Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th September 2012, 21:14   #5161
BHPian
 
Rachit.K.Dogra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 704
Thanked: 687 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

This works like Google Maps on IOS5? If this works like that I might also think of switching to IOS6.
Rachit.K.Dogra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2012, 21:17   #5162
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 14,295 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Just got kicked up from IP4 (iOS5) to IP5, for the next 15 days. After that I am returning to India, so can't get the AT&T locked phone back home.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2012, 21:18   #5163
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,457
Thanked: 3,614 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachit.K.Dogra View Post
This works like Google Maps on IOS5? If this works like that I might also think of switching to IOS6.
almost! you can get around with it. better than being stuck with Apple Maps

Apple Maps is the only qualm i've with iOS6 on my iP4. if i keep that aside, performance is better, browsing speed is faster (on 3G and WiFi), battery life is better and many more small small improvements.

Last edited by IronH4WK : 25th September 2012 at 21:46.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2012, 22:11   #5164
BHPian
 
nileshch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BLR / BOM
Posts: 743
Thanked: 370 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
almost! you can get around with it. better than being stuck with Apple Maps

Apple Maps is the only qualm i've with iOS6 on my iP4. if i keep that aside, performance is better, browsing speed is faster (on 3G and WiFi), battery life is better and many more small small improvements.
I hope Google submits its Maps app soon (if not already done) and Apple approves it fast. The web-based thing is good for cursory glances when you are at a place. Or to load a pre-saved map from your Google account. Its very painful trying to plot routes on the fly and for turn-by-turn navigation. Native iOS apps are the only way to go!
nileshch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 00:36   #5165
BHPian
 
carfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Udupi
Posts: 559
Thanked: 178 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Will procuring nano sim card in India be an issue?i read somewhere even getting a micro sim (not cut to size by private people but official new ones) is a big issue in India!
carfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 00:46   #5166
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,457
Thanked: 3,614 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carfreak
Will procuring nano sim card in India be an issue?i read somewhere even getting a micro sim (not cut to size by private people but official new ones) is a big issue in India!
It's not there yet, but on its way. Micro SIMs are, as far as I know, available at the the various outlets. I walked into an Airtel outlet and got mine for 25/-.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 01:17   #5167
BHPian
 
YashD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pune, Kolkata
Posts: 301
Thanked: 262 Times
Default

Do i have to take a new connection for getting the Nano or can I get two sim cards one for my 3GS and one for the iPhone 5?
YashD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 01:19   #5168
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,896
Thanked: 2,477 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by YashD View Post
Do i have to take a new connection for getting the Nano or can I get two sim cards one for my 3GS and one for the iPhone 5?
I don't think you can have two Sim cards for one number.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 01:22   #5169
BHPian
 
YashD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pune, Kolkata
Posts: 301
Thanked: 262 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat

I don't think you can have two Sim cards for one number.
Then this could be an issue and that too a serious one. Need to check out a vodafone dealer now.
YashD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 07:11   #5170
BHPian
 
nileshch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BLR / BOM
Posts: 743
Thanked: 370 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YashD

Then this could be an issue and that too a serious one. Need to check out a vodafone dealer now.
Nano SIM cards come with an adapter (atleast in US) that converts them into micro or normal SIM cards. So this should not be an issue!
nileshch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 07:52   #5171
BHPian
 
ariendj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 503
Thanked: 79 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Prices on ebay for Iphone 5
Attached Thumbnails
The iPhone Thread-capture.png  

ariendj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 08:05   #5172
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 4,115
Thanked: 3,489 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YashD
Do i have to take a new connection for getting the Nano or can I get two sim cards one for my 3GS and one for the iPhone 5?
This is not possible.
Dont know about the technicality, which also accounts for it, but also due to legal issues.

Last edited by mayankk : 26th September 2012 at 08:07.
mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 08:21   #5173
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,457
Thanked: 3,614 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ariendj
Prices on ebay for Iphone 5
You gotsa be kidding me! A lakh for a phone! put little more money and you can get a CBR!!
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 08:26   #5174
BHPian
 
Parthasarathig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pothole-city
Posts: 878
Thanked: 489 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

basically why does apple charge so much for each gb? The three phones have every component same. WHy the high price for the memory?:( what is so special in it?
Parthasarathig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 10:00   #5175
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,457
Thanked: 3,614 Times
Default re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parthasarathig View Post
basically why does apple charge so much for each gb? The three phones have every component same. WHy the high price for the memory?:( what is so special in it?
you're forgetting the core ingredient in their memory - apples! hence the pumped up price
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:03.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks