Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th October 2014, 16:22   #7306
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Yup 1524 6+ & 1586 for 6, this is the model and it was mentioned as available in the countries i quoted. This info was from apple site, country vs model available https://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
You're right - pleasantly surprised that they're selling this 'all inclusive' model in countries that don't have a TDD network.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2014, 18:51   #7307
BHPian
 
treadmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 338
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Singapore/HK/Dubai iphones wont work on India's 2300 mhz TDD-LTE (Band 40) operations. Perhaps some HK operators phones MIGHT - but you have to be very careful of the model number. It has to be A1524.

The only models that are likely to support our existing LTE networks will be those meant for China since most Chinese operators are on LTE Band 41 (2500 mhz TDD-LTE), and some of them also offer Band 40 (same as Ind).

This will continue to be the case for most phones (not just iPhones) until our operators move to 1800 mhz FD-LTE (Band 3) which is used by a majority of operators worldwide.

So will the iPhone 6 / 6+ selling now in India will be compatible when our operators move to 1800 mhz FD-LTE (Band 3)?

My question may be noob, I'm not good in telecommunications.

Cheers!
treadmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2014, 19:06   #7308
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by treadmark View Post
So will the iPhone 6 / 6+ selling now in India will be compatible when our operators move to 1800 mhz FD-LTE (Band 3)?

My question may be noob, I'm not good in telecommunications.

Cheers!
Read the link Jaggu has posted - if the model sold is a 1524/1586 GSM (which is apparently the model for the 'rest of the world' - the other two models are US-specific), they support the following bands:

1 (2100 MHz)
2 (1900 MHz)
3 (1800 MHz)
4 (AWS)
5 (850 MHz)
7 (2600 MHz)
8 (900 MHz)
13 (700c MHz)
17 (700b MHz)
18 (800 MHz)
19 (800 MHz)
20 (800 DD)
25 (1900 MHz)
26 (800 MHz)
28 (700 APT MHz)
29 (700 de MHz)
38 (TD 2600)
39 (TD 1900)
40 (TD 2300)
41 (TD 2500)

Therefore the answer would be 'Yes'.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2014, 01:57   #7309
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,162
Thanked: 706 Times
Default The iPhone Thread

Anyone else facing problems with iMessage on the iPhone 6 ?

I received my phone today through Infibeam. iMessage and FaceTime aren't getting activated. Tried all the usual tricks. Nothing's working


Sent from my mobile phone , please excuse typos
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2014, 07:26   #7310
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedsatya View Post
Anyone else facing problems with iMessage on the iPhone 6 ?

I received my phone today through Infibeam. iMessage and FaceTime aren't getting activated. Tried all the usual tricks. Nothing's working


Sent from my mobile phone , please excuse typos

I had problems activating iMessage on my 5S running 8.0.2; took a couple of tries before it got activated.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2014, 09:26   #7311
BHPian
 
AZ911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 90
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedsatya View Post
Anyone else facing problems with iMessage on the iPhone 6 ?

I received my phone today through Infibeam. iMessage and FaceTime aren't getting activated. Tried all the usual tricks. Nothing's working


Sent from my mobile phone , please excuse typos

Guess you could wait for a couple of days for 8.1 update and then check. I suspect it comes with 8.0.2?
AZ911 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2014, 18:37   #7312
BHPian
 
satan's_valet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: TN09/KA04
Posts: 296
Thanked: 145 Times
Default

Guys, Need your suggestions on a fuel calculating/mileage checking app for iphone. I used Fuellog on my galaxy S3 (which worked like a charm), but am not able to find a similar app for ios.
satan's_valet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2014, 18:42   #7313
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satan's_valet View Post
Guys, Need your suggestions on a fuel calculating/mileage checking app for iphone. I used Fuellog on my galaxy S3 (which worked like a charm), but am not able to find a similar app for ios.

I think there is FuelLog for iOS too. Remember seeing in the AppStore, not sure if it's the same one you used on Android.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2014, 19:45   #7314
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 562
Thanked: 117 Times
Default

Hi, has anyone tried the t-mobile iPhone 6 in India so yet?
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2014, 19:49   #7315
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

i guess someone wasn't impressed with the iPhone 6. saw an ad for iPhone 6 16GB in Second To None on Facebook

one of the questions was - is it bent?
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2014, 01:28   #7316
BHPian
 
AZ911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 90
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Got a 6 plus 64 gig model. Anyone facing issues with 3G usage? Somehow 1.5 gb of my data got used up in a day when I barely downloaded stuff for 300-400 mb. Automatic update of apps was off. Any ideas?
AZ911 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2014, 08:47   #7317
BHPian
 
amanomics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 118
Thanked: 80 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

"Camera Roll" is back !! Youtube progress bar issue is also sorted.

P.S.- "Recently Added" was a stupid idea IMO.
amanomics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2014, 10:52   #7318
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ911 View Post
Got a 6 plus 64 gig model. Anyone facing issues with 3G usage? Somehow 1.5 gb of my data got used up in a day when I barely downloaded stuff for 300-400 mb. Automatic update of apps was off. Any ideas?

See, I told you I wasn't the only one!

Most of the time I use WiFi, either at home or office, but my 3G usage was showing more than 850MB (of my 1GB limit) within a couple of days of upgrading my 5S to 8!

Like you said, auto update was disabled, so what consumed the data?

Last edited by IronH4WK : 21st October 2014 at 10:53.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2014, 10:55   #7319
BHPian
 
satan's_valet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: TN09/KA04
Posts: 296
Thanked: 145 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
See, I told you I wasn't the only one!

Most of the time I use WiFi, either at home or office, but my 3G usage was showing more than 850MB (of my 1GB limit) within a couple of days of upgrading my 5S to 8!

Like you said, auto update was disabled, so what consumed the data?

What about Background App Refresh?? Is it turned On?? I found that in my phone it was using lots of data n consuming battery as well..
satan's_valet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2014, 11:00   #7320
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by satan's_valet View Post
What about Background App Refresh?? Is it turned On?? I found that in my phone it was using lots of data n consuming battery as well..
it is disabled now. however, how much of background refresh will happen to cause this much of data usage? it's not like i've installed SETI's app on the phone
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks