Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th May 2008, 12:03   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,856
Thanked: 15,418 Times
Default Error 692 with my Nokia 6265

Hi Guys,
I have done a lot of google search for this problem but am stumped.
I have a Nokia 6265 which I used for internet connection occasionally(Reliance).
Few months back I got a new HDD and reinstalled XP, but did not bother with phone connection as I was always on airtel BB.
Recently I downloaded the Nokia PC suite, and connected my mobile to the computer and was able to transfer data, do a sync etc., etc.,
but when I try to connect to the dialup internet using the "Nokia 6265 modem" I get Error 692.
I first suspected that I am unable to access the modem.
So I went into device manager, and right clicked on the modem, and in diagnostics did a query.
It worked fine, and I was able to do ATI query.
So the computer can query modem.
After that I even tried to clear the initialization string in the advanced settings, but every time I get this error 692.
In my connection properties, the modem shows up as Nokia 6265 on COM6 which is same setting as device manager.
I am able to query the modem also in device manager, but I am unable to dial in to reliance(Error 692) which says that there is a hardware error.
I suspect that for this modem I need some custom initialization string or something?
Any tips I need to try?
I have modem compression enabled in both my connection and the device manager as suggested.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 13:49   #2
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Wrong place for this mr Moderator
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...-all-here.html
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 13:53   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,856
Thanked: 15,418 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatcanthisbe View Post
I am not asking for mobile phone advice but technical suggestions regarding modem settings on my windows XP machine.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 13:54   #4
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
I am not asking for mobile phone advice but technical suggestions regarding modem settings on my windows XP machine.
Title is misleading !!!
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 13:55   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Try :

Reliance LG LSP 350R - Reliance Mobile - Discussion Forums
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 14:09   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,496
Thanked: 6,777 Times
Default

Does this help or am i going in tangent?

"Error 692: Hardware Failure in the Modem" Error Message When You Dial an RAS Server

Found this on further googling, gotta run now for a meeting

PPCSG -> 818 Pro's Modem Link Hardware detection...

On trial and errors testing out various config changes I found that the key cause of my XP popping out the Error 692 is when I disabled Modem Compression at any end whether one and not the other or both (meaning the setting at modem properties in the Control Panel and the modem properties in the Dialup networking sections).

The fact is Modem Compression must be enabled on the Control Panel modem properties for the HTC USB modem and the modem properties in the corresponding dialup networking configuration.

Typically on normal modems, one should prefer to enable software compression over hardware/modem compression for better performance, if software compression is available. So I typically disables the use of modem compression. However it seems that the HTC modem, whether hardware or driver need to have the modem compression turned on regardless.

Last edited by Jaggu : 5th May 2008 at 14:16.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 14:25   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,856
Thanked: 15,418 Times
Default

I have been through both the links.
Reading that I have enabled compression in both dialer and hardware settings.
I will try disabling compression in both and see.

But my gut feeling is that the problem is related to some part of Nokia Pc suite accessing the phone continuously. But then I am able to query modem from the device manager.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 16:20   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,496
Thanked: 6,777 Times
Default

Did you try re-installing the software? Sometimes this helps.

One more stupid question, are the phone setting correct and are you able to access net from the phone?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 16:56   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Did you try re-installing the software? Sometimes this helps.

One more stupid question, are the phone setting correct and are you able to access net from the phone?
Adding to the check points mentioned by jaggu, check in-line command usually entered in the nokia modem settings.

And yes are you able to access net in-phone. Stupid question asked but will be helpful for troubleshooting the thingy.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 17:07   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 185
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

@tsk,
Go to device manager>Nokia modem's properties. Search for a text entry labeled "Extra Initialization Commands" (or something like similar sounding). Write the following text:
AT+CRM=1
Hope it should solve the problem. This was the case with my Nokia 6235 (Reliance cdma) hence I guess this could be the solution.

@mods: I posted this post twice by accidental pressing of enter key, pl delete the incomplete one. Thanks in advance.
anuragn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 17:40   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,856
Thanked: 15,418 Times
Default

I am able to connect net on the phone through opera mini.
anuragn, I will try your suggestion and revert.
Thanks!
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 20:13   #12
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 648
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

TSK, try putting ATX in the initialization command incase the command mentioned by anuragn does not give you the desired results.
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 20:32   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,856
Thanked: 15,418 Times
Default

Tried both ATX and the above command, no luck
Here is the result of query modem
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\tapisrv.dll, Version 5.1.2600
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\unimdm.tsp, Version 5.1.2600
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\unimdmat.dll, Version 5.1.2600
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\uniplat.dll, Version 5.1.2600
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\modem.sys, Version 5.1.2600
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\modemui.dll, Version 5.1.2600
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\mdminst.dll, Version 5.1.2600
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - Modem type: Nokia 6265 USB Modem
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - Modem inf path: oem26.inf
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - Modem inf section: ModemDeviceInstall6265
05-05-2008 20:31:03.937 - Matching hardware ID: nmwcd\vid_0421&pid_0437&cdc_modem
05-05-2008 20:31:03.968 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
05-05-2008 20:31:04.000 - Initializing modem.
05-05-2008 20:31:04.015 - Send: AT&F<cr>
05-05-2008 20:31:04.015 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
05-05-2008 20:31:04.015 - Interpreted response: OK
05-05-2008 20:31:04.031 - Send: AT E0 V1 &D2 &C1 &S0 S0=0 +dr=1<cr>
05-05-2008 20:31:04.031 - Recv: AT E0 V1 &D2 &C1 &S0 S0=0 +dr=1<cr>
05-05-2008 20:31:04.031 - Command Echo
05-05-2008 20:31:04.031 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
05-05-2008 20:31:04.031 - Interpreted response: OK
05-05-2008 20:31:04.046 - Send: AT+IFC=2,2;+CVHU=1<cr>
05-05-2008 20:31:04.046 - Recv: <cr><lf>ERROR<cr><lf>
05-05-2008 20:31:04.046 - Interpreted response: Error
05-05-2008 20:31:04.046 - Session Statistics:
05-05-2008 20:31:04.046 - Reads : 0 bytes
05-05-2008 20:31:04.046 - Writes: 0 bytes
ATQ0V1E0 - OK
AT+GMM - +GMM: Nokia 6265
AT+FCLASS=? - +FCLASS: (0,2.0)
AT#CLS=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
AT+GCI? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
AT+GCI=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
ATI1 - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
ATI2 - V HL190V0600.nep26-05-06RM-66(c)NMP, PRL:None
ATI3 - Nokia 6265
ATI4 - 2004 W28
ATI5 - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
ATI6 - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
ATI7 - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 21:14   #14
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,496
Thanked: 6,777 Times
Default

Did you try reinstall? Trust me with windows this works most of the time.

If not done, maybe worth a try and those restarts.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2008, 21:30   #15
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 648
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Delete the present Nokia modem from device manager and manually configure a standard 33.6K or 56K modem to the port being used by the Nokia modem. See if this works.
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pioneer Head Unit Errors. Error 11 and error 17 in pioneer MP3 rajivanoj In-Car Entertainment 32 10th December 2013 17:07
Tata Motors 3rd Quarter FY12 Results - $692 Million Profit (Up 41%) smartcat The Indian Car Scene 21 16th February 2012 18:07
The latest fashion from Nokia - new Nokia 8800 khanak Gadgets, Computers & Software 29 26th March 2008 00:56
nokia 7610 v/s nokia 6600 normally_crazy Shifting gears 2 21st August 2004 18:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:14.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks