Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2010, 21:44   #2386
Distinguished - BHPian
 
FlyingSpur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,937
Thanked: 1,331 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indian21r View Post
Hey where did ur brother get it from and how much. I am planning to get one from Hongkong. It is costing around 35k there.
Converted, it works out to about 30k which is the cheapest anywhere I think. He paid some 35k for it, it was brought in by a friend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbhiJ View Post
Even factory unlocked iphones boot up to the "connect to itunes" logo. Insert any SIM, connect them, and the apple "activates" the phone.
True. I think in the case of US phones it says insert a valid AT&T SIM or something like that.
FlyingSpur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 06:11   #2387
BHPian
 
indian21r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 731
Thanked: 262 Times
Default

Thanks Flyingspur. Yeah at this point Hongkong is the cheapest in the world followed by Singapore for factory unlocked phones. 32 Gb in HK is 35k and 16GB is 30K. I am just wondering should I wait for a update or pick it now
indian21r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 13:33   #2388
Senior - BHPian
 
anekho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: .
Posts: 1,998
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

Is there any GPS app that works for Indian roads?

cheers
anekho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 21:56   #2389
BHPian
 
dar3dev|l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hannover, DE
Posts: 293
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indian21r View Post
Thanks Flyingspur. Yeah at this point Hongkong is the cheapest in the world followed by Singapore for factory unlocked phones. 32 Gb in HK is 35k and 16GB is 30K. I am just wondering should I wait for a update or pick it now
Yeah its a still at those prices !!! If you are getting one, can you get one me too

Note from Team-BHP Support Staff : Please avoid using SMS language (u=you, r=are). We advise you to go through the rules before proceeding any further. Thanks.

Last edited by FlyingSpur : 10th October 2010 at 23:51. Reason: See moderator's note in post.
dar3dev|l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 22:00   #2390
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,534 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anekho View Post
Is there any GPS app that works for Indian roads?

cheers
I am using Map my India Application on my Iphone 3GS and loving it.
You get Voice navigation support,and when connected to ICE,it gives instructions through the speakers
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2010, 16:25   #2391
Senior - BHPian
 
tanwaramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dilwalon ki Dilli
Posts: 1,888
Thanked: 330 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
I am using Map my India Application on my Iphone 3GS and loving it.
You get Voice navigation support,and when connected to ICE,it gives instructions through the speakers
Whats the problem with iPhone provided maps ? I have used it perfectly, went from Delhi to Amritsar, works everywhere.

I mean, its very good, is mapmyindia any better ?

Last edited by tanwaramit : 12th October 2010 at 16:31.
tanwaramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2010, 12:31   #2392
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,496
Thanked: 6,777 Times
Default

Map will not work if there is no connectivity, thats the only problem.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2010, 20:32   #2393
Distinguished - BHPian
 
FlyingSpur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,937
Thanked: 1,331 Times
Default

Finally got my 8GB 3GS today. Unlock and JB was a breeze since it was running 4.0 anyway. My brother's iPhone 4 feels noticeably snappier though. Anyone know apps for device-to-device Bluetooth transfer?

Oh and, why isn't my GPRS working on this?
FlyingSpur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2010, 22:27   #2394
Senior - BHPian
 
Ace F355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 1,141
Thanked: 1,410 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
I am using Map my India Application on my Iphone 3GS and loving it.
You get Voice navigation support,and when connected to ICE,it gives instructions through the speakers
Hello Akshay, how did you get your app? Did you buy it from appstore or your iPhone is jailbroken?

I searched for it on my iPhone 3GS and nothing showed up! Then, I searched it on iTunes and it showed me 'MobileMaps India' for $79.99.

May be my Canadian iTunes account is playing its role by not showing it on my iPhone appstore. But since my iPhone is jailbroken, why to waste 80 bucks for it if I can get it for free.

If it isn't much of a hassle, can you post where did you get it from?
Ace F355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 10:17   #2395
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,496
Thanked: 6,777 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
Oh and, why isn't my GPRS working on this?
Have you set the APN in the new phone?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 10:52   #2396
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 234
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

How to setup Vodafone Mobile Connect on iPhone4?

I had set the APN through iPhone Configuration Utility but i am just able to send/receive emails and i am not able to browse anything on Safari or Firefox.

Please guide me to the correct settings
CRV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 11:13   #2397
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,496
Thanked: 6,777 Times
Default

If email is working then the internet setting should be ok. Have you tried restarting the phone once?

EDIT: IIRC for mobile connect only APN ie www needs to be entered.

Last edited by Jaggu : 14th October 2010 at 11:18.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 11:43   #2398
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 234
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

Thanks Jaggu, I tried restarting the phone but it didn't help.

I called Vodafone Customer Service they said we need to activate iData Pack for iPhone data browsing not the normal Vodafone Mobile Connect. Is this true ?
CRV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 11:48   #2399
Distinguished - BHPian
 
FlyingSpur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,937
Thanked: 1,331 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Have you set the APN in the new phone?
Now would be a good time for me to ask you what APN is
FlyingSpur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 11:51   #2400
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,774 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRV2010 View Post
Thanks Jaggu, I tried restarting the phone but it didn't help.

I called Vodafone Customer Service they said we need to activate iData Pack for iPhone data browsing not the normal Vodafone Mobile Connect. Is this true ?
Via Wifi, go to Unlockit - APN Changer for your iPhone from your iphone safari. In that site, follow instructions and enter www for the APN. Leave username and password blank. Select install. A patch will be downloaded on your iphone and will put in the right settings. Just install the patch. The link works on non jailbroken iphones as well and is safe.

Then you can use any plans from vodafone and not stick to the iData pack which is horribly priced. I use the Rs.899 unlimited scheme on my iphone 3GS and also use internet tethering.

edit: the apn changer is www[dot]unlockit[dot]co[dot]nz

Flyingspur: APN is the access point name.

See this link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Access_Point_Name

Last edited by Tejas@perioimpl : 14th October 2010 at 11:57. Reason: see edit
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks