Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st May 2015, 16:11   #7771
BHPian
 
sourav9385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, U.K
Posts: 436
Thanked: 729 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nileshch View Post
...If it is anything else, then the Indian LTE bands are not supported on your phone.
It says A1530.

So you're suggesting that if my phone's model number is anything but A1532, it won't support LTE in India?

Something tells me that can't be right. I spoke with Airtel Customer Care, and they said something about 4G in Chennai not being fully operational at this time. So maybe I need to wait.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
i gots A1530 and i gots LTE
That's great to know. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arjun Reddy View Post
I don't think you get 4G cellular services in chennai. I am from Bangalore and when i visit chennai I only get 3G services. Check with your operator.
Yep, I am with you on that mate.

Thing is, lotsa fanfare in Chennai right now with Airtel delivering 4G capable sim cards to your doorstep in order for customers to get ready for 4G launch.

I jumped on it as well, and was wondering why I am not able to get LTE on my phone.

Seems like I need to wait till 4G is fully operational in Chennai.
sourav9385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2015, 17:47   #7772
BHPian
 
nileshch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BLR / BOM
Posts: 743
Thanked: 370 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
i gots A1530 and i gots LTE
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourav9385 View Post
It says A1530.
My bad, I looked up the wrong model . It needs to be A1530. I meant, iphones bought outside India will not work with the Indian LTE bands.
nileshch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2015, 10:34   #7773
BHPian
 
Pancham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 844
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Mine is bought in India. It's A1586
Pancham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2015, 11:59   #7774
Senior - BHPian
 
Rahulkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,265
Thanked: 568 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Not related to iphones but Airtel LTE in chennai is working fine from yesterday evening on my oneplus one. I got the sim 2 days back and it worked few times if i manually selected airtel network. From yesterday evening its on LTE network but speeds are not very good ~10mbps upload and download.

Last edited by Rahulkool : 22nd May 2015 at 12:02.
Rahulkool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2015, 12:08   #7775
BHPian
 
treadmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 403
Thanked: 184 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
I tried it too and saw LTE for 2 seconds before it changed back to 3G. I believe as usual their infrastructure is not ready completely and this may work good in some parts of chennai than other...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arjun Reddy View Post
I don't think you get 4G cellular services in chennai. I am from Bangalore and when i visit chennai I only get 3G services. Check with your operator.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourav9385 View Post
Thing is, lotsa fanfare in Chennai right now with Airtel delivering 4G capable sim cards to your doorstep in order for customers to get ready for 4G launch.

I jumped on it as well, and was wondering why I am not able to get LTE on my phone.

Seems like I need to wait till 4G is fully operational in Chennai.
I was in Chennai from 15 May till 18 May, LTE worked like a charm for me. I spent my time predominantly at Tambaram, Parrys and OMR (Perungudi). When I checked the speed couple of times the average download speed was 10 Mbps and download was 5 Mbps. Believe me the networks was steady in LTE whenever I switched ON my Cellular Data.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Mine is bought in India. It's A1586
Even mine is A1586 hence you'll be able to access 4G.

Cheers!
treadmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2015, 12:27   #7776
BHPian
 
sourav9385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, U.K
Posts: 436
Thanked: 729 Times
Default

Whelp!

I'm on LTE as well, effective this morning.

Speed is good, pings are much lower, and connection is far more stable than it ever was on 3G.

Just hope this sweet sailing lasts. Here's the speed I'm getting.

The iPhone Thread-imageuploadedbyteambhp1432277829.743705.jpg
sourav9385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2015, 21:39   #7777
Senior - BHPian
 
aks_karthik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,863
Thanked: 215 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

At last i too got LTE on my iPhone 5s.
Though the speed is not remarkable due to the place (medavakkam) where i live.
Normally we won't get proper signal itself

The iPhone Thread-11295815_972462286139288_6370575368620570699_n.jpg
aks_karthik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2015, 23:45   #7778
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Montreal, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked: 28 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

I hope those speeds improve, current 3G speeds seem faster than the LTE.
sweetvar26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2015, 13:57   #7779
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 254
Thanked: 112 Times
Default

Got 4g on my ip6 plus and speeds at home are hovering at 6mbps and in office around 9.5mbps. Chennai - Anna nagar and Ambattur are the areas I tried.
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2015, 06:44   #7780
Senior - BHPian
 
ecenandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Guruvayoor/Chen
Posts: 1,024
Thanked: 1,471 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Anyone using Google photo app, I find it very useful. I have uploaded all the photos I took since 2010. As long as I have internet connection, I can view any of those pics. And at last, I have deleted most of my Albums from Photos.

And BTW, if you let google compress the pics you wanted to upload, you will get unlimited storage. Anyway, I got a backup on my computer and also on Google drive.

Give it a try, if your iCoud is short on storage space.
ecenandu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2015, 10:41   #7781
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 254
Thanked: 112 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecenandu View Post
Anyone using Google photo app, I find it very useful.

And BTW, if you let google compress the pics you wanted to upload, you will get unlimited storage.

Will check it out, thanks! I have been using google drive and paying for some 20gb storage too. My pics are at 170Gb now and I have it on three NAS hard drives copied as well as one external her. Makes sense if this app allows unlimited storage. Uploading will be a challenge I guess!

Last edited by benbsb29 : 5th June 2015 at 11:27. Reason: Fixed broken quote tag.
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2015, 00:51   #7782
Senior - BHPian
 
ecenandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Guruvayoor/Chen
Posts: 1,024
Thanked: 1,471 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
Will check it out, thanks! I have been using google drive and paying for some 20gb storage too. My pics are at 170Gb now and I have it on three NAS hard drives copied as well as one external her. Makes sense if this app allows unlimited storage. Uploading will be a challenge I guess!
Yes mate, it will be. Its not 100% smooth now, plenty of times uploading got failed during the processing phase. I think, the photos gets uploaded to the cloud only when all the photos you selected are uploaded and then compressed.

I got only 25 GB photos, so it was pretty fast at least here in Sweden.
ecenandu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2015, 23:06   #7783
BHPian
 
manas27587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 144
Thanked: 55 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

My iPhone 5c suddenly now shows searching.
This is with or without a simcard inside

I have checked online and it says its a problem with the antenna or the power supply to the baseband.

Does anyone know of good repair shops in Mumbai or a workaround this?
manas27587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2015, 02:21   #7784
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,038
Thanked: 681 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by manas27587 View Post
My iPhone 5c suddenly now shows searching.
This is with or without a simcard inside

I have checked online and it says its a problem with the antenna or the power supply to the baseband.

Does anyone know of good repair shops in Mumbai or a workaround this?
Canara Telecom in Manish Market, Crawford market. Go to the first floor and head to the rear of the building. Only does Apple and high end phones. Air conditioned shop, very neat and tidy. You need to stand outside the shop at the counter while you can see the technician working inside through the glass partition.

There's also one shop in Heera Panna, forget the shop number, but its a small repair setup in the loft of one of the shops. Little pricey, but does a decent enough job, especially in screen repairs etc. Not so proficient on software issues though.

If you're in New Bombay, there's Kaizer Telecom in Jai Jawan Building, Vashi.

Have used all 3 of these guys numerous times and would recommend either Canara or Kaizer. Hope it helps.
Lalvaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2015, 13:43   #7785
Senior - BHPian
 
ajay_satpute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,803
Thanked: 1,349 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

I am about to purchase iPhone 6 plus. Flipkart/Amazon have good discounts. However, when I called up Apple India CC, they said that only infibeam.com is an authorised online reseller.

Even the Apple India official website says the same. But I for one, don't like this practise and secondly, Apple is losing lots of customers this way.

Has anyone bought iPhone from Flipkart/Amazon and has Apple service centre accepted their phone for repairs, etc?
ajay_satpute is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks