Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th October 2016, 20:32   #9421
BHPian
 
Samba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 862
Thanked: 4,618 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sairamboko View Post
@Samba me too. Ordered the 6s plus 16gb for 48k. After that price shot to 52k. Its a good deal.
Thanks, fingers crossed till i get the delivery. Once i get it will update. Till then what am doing are :
Taking a full back up of my current i-phone in i-Tunes.
Before handing over my current phone, will factory reset the phone and hand over.
Will sync the new phone with my current i-tunes back up so i hope i can get all my data transferred.
Is that okay or am i missing out anything?

Edit : Am not a very tech savvy guy, so bothering with simple questions.

Last edited by Samba : 6th October 2016 at 20:37.
Samba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2016, 20:40   #9422
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hosur
Posts: 396
Thanked: 304 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samba View Post
Thanks, fingers crossed till i get the delivery. Once i get it will update. Till then what am doing are :
Taking a full back up of my current i-phone in i-Tunes.
Before handing over my current phone, will factory reset the phone and hand over.
Will sync the new phone with my current i-tunes back up so i hope i can get all my data transferred.
Is that okay or am i missing out anything?

Edit : Am not a very tech savvy guy, so bothering with simple questions.
That should be fine. When you get your 6s update to ios 10 and then factory reset it and then restore the itunes backup.
sairamboko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2016, 20:49   #9423
BHPian
 
Samba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 862
Thanked: 4,618 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sairamboko View Post
That should be fine. When you get your 6s update to ios 10 and then factory reset it and then restore the itunes backup.
Thanks a lot. Will do so. Updated my Iphone 5 to IOS 10.0.2 few days back. Its quite good. Will update the 6S to the same too.
Samba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2016, 23:32   #9424
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Gurgaon/Raipur
Posts: 199
Thanked: 408 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puneet.S View Post
Are you sure? Asking because - my wife pre-ordered a Jet Black IP7 Plus at a Delhi Apple store on the day pre-bookings opened and she has received a call today informing that there will be no Jet Black phones available tomorrow at any Apple store (as none were shipped by Apple in the first lot) and we may have to wait till the second lot hits the stores...

Well , if such a thing happens then hard luck for all of us. But whenever the Jet Black comes, whatever limited quantity in that particular store, I will get one immediately.

I did call up the guy after reading your post and he said he can only confirm by 6pm tomorrow. I'm not too optimistic though.

Let's wait and watch, although you should check your booking reference number for the serial number allotted to you. Maybe they are saying so because they will not get that many jet black ones.

The queue number are the first few digits, after which the date of booking is mentioned.

Btw did they give any idea when the second lot might arrive?
akhil994 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 12:09   #9425
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 138
Thanked: 14 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by amidoc View Post
Yes you can. Just placed my order for a Iphone 7 plus 128 GB black and exchanged my Iphone 6. Cash of 10 k will be refunded in Jan 17.
Delivery from flipkart was originally scheduled for today between 7 and 10 pm but now has been scheduled for tomorrow.

Since i have to hand my old iphone 6 will have to wipe the phone clean and keep it ready. Once i wipe my old phone can i still use it with my existing sim card or i will have to be without a phone for a while.
amidoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 12:35   #9426
Senior - BHPian
 
ashis89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,211
Thanked: 833 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

I have been facing a peculiar problem on my 5s with Airtel 4G sim since yesterday. The network just disappears and shows "No Service". At other times, if I connect my laptop to set up a hotspot, I get full speed 4G connection with a 4G/3G symbol, but not a single network bar. I can't make a single call during these times. If someone tries calling my number, it says Switched Off. It self corrects after switching off/on a few times or toggling the Flight Mode.

The problem is I came down to Bhubaneswar from Hyderabad for a few days and have started experiencing this. I am unable to figure out if its a network problem/software problem/hardware problem.

Has anyone else experienced anything similar?

Edit: I am on iOS 10.0.2.

Last edited by ashis89 : 7th October 2016 at 12:35. Reason: Adding version details
ashis89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 13:30   #9427
BHPian
 
kkkkkaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Pune
Posts: 171
Thanked: 121 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
I have been facing a peculiar problem on my 5s with Airtel 4G sim since yesterday. The network just disappears and shows "No Service". At other times, if I connect my laptop to set up a hotspot, I get full speed 4G connection with a 4G/3G symbol, but not a single network bar. I can't make a single call during these times. If someone tries calling my number, it says Switched Off. It self corrects after switching off/on a few times or toggling the Flight Mode.

The problem is I came down to Bhubaneswar from Hyderabad for a few days and have started experiencing this. I am unable to figure out if its a network problem/software problem/hardware problem.

Has anyone else experienced anything similar?

Edit: I am on iOS 10.0.2.

This is most likely to be a software bug. Try restoring the phone via itunes. Take a backup so you dont loose your data.
kkkkkaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 15:35   #9428
Senior - BHPian
 
kbk_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,226
Thanked: 343 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
I have been facing a peculiar problem on my 5s with Airtel 4G sim since yesterday. The network just disappears and shows "No Service". At other times, if I connect my laptop to set up a hotspot, I get full speed 4G connection with a 4G/3G symbol, but not a single network bar. I can't make a single call during these times. If someone tries calling my number, it says Switched Off. It self corrects after switching off/on a few times or toggling the Flight Mode.

The problem is I came down to Bhubaneswar from Hyderabad for a few days and have started experiencing this. I am unable to figure out if its a network problem/software problem/hardware problem.

Has anyone else experienced anything similar?

Edit: I am on iOS 10.0.2.
Sounds like a poor network issue. I have that in some places as well. Try wandering about, go outside, see if the network picks up a proper cell reception somewhere close by. It is especially likely if you're in an old building with very thick walls or surrounded by lots of greenery.

Try turning off 4G / LTE in settings. That way it will only search for a 3G / 2G network, which often has a better signal strength than the 4G one does.
kbk_75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 15:47   #9429
Senior - BHPian
 
ashis89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,211
Thanked: 833 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
Sounds like a poor network issue. I have that in some places as well. Try wandering about, go outside, see if the network picks up a proper cell reception somewhere close by. It is especially likely if you're in an old building with very thick walls or surrounded by lots of greenery.

Try turning off 4G / LTE in settings. That way it will only search for a 3G / 2G network, which often has a better signal strength than the 4G one does.
I get nil tower and full tower at the same spot throughout the day. I didn't move as I was working from the same spot for 9-10 hours and observed this in between. What was more confusing was, I was getting high speed 4G (sometimes 3G) internet connection (I was using it on my laptop via hotspot) and there were 5 blank dots representing the zero network. I couldn't make any calls too. Also I observed that whenever I got signal, I had selected 4G for mobile data. If I moved it to 3G/2G, the signal used to disappear.

I was planning for a restore but kept busy throughout yesterday and even today. Will try do it today and check if the issue persists. Somehow, I have always faced major problems while moving from iOS 7->8, 8->9 and 9->10
ashis89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 15:53   #9430
BHPian
 
Rocky_Balboa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Namma Bengalooru
Posts: 580
Thanked: 54 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

I have ordered for the 128GB version of iPhone 7 and will get hands on it next week. I am new to iOS and been an Android user all this while.

Since I have to give my Android as exchange, Can any of You help me in transferring data (contacts, photos) from my Android to iOS.

Thanks.
Rocky_Balboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 17:08   #9431
Senior - BHPian
 
kbk_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,226
Thanked: 343 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
I get nil tower and full tower at the same spot throughout the day. I didn't move as I was working from the same spot for 9-10 hours and observed this in between. What was more confusing was, I was getting high speed 4G (sometimes 3G) internet connection (I was using it on my laptop via hotspot) and there were 5 blank dots representing the zero network. I couldn't make any calls too. Also I observed that whenever I got signal, I had selected 4G for mobile data. If I moved it to 3G/2G, the signal used to disappear.

I was planning for a restore but kept busy throughout yesterday and even today. Will try do it today and check if the issue persists. Somehow, I have always faced major problems while moving from iOS 7->8, 8->9 and 9->10
So there's your answer then. It's because of poor network. Don't bother restoring your phone, won't serve any purpose and you'll just have to re-download all your apps again, which you won't be able to do with poor network. This happens to me as well, it's bloody Airtel and their lousy 4G signal, nothing else.
kbk_75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 18:09   #9432
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chennai/ Trichy
Posts: 362
Thanked: 180 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky_Balboa View Post
I have ordered for the 128GB version of iPhone 7 and will get hands on it next week. I am new to iOS and been an Android user all this while.

Since I have to give my Android as exchange, Can any of You help me in transferring data (contacts, photos) from my Android to iOS.

Thanks.
Transfer everything to your sd card and then to a pc. You can restore them all from the PC. This is without using any 3rd party app.
sunsetorange is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 18:51   #9433
Senior - BHPian
 
hserus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,763
Thanked: 1,717 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Sync your android contacts and photos with google. As for SMS there's a SMS backup app that will sync your SMS to gmail. Keep your old SMS there so you can access your old SMS from your iPhone later.

Install the various google apps for iOS as well as other sources of contacts such as FB and Whatsapp (which also has cloud backups for chat and media these days) so your data gets synced to your iPhone.
hserus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 20:45   #9434
BHPian
 
GranvilleDsouza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 106
Thanked: 129 Times
Default

Ok super excited. First post from the new iPhone 7. Excellent delivery by Flipkart got it at 7:45 PM without waiting anywhere for it. Got a ₹1000 voucher on it and some chocolates as well. The iPhone Thread-imageuploadedbyteambhp1475853269.743944.jpg
Phones really fast compared to the iPhone 5s I had and camera too is brilliant so far. Imagining it on the iPhone 7 Plus.
GranvilleDsouza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2016, 13:53   #9435
BHPian
 
Rocky_Balboa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Namma Bengalooru
Posts: 580
Thanked: 54 Times
Default Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunsetorange View Post
Transfer everything to your sd card and then to a pc. You can restore them all from the PC. This is without using any 3rd party app.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hserus View Post
Sync your android contacts and photos with google. As for SMS there's a SMS backup app that will sync your SMS to gmail. Keep your old SMS there so you can access your old SMS from your iPhone later.

Install the various google apps for iOS as well as other sources of contacts such as FB and Whatsapp (which also has cloud backups for chat and media these days) so your data gets synced to your iPhone.
Thanks guys, much appreciate the inputs.
Rocky_Balboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:13.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks