Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th November 2009, 11:35   #1801
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,962
Thanked: 4,867 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amoghchaphalkar View Post
guys,

just need a clarification. will the IMEI ruling hamper the use of jailbroken / unlocked iphones in India? Logically I don't see any reason why that should happen.

But I have been asked this question by a lot of people and just thought of getting it clarified here from the iphone experts.
NO. Jailbreaking does not change the IMEI number. No issues. In fact my iphone was stolen last year and the cops traced it within 3 months using the IMEI number. It was a 2G unlocked and jailbroken iphone.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 12:06   #1802
BHPian
 
amoghchaphalkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 554
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

thanks tejas !! I had a feeling you would be the first to respond to my query.

i would be getting my iphone 3GS (16 GB) soon. will become a regular visitor to this thread then. (have already subscribed)
amoghchaphalkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 04:20   #1803
BHPian
 
gopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 452
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amoghchaphalkar View Post
guys,

just need a clarification. will the IMEI ruling hamper the use of jailbroken / unlocked iphones in India? Logically I don't see any reason why that should happen.

But I have been asked this question by a lot of people and just thought of getting it clarified here from the iphone experts.
I have read about a program which uses fake IMEI to enable blocked phones to be used. I do not know details but it was a jailbreak app.

I would like to say that any tampering with IMEI will attract 5 years in jail.
gopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 09:03   #1804
Senior - BHPian
 
tanwaramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dilwalon ki Dilli
Posts: 1,886
Thanked: 333 Times
Default

my one year old iphone 3G battery dies in less than 24 hrs without sufficient usage.

Can I get the battery changed ?
tanwaramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 10:35   #1805
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,712
Thanked: 7,389 Times
Default

Have you tried leaving the phone connected to the charger over night, ideally when switched off and see if situation improves. Also run down the battery completely once or twice (till phone switches off) and then do an overnight charge.

Where did you pick the phone from? Yes, you can change the batteries.
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 12:16   #1806
BHPian
 
gopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 452
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
my one year old iphone 3G battery dies in less than 24 hrs without sufficient usage.

Can I get the battery changed ?
Try the steps which Jaggu suggested. If it doesnt work, I would take it to Apple for an out of warranty replacement. They will replace the phone with a new one (not just the battery) for a charge.

If it is under warranty then its a different story though. They have a software to test the battery, they will test it and replace the phone for free, if it was indeed a faulty battery!
gopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 12:30   #1807
BHPian
 
eyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: chandigarh/nawanshahr
Posts: 44
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

just bought a white 16gb 3gs
from a guy who got it from australia,said it was without a contract

how to tell if its factory unlocked or jailbroken

ds
eyedoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 12:36   #1808
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,712
Thanked: 7,389 Times
Default

When you plonk in the SIM if it gives you a Cellular Data Page under Settings>Networks its factory unlocked.

Also if you see Cydia etc on the main screen its a sign of jb/unlock.
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 13:02   #1809
BHPian
 
eyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: chandigarh/nawanshahr
Posts: 44
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

thanks jaggu
it appears factory unlocked
so hopefully it want lock up if i upgrade to 3.1.2 version

ds
eyedoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 17:06   #1810
BHPian
 
gopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 452
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyedoc View Post
thanks jaggu
it appears factory unlocked
so hopefully it want lock up if i upgrade to 3.1.2 version

ds
You should not see 'Cydia' or 'Icy' or 'Rock' on the home screen if it is not jailbroken, and on a non-jailbroken device, if your SIM works, it means that it's a factory unlocked phone.
gopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 17:07   #1811
BHPian
 
gopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 452
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyedoc View Post
thanks jaggu
it appears factory unlocked
so hopefully it want lock up if i upgrade to 3.1.2 version

ds
Well even if it is jailbroken/unlocked, you could upgrade to 3.1.2 and re-jailbreak/unlock it at the moment using blacksn0w
gopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 17:45   #1812
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,543
Thanked: 1,306 Times
Default

Can I buy an iphone 3GS in India via Airtel of Vodafone?
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 16:39   #1813
Senior - BHPian
 
tanwaramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dilwalon ki Dilli
Posts: 1,886
Thanked: 333 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Have you tried leaving the phone connected to the charger over night, ideally when switched off and see if situation improves. Also run down the battery completely once or twice (till phone switches off) and then do an overnight charge.

Where did you pick the phone from? Yes, you can change the batteries.
Its dying so early since past 2 months, need to keep charger always ready, for its short life. I had bought it from Airtel Showroom at CP. Can the batteries be changed ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gopz View Post
Try the steps which Jaggu suggested. If it doesnt work, I would take it to Apple for an out of warranty replacement. They will replace the phone with a new one (not just the battery) for a charge.

If it is under warranty then its a different story though. They have a software to test the battery, they will test it and replace the phone for free, if it was indeed a faulty battery!
Damn, it was in warranty one month back and I didnt goto the showroom for the issue then (though was planning for past 2.5 months). Any idea how much will be the charge ? Cant afford to buy another iphone now !!
tanwaramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 17:22   #1814
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,712
Thanked: 7,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
Its dying so early since past 2 months, need to keep charger always ready, for its short life. I had bought it from Airtel Showroom at CP. Can the batteries be changed ?

Damn, it was in warranty one month back and I didnt goto the showroom for the issue then (though was planning for past 2.5 months). Any idea how much will be the charge ? Cant afford to buy another iphone now !!
I think you should rush to your dealer and they should be able to help you.
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2009, 10:59   #1815
Senior - BHPian
 
tanwaramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dilwalon ki Dilli
Posts: 1,886
Thanked: 333 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
I think you should rush to your dealer and they should be able to help you.
I guess I can goto any dealer ? my office is in Gurgaon, so I will goto a dealer in Gurgaon preferably by tomorrow at all costs.
tanwaramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks