Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th December 2009, 16:26   #1831
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 121
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CorsaLove View Post
My manager spoke to Airtel and they say that they wont support Iphones bought from the US basically Jailbroken. I tried with Vodafone and the same reply.

I guess they have someway to distinguish between an Indian and a Non-indian IMEI number.

So this means that I would have to get the Iphone registered in this month. Any thoughts guys?
What do you mean by support? Does it not work with Indian SIM? Also what do you mean by getting it registered this month. Obviously you will not get tech support from Airtel/Vodafone for a US bought iphone. But things such as GPRS settings and such will be provided.

A proper jailbroken and unlocked 3GS using ultrasn0w or geohot'sblacksn0w will work with any SIM any where in the world.
ramkris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 16:35   #1832
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,759 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by achinthg View Post
So I uninstalled it but still I see that my iphone is very slow. Does anyone have a solution?
Disable iphone. Force restart.

forced restart means: keep the home and power button pressed till the phone automatically switches off and the apple logo (or pineapple logo) returns (10 - 15 seconds).
Do not use the slide to switch off. This will not help. Why it helps, i don't know. but it just does.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 16:40   #1833
BHPian
 
Pri2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore / Mangalore
Posts: 195
Thanked: 85 Times
Default

I recently installed SHOUTcast internet Radio app on my iPod Touch. It is the best Radio app ever. It has thousands of radio stations. Can anyone suggest a good and reasonably priced iPod dock with speakers. (Budget 5 to 6K)
Pri2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 17:46   #1834
BHPian
 
Bumble Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 116
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@ Pri2. Here This is a great Dock + speaker you will love it. It comes with a remote too Logitech Pure-fi Express Plus Speaker Pure-Fi Express Plus™
Bumble Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 22:50   #1835
BHPian
 
amk_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 60
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pri2 View Post
I recently installed SHOUTcast internet Radio app on my iPod Touch. It is the best Radio app ever. It has thousands of radio stations. Can anyone suggest a good and reasonably priced iPod dock with speakers. (Budget 5 to 6K)
Why spend money for expensive iPhone docks?
Instead, buy any PC 2.1 speaker with amplifier and it will connect to the iPhone straight away...
amk_2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 02:56   #1836
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Facing a problem with a friend's phone that I'm upgrading to 3.1.2 and Blackra1n'ing it. The phone when switched off, automatically restarts after a second or two and also the "This accessory is not designed to work with an iPhone" prompt keeps popping up every few seconds leading to a very short battery life.

So basically, does any have answers to the following:

1. What is the cause of the automatic restart?
2. What to do for the error prompt?
3. Blackra1n cracks the phone but when I open the Blackra1n app in the phone, it doesn't have the Rain option! Only Cydia & Rock. Anyone know why?

Phone is a 2G updated to 3.1.2 already.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 10:48   #1837
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,759 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post

Phone is a 2G updated to 3.1.2 already.
If you have the 2G, then no need to blackra1n it. Just use the pwnage tool and create a custom ipsw file and upload it to the iphone.

If you don't have a mac for pwnage, let me know, i'll send you the cd of my custom ipsw file for 3.1.2
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 10:49   #1838
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,134
Thanked: 1,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post

Phone is a 2G updated to 3.1.2 already.
The 2g is not powerful enough to handle software updates like 3.1.2 that are tailored mostly for the 3gS. Trust me, you would wanna downgrade back a few softwares to get the phone working at decent speeds.

The 2g has a hard time handling 3.0 itself. Mine worked best on the initial software 1.x.x it was super quick !
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 16:50   #1839
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
If you have the 2G, then no need to blackra1n it. Just use the pwnage tool and create a custom ipsw file and upload it to the iphone.

If you don't have a mac for pwnage, let me know, i'll send you the cd of my custom ipsw file for 3.1.2
Thanks Tejas, I'm just trying to put it on 3.0, if that doesn't work I'll ping you since I don't have a Mac!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
The 2g is not powerful enough to handle software updates like 3.1.2 that are tailored mostly for the 3gS. Trust me, you would wanna downgrade back a few softwares to get the phone working at decent speeds.

The 2g has a hard time handling 3.0 itself. Mine worked best on the initial software 1.x.x it was super quick !
Good point! I just remembered a mistake I was making, thanks for that!!
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 17:51   #1840
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
The 2g is not powerful enough to handle software updates like 3.1.2 that are tailored mostly for the 3gS. Trust me, you would wanna downgrade back a few softwares to get the phone working at decent speeds.

The 2g has a hard time handling 3.0 itself. Mine worked best on the initial software 1.x.x it was super quick !
2G iPhone has absolutely no problem with 3.1.2 ver of firmware. Some Cydia or Rock apps might be causing your handling problems.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 12:38   #1841
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
He will need to buy one without a plan from AT&T and should cost $599 or $699 (16GB or 32GB) + taxes for the iPhone 3GS.
Which store/site can one buy the phone without a plan? Are these phones unlocked? Can they be used with a Vodafone India connection?
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 13:42   #1842
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
2G iPhone has absolutely no problem with 3.1.2 ver of firmware. Some Cydia or Rock apps might be causing your handling problems.
Well I tried quite a few things but the rain option within Blackra1n would simply not appear. So after reading Sahil's post I decided to take it to 3.0 and after hacking that, it worked perfectly!
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2009, 15:17   #1843
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,483 Times
Default

Interesting article: iPhone users are delusional, consultants say | Technically Incorrect - CNET News
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2009, 15:25   #1844
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,487
Thanked: 6,764 Times
Default

Its too hilarious, thats all i can say. Try the actual device for a week and then see if you still want to write such time waste articles LOL, what i would say to the author.

If the article was true the BB will the award LMFAO!

EDIT: I meant "The Strand thinkers" by the Author

Last edited by Jaggu : 14th December 2009 at 15:28.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2009, 15:33   #1845
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,278
Thanked: 18,770 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Its too hilarious, thats all i can say. Try the actual device for a week and then see if you still want to write such time waste articles LOL, what i would say to the author.

If the article was true the BB will the award LMFAO!

EDIT: I meant "The Strand thinkers" by the Author
A typical reply from an iPhone owner.

Now Now Jaggu.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:52.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks