Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th October 2009, 12:47   #1741
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Penang, Malaysia/Goa, India
Posts: 115
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I need help here too. I have the iPhone 3G locked with Airtel & I had upgraded to OS 3.0 when it released on July 17th, not sure if that is OS 3.1.2 or just 3.0.

I have however now moved to Malaysia & 'm unable to use it here, it just needs to be unlocked I guess, but a person I spoke to here is asking for a bomb to unlock it.
Thus Wanted to try doing it myself. Any help appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Dud_Dodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 13:04   #1742
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,766 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
I'm thinking of getting an Airtel Sim because my phone is locked to Airtel. So if I restore using iTunes, and use an Airtel sim, it will work, right?
Yes, it will work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dud_Dodo View Post
I need help here too. I have the iPhone 3G locked with Airtel & I had upgraded to OS 3.0 when it released on July 17th, not sure if that is OS 3.1.2 or just 3.0.
Go to settings -> general -> About and find out about your OS.

Then post back. As of now 3.1.2 is unlockable.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 15:03   #1743
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,766 Times
Default

Pwnage Tool 3.1.4 for iPhone OS 3.1.2 is out. Supports iPhone 2G, 3G and 3GS.

Works only on Mac though.

Here's the link:
Dev-Team Blog - Pwnage Pie

Please read all instructions properly.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 15:10   #1744
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Wait for a day or two, windows version will also come out
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 15:16   #1745
BHPian
 
Proxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 801
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Pwnage Tool 3.1.4 for iPhone OS 3.1.2 is out. Supports iPhone 2G, 3G and 3GS.

Works only on Mac though.

Here's the link:
Dev-Team Blog - Pwnage Pie

Please read all instructions properly.
Tejas, this still would not allow me to unlock my phone right?
Proxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 15:35   #1746
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,897 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Pwnage Tool 3.1.4 for iPhone OS 3.1.2 is out. Supports iPhone 2G, 3G and 3GS.

Works only on Mac though.

Here's the link:
Dev-Team Blog - Pwnage Pie

Please read all instructions properly.
I'm done with upgrading the firmware on my 2g. Every time I have done it, the phone has gotten slower. Currently on 3.0, although the phone has added features it still worked best when it was initially on 2.2.1 etc.

Last edited by Sahil : 14th October 2009 at 15:37.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 16:51   #1747
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Ping upgrade is out. Try that. Hopefully should work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
yes push does work on my 2g via google sync. Hotmail doesn't push.
Guys, what I meant was how does one get around the issue in the link below?
Using an Unlocked iPhone? Forget About Push-Enabled Apps

How does the Push fix work?

Another link...
Mac Forums - View Single Post - Push Notification Fix?

Last edited by srijit : 14th October 2009 at 17:01.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2009, 11:47   #1748
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,766 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
Tejas, this still would not allow me to unlock my phone right?
It should allow you to unlock. Read all the instructions carefully.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I'm done with upgrading the firmware on my 2g. Every time I have done it, the phone has gotten slower. Currently on 3.0, although the phone has added features it still worked best when it was initially on 2.2.1 etc.
True. I personally preferred 1.1.4.

But, i have this keeda... the constant urge to keep upgrading either mac or iphone.

Waiting for croma to launch unlocked iphone 3GS now.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2009, 12:11   #1749
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,897 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
It should allow you to unlock. Read all the instructions carefully.



True. I personally preferred 1.1.4.

But, i have this keeda... the constant urge to keep upgrading either mac or iphone.

Waiting for croma to launch unlocked iphone 3GS now.
I think I'm going to switch over to the dark side, BB !

I can't digest paying 3 times the amount for essentially the same phone with better speed and a few minor changes.

BB is launching a phone with QWERTY keypad + touchscreen in the future ! But for now I'm going to wait for the new Bold.

I hope the all-new-iphone has a touchscreen interface + keypad which is when i'll shift back to apple.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2009, 12:19   #1750
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,766 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I think I'm going to switch over to the dark side, BB !
Very difficult. I tried i to shift with the curve but returned the piece after 2 days. The iphone interface is too addictive!


BTW, mods, can you remove the poll, doesn't make any sense anymore.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 02:30   #1751
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Update 3.1 actually removed one of the features advertised with update 3.0 - tethering !!

Look at this thread; complaints from users all over the world -> Apple - Support - Discussions - no tethering on officially unlocked ...

Next, Apple files a patent which describes how a carrier can disable GPS on the iPhone and charge you a fee for using a feature on the phone you bought!!

Apple tries to patent method to lock down your mobile device - Ars Technica

Well, someone is trying to be evil.. Thank god for the dev team and jailbreaking community.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 10:07   #1752
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

3.1 doesnt break teethering! In countries where the teethering was not allowed the updated carrier file was disabled, thats all. In India it works like a charm.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 12:25   #1753
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
3.1 doesnt break teethering! In countries where the teethering was not allowed the updated carrier file was disabled, thats all. In India it works like a charm.
Where did I say 3.1 breaks tethering? I said Apple disabled an advertised feature and put us at the mercy of the carriers. Who decides which countries where tethering is allowed or not? Should it be Apple/carriers or should it be the customer who actually OWN the damn phone?

Besides, tethering is next to useless in India, where the slow EDGE network is not even enough for mobile browsing, forget browsing on a laptop. You don't know if the tethering feature will still be enabled when the networks are finally upgraded to 3G. Are we going to wait and suddenly wake up when, one fine day, Airtel decides to disable GPS and charge us money for using an existing feature on a phone that we already bought?

Last edited by spadival : 16th October 2009 at 12:36.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 12:45   #1754
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Saar! if you dont have a GPRS/EDGE connection on your contract/connection, do you expect to have internet connectivity? I dont think any telecom company will allow this! Exactly what AT&T did for iPhone contract, they didnt add Teethering and MMS for long and people found way around to hack in, which was disabled by carrier file. Whats wrong with it? You want a service you pay for it, nothing is free in life.

They cant disable GPS but disable a certain app, what if google makes gmaps paid? Would you fight it? And what if Google and Apple break the tie-up (a very likely scenario)? So please dont go by whatever you read on the net, especially news article which sometimes overdo it with sensationalism

Moreover i dont also agree to the idea of remote disablement. My point was more towards teethering, which they announced (yes!) and explicitly said will not be available in US for some more time. Teethering is phone feature which needs to be supported by your telecom contract.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 13:49   #1755
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
They cant disable GPS but disable a certain app, what if google makes gmaps paid? Would you fight it? And what if Google and Apple break the tie-up (a very likely scenario)?
Disabling GPS and disabling apps from accessing GPS functionality.. How is it different? I'll explain. If google makes gmaps paid, I may opt to pay for it and buy it. But that will not stop the carrier from disabling gmaps (or tomtom and all other GPS apps) from accessing GPS and then forcing me to buy app from the carrier at an unjustified premium.

End result is the same: I own the phone and legally purchase gmaps from Google, yet I cant access it!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
So please dont go by whatever you read on the net, especially news article which sometimes overdo it with sensationalism
I am quoting from the Apple's patent application with the US patent office. I rest my case now.

Quote:
[0041]For example, a carrier 104 may wish to provide an enhanced service which utilizes the global positioning system (GPS) functionality in a mobile device. Carrier 104 may wish to charge a premium for this service, so it may configure carrier provisioning profile 208 to disallow third party applications from accessing the GPS functionality in device 100, and instead only allow applications digitally signed by carrier 104 (or another entity affiliated with carrier 104) to access the GPS services in device 100.

Last edited by spadival : 16th October 2009 at 13:50.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:31.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks