Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th October 2008, 09:04   #1111
BHPian
 
inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 208
Thanked: 4 Times
Smile

@sanchits
look out to iClarified - Apple News and Tutorials for most of your doubts.
and if u want links to cracked ipa files , then PM me , coz i think warez links are not allowed to be posted on the forum itself.

BTW , im also on FW 2.1 , it isnt all that great except for faster backups, leaving that 2.0 was better in my opinion.
inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 11:51   #1112
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 403
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inferno View Post
@sanchits
look out to iClarified - Apple News and Tutorials for most of your doubts.
and if u want links to cracked ipa files , then PM me , coz i think warez links are not allowed to be posted on the forum itself.

BTW , im also on FW 2.1 , it isnt all that great except for faster backups, leaving that 2.0 was better in my opinion.
Inferno, iclarified is the best bet on this. And i agree with you on the 2.1, Infact I was 1.4.1 and loved it. I think on 2.1 there seems to be a better Batt maintain, and also the number of Hangs have also come down.
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 15:24   #1113
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: gurgaon/delhi
Posts: 331
Thanked: Once
Default

guys, i checked out the india itunes page a tried creating the a/c again, but there is no option as 'none', it has only 3 options visa, mastercard and amex. before too i did change the country to india. also even if you want to create any international a/c such as USA or UK, there is no option as "none", but there is trick to get the "none" option through the "redeem code" option but this is not valid for the india a/c. i dont know how did you guys create an india a/c. i have itunes 8 installed.
have all of you jailbreaked the iphone or some still on the non-jailbreak phones.
after jailbreaking does the phone become slow or starts crashing or evrything runs fine.
sanchits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2008, 13:55   #1114
BHPian
 
Kontoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 104
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Hey Guys,

Do any of you know if there is a dedicated i-phone service centre in Bangalore?

Cheers !
Kontoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2008, 16:07   #1115
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanchits View Post
guys, i checked out the india itunes page a tried creating the a/c again, but there is no option as 'none', it has only 3 options visa, mastercard and amex. before too i did change the country to india. also even if you want to create any international a/c such as USA or UK, there is no option as "none", but there is trick to get the "none" option through the "redeem code" option but this is not valid for the india a/c. i dont know how did you guys create an india a/c. i have itunes 8 installed.
have all of you jailbreaked the iphone or some still on the non-jailbreak phones.
after jailbreaking does the phone become slow or starts crashing or evrything runs fine.
I used these instructions a while back and got an itunes account without giving cc details.

Get your own special code

The tunecore site is no longer giving the codes required anymore so you may have to google for a working solution.

Last edited by bigman : 15th October 2008 at 16:08.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2008, 20:21   #1116
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,592
Thanked: 7,078 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kontoo View Post
Hey Guys,

Do any of you know if there is a dedicated i-phone service centre in Bangalore?

Cheers !
Apple has service center and i think you can go there, any specific issue you are facing? Is the phone unlocked/jailbroken? Hardware or Software issues?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2008, 09:33   #1117
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 403
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Guys, I upgraded to 2.1 and I think i have better Batt life and lesser Hangs. But the machine is slowed down a lot. response time for opening imp apps like SMS is more than 3-5 sec now
Any suggestions - I uninstalled winterboard but nothing changed.
I dumped unnecessary apps - nothing still.
HELP
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2008, 16:08   #1118
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 403
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Hello Anybody Home? I'm looking for help to fix my iphone. infact i found out today that my safari crashes when i'm doing my most imp work!
It's goes to the home page or opening screen and behaves like nothing happened aaaaaahhhhhhhh!! grrrrrrrr!
Some help! cant you hear me cry
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2008, 19:21   #1119
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Did you try a re-install of firmware ver 2.1? Safari crashes can also happen on a site loaded with pictures. A Gizmodo link repeatedly crashed for me, but other links on that website worked fine.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2008, 19:24   #1120
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Yeah 2.1 firmware is crap think it is more suited for the 3g phones,for 2g phones i think the best was 1.1.4 firmware.
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2008, 20:07   #1121
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 403
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Did you try a re-install of firmware ver 2.1? Safari crashes can also happen on a site loaded with pictures. A Gizmodo link repeatedly crashed for me, but other links on that website worked fine.

NoI haven't yet and if i do how do i go about it? I mean the re-install.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi1771 View Post
Yeah 2.1 firmware is crap think it is more suited for the 3g phones,for 2g phones i think the best was 1.1.4 firmware.
So you are suggesting a downgrade? or can some tweaking help in fine tuning 2.1??

Last edited by johnda : 20th October 2008 at 20:09.
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 10:42   #1122
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Well how did you install ver 2.1 in the first place?
Use the same procedure in iTunes to install 2.1 again, hence re-install

You can find guides at iClarified.com like
iClarified - iPhone - How to Unlock/Jailbreak Your 2.0 2G iPhone (Windows) [Updated]
and
iClarified - iPhone - How to Unlock/Jailbreak Your 2.x.x 2G iPhone (Mac) [Updated]

They also have downgrading guides.
iClarified - iPhone - How to Downgrade Your 2.0 iPhone to 1.1.4
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 11:56   #1123
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 403
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
Well how did you install ver 2.1 in the first place?
Use the same procedure in iTunes to install 2.1 again, hence re-install

You can find guides at iClarified.com like
iClarified - iPhone - How to Unlock/Jailbreak Your 2.0 2G iPhone (Windows) [Updated]
and
iClarified - iPhone - How to Unlock/Jailbreak Your 2.x.x 2G iPhone (Mac) [Updated]

They also have downgrading guides.
iClarified - iPhone - How to Downgrade Your 2.0 iPhone to 1.1.4
srijit, i used iclarified and upgraded. Hope that the reinstall will solve the problem. if not it'll be a downgrade.
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 12:31   #1124
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Talking iPhone 3G baseband hacked, unlock soon?

iPhone Dev team have managed to hack into the baseband of the new phones. Next step unlock?

Source: Gizmodo

I doubt this would be useful to anyone other than international travellers.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 16:34   #1125
Senior - BHPian
 
khanak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai/Toronto
Posts: 2,735
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
iPhone Dev team have managed to hack into the baseband of the new phones. Next step unlock?

Source: Gizmodo

I doubt this would be useful to anyone other than international travellers.
That also means it should be in the grey market soon !!
khanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
Apple iPhone Launched!!! OMG, OMG!!! (EDIT: Feb 5th - New memory sizes) hydrashok Gadgets, Computers & Software 107 21st August 2008 14:33
this is completely insane - Guy waiting in line for iPhone for 5 days in NYC whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 20 1st July 2007 21:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks