Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th June 2012, 17:29   #4651
Distinguished - BHPian
 
vb-san's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: S'pore/Thrissur
Posts: 4,581
Thanked: 3,482 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajay_satpute
Yawwwwwwwwwnnn... I think I have started to feel stagnated now with the iPhone. But the biggest problem is, what to choose next. Being an Apple lover, don't know which can fit the supreme experience that Apple products give.

Out of all the candidates, I am most impressed with Nokia Lumia 900, which is yet to be launched in India. However, read a new about Nokia somewhere that they are doing really bad. Lack of cash, top exec running away to other big brands, etc.

Any ideas? Probably the wrong thread to ask, but there might at least 5% iPhone users who might be yawning like me.
Ajay, if you yawn with iPhone, you may probably get into deep sleep with the Lumia 900. Don't get me wrong here. I use both iPhone and Windows 7.5 (HTC HD7). The latter is really a breeze to use, but it's so simple that it's easy to get bored pretty fast. Instead of plonking money on Lumia 900, probably it's better to wait for next gen iPhone
vb-san is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 18:33   #4652
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
Slightly OT but I would like to know what are the differences between 300W and 200W models? Say I use it to charge Laptop or to charge camera battery (via battery charger) then which version would be better (or should I say suffice)? I am planning to buy one.
when i bought the Belkin AC/DC () both versions (200w and 300w) were available so i bought the higher capacity one (just in case i had to light up a stadium some day, you know ). nowadays i find only the 200w in retail stores.

a laptop charger has a 65w rating (can go up to maybe 85w); other devices like camera chargers, cellphone chargers and et al consume much less power. hence, a 200w Belkin AC/DC (hehe..) is good enough.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 18:41   #4653
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajay_satpute View Post
Yawwwwwwwwwnnn... I think I have started to feel stagnated now with the iPhone.
If you want the freedom of customizations and if you like to have a different phone within your phone every now and then, then Android is the only answer as of now. Even Windows phone gets you bored very easily. Android has the concept of launchers and there are even launchers which can mimic a Windows phone (Launcher7) or iPhone (MIUI, Go). The scope of customization is not limited to launchers alone, by the way.

Last edited by clevermax : 18th June 2012 at 18:43.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 18:50   #4654
Senior - BHPian
 
coolboy007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,716
Thanked: 1,438 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy007
Just gave a try on getting my phone unlocked by AT&T after reading so many success stories -

Have a white iPhone 4 bought from craigslist jailbroken and running on Gevey in India.

Called the At&T helpline number from skype which wouldnt cost you anything so you can keep calling until you find some one who is willing to help. Got through 2 reps and both said they cant help as i dont have original owner name or number..
Update

Got a mail from At&t the very next morning that my issue hs been resolved so i gave a try after deactivating my iphone with redsnow and after connecting to itunes voila - freedom from Gevey, got factory unlocked.

Its another thing that i sold my phone and shifted to Galaxy note
coolboy007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 21:02   #4655
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Anand, Gujarat / Virginia Beach, US
Posts: 458
Thanked: 176 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F50
I called up Apple Support India and asked to fix my 3GS' display. Im ready to pay charges as its 2 year old.......

......This is bad news if US products cannot be serviced in India. That means my Mac, iPods, iPhones 3GS and 4S, iPad 2 are worthless here?
The policy is only for iPhone and not for any other devices and it is just not India specific. They do not honor the warranty/repair/replace on iPhones anywhere in world if they were bought from different region. It is very well mentioned on their website as well.
All other products carry world wide policy. And it is not just Apple, there are lot of other companies out there following such practice.
Nitrous Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 23:34   #4656
BHPian
 
nkg77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Trivandrum, Kerala
Posts: 233
Thanked: 141 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax

If you want the freedom of customizations and if you like to have a different phone within your phone every now and then, then Android is the only answer as of now. Even Windows phone gets you bored very easily. Android has the concept of launchers and there are even launchers which can mimic a Windows phone (Launcher7) or iPhone (MIUI, Go). The scope of customization is not limited to launchers alone, by the way.
Just jailbreak the iPhone and you can do all of the customisation that you do with Android. I think iPhone/iOS is still the best of the lot. I am able to run iOS 5.1 on my iPhone 3GS, where are Android ICS cannot be run on phones 2-3 years old.
nkg77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2012, 01:16   #4657
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Andromeda
Posts: 311
Thanked: 59 Times
Default Re: iBhp - Think Different (team-bhpians on a Mac)

I have an mp3 that plays for 30 seconds and I want to use it as my ringtone. How do I do that? I tried creating the AAC version but unfortunately was not able to get it to work. Followed the post here but did not work as expected. Is there any other alternative?

Use a song as a ringtone for the iPhone Tech Help
joe1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2012, 07:59   #4658
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,496 Times
Default Re: iBhp - Think Different (team-bhpians on a Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe1980 View Post
I have an mp3 that plays for 30 seconds and I want to use it as my ringtone. How do I do that? I tried creating the AAC version but unfortunately was not able to get it to work. Followed the post here but did not work as expected. Is there any other alternative?

Use a song as a ringtone for the iPhone Tech Help
This is one of things that has been made unnecessarily hard in iPhone for no sane reason. In Android I can just pick a MP3 and make it ringtone. But the above technique works, I remember following the same guide for 3GS. Check your steps. Try making it less than 30 seconds.

Last edited by Samurai : 19th June 2012 at 08:05.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2012, 08:09   #4659
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nkg77

Just jailbreak the iPhone and you can do all of the customisation that you do with Android. I think iPhone/iOS is still the best of the lot. I am able to run iOS 5.1 on my iPhone 3GS, where are Android ICS cannot be run on phones 2-3 years old.
Agree that you can do 'some' level of customizations on iOS after getting out of the jail. But in Android there is no root required and it is relatively easy to do all that.

I want to see a sense weather widget with 3d graphics all over the screen

Last edited by clevermax : 19th June 2012 at 08:21.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2012, 09:05   #4660
Senior - BHPian
 
Sn1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,036
Thanked: 223 Times
Default

Custom ringtone steps: http://www.demogeek.com/2009/07/31/h...o-your-iphone/
Sn1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2012, 10:36   #4661
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Andromeda
Posts: 311
Thanked: 59 Times
Default Re: iBhp - Think Different (team-bhpians on a Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
This is one of things that has been made unnecessarily hard in iPhone for no sane reason. In Android I can just pick a MP3 and make it ringtone. But the above technique works, I remember following the same guide for 3GS. Check your steps. Try making it less than 30 seconds.
In fact I made it less than 30 seconds and it did not help either. I figured out another way of doing it using the garageband app in my MBP. Here is a link to the tutorial and it works like a charm. A bit of work to do but it is worth it. I can now compose the music that I want to have as a ringtone. With garageband, I have the possibility to select the part of the music that I want as a ringtone. Importing the garageband created ringtone in iTunes is as easy as a breeze.

Make A Ringtone With GarageBand | Mac.AppStorm
joe1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2012, 12:31   #4662
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 104
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe1980

In fact I made it less than 30 seconds and it did not help either. I figured out another way of doing it using the garageband app in my MBP. Here is a link to the tutorial and it works like a charm. A bit of work to do but it is worth it. I can now compose the music that I want to have as a ringtone. With garageband, I have the possibility to select the part of the music that I want as a ringtone. Importing the garageband created ringtone in iTunes is as easy as a breeze.

Make A Ringtone With GarageBand | Mac.AppStorm
To set any mp3 as ringtone, do the foll -
1. Select the mp3 in iTunes
2. Create a copy of it and save it to iTunes
3. Under mp3 properties, set start and end time as desired so that the length is less than 30 seconds
4. Now under tools (or similar) select create AAC version
5. On the newly created version, rename it to m4r, then right click in iTunes and set it to type ringtone.

This will work

Last edited by vinod332002 : 19th June 2012 at 12:32.
vinod332002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2012, 23:55   #4663
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,823
Thanked: 213 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

I am using the assistive touch feature and trust me, I have not touched the home button even once in the last few weeks. No idea how the gestures and favourites work on it.

MP3 tone setting can be an irritant, but you do it once and it works. Looks like developers were focused on high end features and they slept over basics.
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2012, 06:34   #4664
BHPian
 
nileshch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BLR / BOM
Posts: 742
Thanked: 365 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mail4ajo
Looks like developers were focused on high end features and they slept over basics.
I can tell you Apple has solid reasons for everything they do or don't do.

Where they have no restrictions, they can go to depths trying to improve the user experience. But where they have limitations, for example, music and related features, they have made it hard for the user to do something if not completely block it.

Here specifically the limitation is their deals with the recording industry in terms of what to allow the user to do. Ringtones are big business for the industry and they don't want to lose that business by making it easy for the user to create and use ringtones on their own.

Same is the case with copying songs on and off iOS devices. It's possible to put freely obtained songs but not easy as pie. Apple, though, has managed to hoodwink the industry into believing that the controls they have put are effective. Not sure if you remember Steve's public appeal to the industry to shun DRM.
nileshch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2012, 12:30   #4665
Senior - BHPian
 
Sn1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,036
Thanked: 223 Times
Default

Hey guys,
I have been warned by mods to not post links to my blog. Thus if you are facing any issue or wants to consult me for iOS device then shoot a PM and I will reply.
Thanks!
Sn1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks