Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th January 2016, 17:48   #8566
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 398
Thanked: 80 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1lokesh View Post
There is no one offering VoLTE in India as of today, except for Jio which is only for their employees.

None of the Apple phones, including 6, 6s, 6+ or 6s+ support VoLTE in India.

The VoLTE band is 2300Mhz, also known as band40
I was talking about iPhone support for VoLTE in general. IMO band has nothing to do with VoLTE. It can be implemented in any LTE bands.
bhp_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 18:01   #8567
Senior - BHPian
 
planet_rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bong-land
Posts: 2,320
Thanked: 362 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
iPhone 5S purchased in India does support LTE (available in India). you can use it if you're an Airtel customer as they're the only ones having 4G band (correct me if i'm wrong).

iPhone 5S purchased in India does support LTE.

Vodafone has launched 4G recently in some states. I have been using Vodafone 4G in Kolkata since the day it was launched here

The iPhone Thread-imageuploadedbyteambhp1454070703.688090.jpg
planet_rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 18:22   #8568
Senior - BHPian
 
ashis89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,137
Thanked: 737 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by planet_rocker View Post
iPhone 5S purchased in India does support LTE.

Vodafone has launched 4G recently in some states. I have been using Vodafone 4G in Kolkata since the day it was launched here

Attachment 1466217
Exactly my point of view. I have Airtel 4G sim in my iPhone 5(which is even older than the 5s). Depending on the network availability in different ares of Hyderabad, I do get 4G or LTE signals in my phone.
ashis89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 18:33   #8569
BHPian
 
roamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 64
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

LTE will be supported by all phones mentioned as 4G/ LTE. Even iphone 5s has LTE support. But not necessarily they will support VoLTE. Currently only few handsets has this support and Apple is yet to be part of it .
Maybe later on they might do a software update and enable it.
roamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 21:26   #8570
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 123 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1lokesh View Post
There is no one offering VoLTE in India as of today, except for Jio which is only for their employees.

None of the Apple phones, including 6, 6s, 6+ or 6s+ support VoLTE in India.

The VoLTE band is 2300Mhz, also known as band40
You seem to be right.

I was asking if 5S will be able to ride on Jio through VoLTE after it is launched.

I am sure that 6 and above can.

Any idea?
skdking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 10:51   #8571
BHPian
 
nileshch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BLR / BOM
Posts: 742
Thanked: 365 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

In the market for an iPhone 6S. So want to confirm a couple of facts:

Can anybody confirm if the iPhone 6S/6S+ sold in india is model no A1688/A1687 ?

Apparently this is the global iPhone and available in US with Tmobile, Sprint and Verizon unlocked. If the model number is same, should not have an issue with getting LTE signal in India.

I am interested in this as the higher capacity models are way cheaper in US than in India.
nileshch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 11:18   #8572
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 247
Thanked: 110 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nileshch View Post
In the market for an iPhone 6S. So want to confirm a couple of facts.
on a related topic, my iPhone 6 Plus is from the US and works just fine with LTE in India. I had purchased it from an Apple Store in Chicago, with Apple care additionally.
diyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 12:24   #8573
BHPian
 
nileshch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BLR / BOM
Posts: 742
Thanked: 365 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
on a related topic, my iPhone 6 Plus is from the US and works just fine with LTE in India. I had purchased it from an Apple Store in Chicago, with Apple care additionally.
Good to hear! What's your model number? A1524?
nileshch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 12:36   #8574
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 247
Thanked: 110 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nileshch View Post
Good to hear! What's your model number? A1524?
where do I check this? In settings->About it says MGAK2LL/A
In Lirum it says A1522/A1524/A1593
diyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 16:24   #8575
BHPian
 
nileshch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BLR / BOM
Posts: 742
Thanked: 365 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
where do I check this? In settings->About it says MGAK2LL/A
In Lirum it says A1522/A1524/A1593
Its on the back side of the phone. In fine print.
nileshch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 16:28   #8576
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 247
Thanked: 110 Times
Default The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nileshch View Post
Its on the back side of the phone. In fine print.
I have a black tempered glass on it and cannot get to it. The box says A1524.
Attachment 1466430
diyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 21:08   #8577
BHPian
 
1lokesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: MP-09, MH-02,
Posts: 211
Thanked: 354 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
You seem to be right.

I was asking if 5S will be able to ride on Jio through VoLTE after it is launched.

I am sure that 6 and above can.

Any idea?

5s will not be able to ride on Jio at least for another couple of years. Reason being that 5s doesn't support 2300mhz band which is primary spectrum being used by Jio. Later they might roll out back haul of 1800mhz which is compatible with 5s.

6 and above can, but only data as of now for Jio. For voice, which is VoLTE only for Jio, Apple will have to release a software update.
1lokesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 23:01   #8578
BHPian
 
nileshch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BLR / BOM
Posts: 742
Thanked: 365 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
I have a black tempered glass on it and cannot get to it. The box says A1524.
Attachment 1466430
Thanks for checking! That is helpful -- looks like there is no risk buying the 6S from the US.
nileshch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 23:17   #8579
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 247
Thanked: 110 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nileshch View Post
Thanks for checking! That is helpful -- looks like there is no risk buying the 6S from the US.
prior to this, I had purchased second hand iPhone 3 and 5 from the US and they worked great. I had got new iPhone 4 from Singapore and no issues whatsoever. I recently unlocked an AT&T locked iPhone 4, which I was only using for my US trips via an Internet unlocking site and this worked brilliantly as well. It was idling in my cupboard for the past 4 years. This was network locked and again no issues with Indian carriers, though not LTE.
diyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 00:53   #8580
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,581
Thanked: 3,241 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

After reading another trash android vs iOS comparison blog, I decided to put up my own experience. Hope it is useful to anyone considering iOS in the future!
http://freerider.in/blog/six-months-...-with-android/
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:43.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks