Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th December 2013, 11:29   #6601
BHPian
 
sourav9385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, U.K
Posts: 431
Thanked: 718 Times
Default

Hey folks!

I don't think the LTE symbol was enabled for me before.
Anyone has this enabled? Till a few days ago, the LTE option used to say 3G.
But the Airtel symbol still shows 3G even if I enable the LTE option.


Name:  image1983301422.jpg
Views: 751
Size:  129.5 KB


Any clues?
sourav9385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2013, 16:08   #6602
BHPian
 
manas27587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 145
Thanked: 55 Times
Default

Mine got activated yesterday as well.
Attached Images
 
manas27587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2013, 07:17   #6603
BHPian
 
treadmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 355
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sourav9385 View Post
Hey folks! I don't think the LTE symbol was enabled for me before. Anyone has this enabled? Till a few days ago, the LTE option used to say 3G. But the Airtel symbol still shows 3G even if I enable the LTE option. Any clues?
Quote:
Originally Posted by manas27587 View Post
Mine got activated yesterday as well.
I can see you guys are from Chennai and Mumbai respectively. I'm using Airtel at Bangalore but still it shows 3G for me. Couple of months back,I was told in one of the Airtel outlets Bangalore will be the first city to get Airtel 4G connections for mobile. They have 4G wireless internet for last 1 year in Bangalore.
I don't think this has nothing to do with phone software updates as I was using LTE while at US when I had iOS 6 last year.
Had you received any career updates recently?

Cheers!
treadmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2013, 08:55   #6604
BHPian
 
manas27587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 145
Thanked: 55 Times
Default

Yes it was a carrier update.
manas27587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2013, 09:20   #6605
BHPian
 
Saanil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 364
Thanked: 170 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Hi Guys,

Is Iphone 5S readily available in stores in Mumbai? I see that Flipkart does not have Iphone 5S on its website. Just wanted to know where can I get 5S in Mumbai? Will Apple stores have it or do we have waiting periods in mobiles also these days?
Saanil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2013, 19:50   #6606
BHPian
 
vishaltanksale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 153
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saanil View Post
Hi Guys, Is Iphone 5S readily available in stores in Mumbai? I see that Flipkart does not have Iphone 5S on its website. Just wanted to know where can I get 5S in Mumbai? Will Apple stores have it or do we have waiting periods in mobiles also these days?
I think it should be with 1-2 days waiting. I got my gold in Nov in 5 days.
vishaltanksale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2013, 11:18   #6607
BHPian
 
dre@ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singara Chennai
Posts: 492
Thanked: 114 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

I got the LTE option displayed as well after the carrier update. But even though I select it, only 3G shows up. Should we subscribe for a 4G connection or something?
dre@ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2013, 11:29   #6608
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Home
Posts: 179
Thanked: 104 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dre@ms View Post
I got the LTE option displayed as well after the carrier update. But even though I select it, only 3G shows up. Should we subscribe for a 4G connection or something?
The iPhones sold in India can not use the frequency band used by the operators here.
Recompose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2013, 11:37   #6609
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,582
Thanked: 7,059 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

I got the update sometime on saturday, it still shows 3G that means in Bangalore wher i am, LTE is not yet active or under test.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2013, 22:44   #6610
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOIDA, Manchester & Cardiff
Posts: 565
Thanked: 42 Times
Default Can IP 5S (UK) be unlocked in India

I am in UK currently and my son is offering me either IP4S, 5 and new 5S, all UK locked. I have been using IP4 since long and this phone will be for my wife. Which of the above can be easily unlocked in India? Though I am keen on new 5S but am very doubtful of getting it unlocked in India.

Can anyone please also advise a reliable unlocking center in Delhi / Noida and approximate charges. Can I get it unlocked from Apple shops? Please advise quickly as I am leaving tomorrow.

Thanks
akj53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2013, 10:33   #6611
BHPian
 
Gokrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chennai and AR
Posts: 290
Thanked: 157 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akj53 View Post
I am in UK currently and my son is offering me either IP4S, 5 and new 5S, all UK locked. I have been using IP4 since long and this phone will be for my wife. Which of the above can be easily unlocked in India? Though I am keen on new 5S but am very doubtful of getting it unlocked in India.

Can anyone please also advise a reliable unlocking center in Delhi / Noida and approximate charges. Can I get it unlocked from Apple shops? Please advise quickly as I am leaving tomorrow.

Thanks
Whether these phones are under contract or is the contract period over? Depending on the reply, iphones upto 4s can be unlocked. Applenberry is offereing this unlock for $20. Though iphone 5 can be unlocked, it is temporarily unavailable. Check the IMEI no of the phone with this site for possibility of iPhone 4S unlock.
Gokrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2013, 10:52   #6612
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,494
Thanked: 714 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

LTE bands are fragmented. Iphone hence has many versions for different countries for respective bands. Qualcomm has just come up with a chipset that should enable to use 40 different bands on the same phone. Still some way to go for it to appear on iphones.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2013, 06:28   #6613
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Guys I am moving from Android to IOS. This will be my first iphone. I have found the ways of transfering contacts and messages from android to iphone on net. The problem is that I am not able to fond a way to transfer my whatsapp messages from my android phone to Iphone. Is there any way to transfer the messages? Ha anyone done this? Please help.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2013, 14:11   #6614
BHPian
 
Arunshek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Heilbronn, DE
Posts: 66
Thanked: 36 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Guys I am moving from Android to IOS. This will be my first iphone. I have found the ways of transfering contacts and messages from android to iphone on net. The problem is that I am not able to fond a way to transfer my whatsapp messages from my android phone to Iphone. Is there any way to transfer the messages? Ha anyone done this? Please help.
For starters, You can email the conversations to your inbox.
I don't think we can nor whatsapp server pushes all delivered messages again
Arunshek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2013, 15:03   #6615
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arunshek View Post
For starters, You can email the conversations to your inbox.
I don't think we can nor whatsapp server pushes all delivered messages again
Could you please explain how to send the messages to inbox?
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks