sync.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:32.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks