Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd October 2013, 19:33   #6481
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,455
Thanked: 3,580 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
Hawk, have you tried the restore as new phone, and then the restore backup?
Also, you can try this option :

Backup data to itunes, then go to Settings -> General -> Reset -> Erase all content and settings. Then setup as new iPhone, connect to iTunes and do a restore from backup.

Have been told this should help improve the performance, Do try and let me know.
yes Benny, twice. doesn't help.

lemme give you and example, RR3 is a very memory intensive game, but used to play properly on iOS 6.1.3 (albeit lesser graphics). in iOS 7, the car stutters and some part of the game play it moves frame by frame literally! other things like Messaging, Mail, App Store, Safari etc. take their own time to load and take a few seconds before i can interact with them.

when the OS itself is resource hungry, what will the apps get to use on a single core 800Mhz processor and 512MB RAM!

another issue i'm experiencing is that the touch sensitivity is messed up on the lock screen. from the lock screen, getting the Camera is a task in itself. i swipe and swipe, but the screen doesn't roll up! i've given up on this

if i take it to the Apple service center will they restore iOS 6.1.3 for me? even if i'm willing to pay for it?
IronH4WK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 20:00   #6482
Senior - BHPian
 
ashis89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,277
Thanked: 985 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post

another issue i'm experiencing is that the touch sensitivity is messed up on the lock screen. from the lock screen, getting the Camera is a task in itself. i swipe and swipe, but the screen doesn't roll up! i've given up on this

if i take it to the Apple service center will they restore iOS 6.1.3 for me? even if i'm willing to pay for it?
Even I am facing touch sensitivity problems, the only difference is that I have an iPhone 5 . Sometimes I have to swipe the screen 7-8 times to receive a call. Similarly multiple taps are required to launch an app/use the control centre. These happen so randomly that I am sure I won't be able to reproduce it in the service center.

Apart from this, the problem of phone hanging in the locked screen continues as well.
ashis89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 20:08   #6483
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,455
Thanked: 3,580 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

a new problem has cropped up from the past couple of days. in the Updates section of App Store, the apps show up for which updates are available. in iOS 6.1.3 (and before) the updates used to complete and when the next time you open App Store, those apps don't show up.

however, i see that for the past couple of days (even if i force close App Store and restart) the apps that have been updated still show in the updates list - instead of Update, there is Open button next to them.

what gives?
IronH4WK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 20:26   #6484
Senior - BHPian
 
ashis89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,277
Thanked: 985 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

This is normal in the new iTunes because I have been seeing this right from the beginning. All my previous updates and also new software installs are shown with an "Open" option by it.
ashis89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 21:40   #6485
BHPian
 
ThePunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: TN-22 / KL-53
Posts: 105
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Yes this is a feature, and I actually like it. It gives a history of recent updates that is handy. Moreover the available updates now also show the size of the update which also is nice to have.

I use the control center much and this will be the only feature that I will miss if I have an opportunity to downgrade, due to these issues like no swipe response for attending a call, lengthier launch time for some apps etc which I too am tired of. I also feel the new ring tones, or the sound as such in general for speaker has come down
ThePunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 22:30   #6486
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,455
Thanked: 3,580 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
This is normal in the new iTunes because I have been seeing this right from the beginning. All my previous updates and also new software installs are shown with an "Open" option by it.
this started showing up only after i disabled Updates under Settings > Itunes & App Store > Automatic Downloads.
IronH4WK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 22:54   #6487
Senior - BHPian
 
ashis89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,277
Thanked: 985 Times
Default

Even I have also disabled the same but I don't remember if this appeared before or after I disabled it.
ashis89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 23:18   #6488
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 146
Thanked: 17 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

I have os7 on iphone 5. At home I am having to add my wifi network manually every time in spite of ask to join networks not being engaged

Any suggestions on what I need to do
amidoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 23:31   #6489
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,455
Thanked: 3,580 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amidoc View Post
I have os7 on iphone 5. At home I am having to add my wifi network manually every time in spite of ask to join networks not being engaged Any suggestions on what I need to do
That's news! Is this a unsecured network you're using? Also, did you use this network when setting up your phone?

I've a Linksys router modem running WPA2 and my phone doesn't seem to have a problem joining it; switch on the wi-fi and it joins automatically.

I don't have problem with home network, but in office network it would always ask for the password in iOS 6.1.3, which I found annoying. In iOS 7 however I found that it still asks me, but saves the password (I don't have to type it again) so I've to just click Proceed to join the network.
IronH4WK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 01:22   #6490
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,253 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Received a mail from Blackberry announcing the launch of BBM for the iOS and Android platforms complete with download, install and setup instructions. Anyone tried it yet.
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 01:28   #6491
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hibbing, MN
Posts: 73
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by amidoc View Post
I have os7 on iphone 5. At home I am having to add my wifi network manually every time in spite of ask to join networks not being engaged

Any suggestions on what I need to do
Do you have a lot of devices that use your router?

I had this problem when i had many devices connected. You can reset the router and connect the Iphone first to the WiFi. that solved my issue
Diamond_dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 01:30   #6492
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 8,012
Thanked: 3,455 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
if i take it to the Apple service center will they restore iOS 6.1.3 for me? even if i'm willing to pay for it?
I don't think they would do that for you, since the iOS6 is no longer officially supported by Apple. :( Looks like the iPhone 4 is the one which has not taken too well to the upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
a new problem has cropped up from the past couple of days. in the Updates section of App Store, the apps show up for which updates are available. in iOS 6.1.3 (and before) the updates used to complete and when the next time you open App Store, those apps don't show up.

however, i see that for the past couple of days (even if i force close App Store and restart) the apps that have been updated still show in the updates list - instead of Update, there is Open button next to them.

what gives?
This is expected behavior, i am told. It shows you a list of all updates installed and available for updates.
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 07:09   #6493
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,455
Thanked: 3,580 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond_dawg View Post
Do you have a lot of devices that use your router? I had this problem when i had many devices connected. You can reset the router and connect the Iphone first to the WiFi. that solved my issue
I don't think that's the problem. I have 2 iPhones, 2 laptops, 1 desktop, 1 printer, 1 Apple TV and a Bravia connecting to my router and I've never faced issues with automatic connectivity.

Was is connecting automatically earlier with iOS 6?
IronH4WK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 08:31   #6494
BHPian
 
satyamkaushik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 264
Thanked: 103 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
Received a mail from Blackberry announcing the launch of BBM for the iOS and Android platforms complete with download, install and setup instructions. Anyone tried it yet.
I m using BBM for the past whole month now.
The app is smooth on my 4s. Rather i found it much better than what's app in terms of the delivery speed of the messages & the over all interface & feel of the app.
Till now no issues at all.
Attached Images
 
satyamkaushik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 11:09   #6495
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,455
Thanked: 3,580 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

can it be? iOS 7 made using MS Word? maybe that's why it goes kaput, ja?

IronH4WK is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks