Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th May 2008, 08:47   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Tough to believe.

I really dont believe that 780G has the ultimate onboard graphics, but yes it is up with the best.

My AMD 690V came with X1250.
Check gigabyte.in and look for GA-MA-69VM-S2 model. I think gigabyte has two or three models with this chipset and the one with 690G has X1300.
Just as I mentioned, Intel 965 chipset motherboard wont play Crysis, but I did on gigabyte. Onboard graphics of AMD have most of the times rocked.
My father's AMD Athlon 64 3000+ with MSI motheboard ATi 200express chipset ( I might be wrong here, what I mean to say is that ATI at that time made so good onboard grahics that even quite old motherboard graphics could handle such a game ) was able to play NFS Carbon.

Intel onboard graphics have always been lions and tigers on the paper, but not is real world. you can observe in my earlier post that 780G does better than G33.
But I am not in for 8200IGP, I am waiting for Larrabee from Intel( this is the one that is creating trouble for nVidia ).
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008, 10:35   #17
BHPian
 
madbullram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chennai & Appleton, WI
Posts: 513
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

WOW...thanks guys...as usual u al;l rock...now config after readin all looks like:

DUALCore AMD X2 4400+AM2 2850 Rs
Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S2H AMD740G,V,16x,S,HDMI 3900 Rs
Seagate 320GB - SATA 16mb/Baracuda 7200 3250 Rs
OEM / Brnd.1.0 GB-DDR2 667MHZ- PC5300 825X2 1650 Rs
Cabinet:
Zebronics Class - 10 Models w/USB, Audio & Fan 1200~1400 Rs

Total - 13K

Is this good?

1. I slipped the Graphic card as I dont push my PC with games, its usually my PS2 and Xbox
2. Went for a higher Hard disk has have loads of music and DVDs
3. Thinking of a new cabinet as my old cabinet look as bad as me (is my choice good? what SMPS shd I look for?)

Last edited by madbullram : 9th May 2008 at 10:38. Reason: formatting
madbullram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008, 11:01   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

get DDR 800 ram. should be only a few hundred rupees more.
and maybe a 4800+, since you do a lot of media encoding

I dont know , on the other hand if the 740G is worth this price. See if you can get a jetway M2A692 GDG. Its a 690G based board for <3k
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008, 11:02   #19
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 928
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Hi Ram, surprisingly something similar happened to me a couple of months ago ! Had a 2-year old AMD & ASUS K8V-MX combo which gave up the ghost in Jan. Have switched to an Intel & Biostar combo now. I use my PC primarily for gaming, so used the opportunity to switch from my 7300 to an 8800

Was pleasantly surprised to see that somebody had put up the price-list from "Delta Peripherals" here, the person who runs it is very knowledgeable. A basic SMPS should cost you around 400 bucks, but you can get ones from CoolerMaster for around 1,500 - their prices go all the way up to 4,500 & even 8,000 depending on your power needs.
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008, 12:51   #20
BHPian
 
splitsecond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: calicut
Posts: 83
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madbullram View Post

DUALCore AMD X2 4400+AM2 2850 Rs
Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S2H AMD740G,V,16x,S,HDMI 3900 Rs
Seagate 320GB - SATA 16mb/Baracuda 7200 3250 Rs
OEM / Brnd.1.0 GB-DDR2 667MHZ- PC5300 825X2 1650 Rs
Cabinet:
Zebronics Class - 10 Models w/USB, Audio & Fan 1200~1400 Rs

Total - 13K

Is this good?
put 800mhz ram and Amd 4800+ then its ok
splitsecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008, 13:35   #21
BHPian
 
madbullram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chennai & Appleton, WI
Posts: 513
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

Green: Is Jet boards as good as Giga ? Dleta guys have :
Jetway ATI690G,V,16x,8Ch,S 2975 RS

Split: OKay will do that...

Any suggestions on cabinet and what SMPS...to run this config effeciently...
madbullram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008, 13:43   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

From what I've seen, jetway makes quite VFM stuff. as long as its not asus , you shouldnt have any issues.

Make sure when you buy that whatever you are getting is a 690G and not 690V which is a lower end variant.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008, 17:07   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Slightly upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madbullram View Post
Green: Is Jet boards as good as Giga ? Dleta guys have :
Jetway ATI690G,V,16x,8Ch,S 2975 RS

Split: OKay will do that...

Any suggestions on cabinet and what SMPS...to run this config effeciently...
Jetway are not problematic and RMA is reasonably effecient.
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitsecond View Post
put 800mhz ram and Amd X2 4800+ then its ok
Yes X2 4800+ will be good along with DDR2 800mhz, but read ON.
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
From what I've seen, jetway makes quite VFM stuff. as long as its not asus , you shouldnt have any issues.

Make sure when you buy that whatever you are getting is a 690G and not 690V which is a lower end variant.
Jetway are not bad.



Now if you look into some other of my posts, I have clearly mentioned that how my processor is spoiled along with motherboard because of wrong SMPS selection. Go to no158 reply of mine.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ration-11.html

So dont go for any bad SMPS. 400W is best if you dont plan to plug in a dedicated graphics card. If you do so, then buy 600W SMPS.
Regarding cabinet, iBall cabinets will do, but if your location is good ( read Megacity ) then buy from Antec or ASUS (ASUS are hard to find and 99% computer vendors dont even know ASUS does sell cabinets ).
Antec is best . usually a typical game console will have one 120mm fan running in front and two 80mm fans at the back.


But you are not utilizing for gaming, front fan should not be a prority and one 92mm fan at rear will do the job.
Iball Gamer cabint will do job for you. will cost around 1500-1700( comes with 400W SMPS and it works good, I am using the same ). Antec, if possible to put into your budget, is the perfect option to be implemented.

Also look for Intex Innovator cabinet, but this should be your last option if nothing else works out. If possible just avoid Intex.

My advice is to you is , if budget exceeds with X2 4800+, 800mhz RAM, then go for X2 4400+, 667mhz RAM but dont skimp on well ventilated cabinet and good SMPS. These two thing can some time make or break things.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 9th May 2008 at 17:09.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 18:44   #24
BHPian
 
madbullram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chennai & Appleton, WI
Posts: 513
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

aagg: Amazing...thanks for such detailed inputs. I will scout for iBall and Antec. The dealer has Zebronics...hows Zebronics?

So for now, my config looks like:
AMD X2 4800+.........3475 rs
ATI690G.................2975 Rs
1GB DDR2 800 x 2......2000Rs
Seagate 320GB - SATA 16mb/Baracuda 7200.......3250 Rs

iBall or Antec with 400W SMPS and 92 mm fan.....rs 1500

total comes to around 13000
madbullram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 18:55   #25
BHPian
 
splitsecond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: calicut
Posts: 83
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

If you want a good reliable smps go for "zebronics 500watts pure platinum " but it cost 1700/-.

A good looking cabinet is zebronics peace with led fans and transparent side panels which cost 1800/-(without smps)....or u can go for any cheaper but large cabins.
splitsecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 19:07   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

I've had bad experiences with not one , but two zebronics SMPS, and my current rigs run fine on iball, but aaggoswami had issues with his iball PSU's .
if you can afford, get the antec , else i suppose the iball ( or look for VIP or Powersafe- they are equally good )
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 19:26   #27
BHPian
 
madbullram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chennai & Appleton, WI
Posts: 513
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

Antec Cabinet is atr 3K without SMPS :(...add SMPS...it comes to 3500Rs...

One more stupid question...do I have to buy a USB port seperately or it comes with the motherboard?
madbullram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 19:54   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

no, i meant buy a generic cabinet and an antec PSU. I wouldnt give too much thought to buying a PSU though. for me , whatever comes with the cabinet works quite fine , since you arent puttting in power hungry gfx cards and things like that. any generic 400W should do fine


the motherboard will have USB ports at the rear , and the cabinet usually has USB ports. ( some cheap generic cabinets skimp on these and the front panel headphone jacks) check that out before you buy choose a cabinet
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 22:31   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Good options

Quote:
Originally Posted by madbullram View Post
aagg: Amazing...thanks for such detailed inputs. I will scout for iBall and Antec. The dealer has Zebronics...hows Zebronics?

So for now, my config looks like:
AMD X2 4800+.........3475 rs
ATI690G.................2975 Rs
1GB DDR2 800 x 2......2000Rs
Seagate 320GB - SATA 16mb/Baracuda 7200.......3250 Rs

iBall or Antec with 400W SMPS and 92 mm fan.....rs 1500

total comes to around 13000
Avoid Zebronics. Personally I dont have any experience, but one friend of mine had to replace 2 SMPS of Zebronics. The second one was lost today. He called me up and we realized the problem. This time its going to be iBall.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I've had bad experiences with not one , but two zebronics SMPS, and my current rigs run fine on iball, but aaggoswami had issues with his iball PSU's .
if you can afford, get the antec , else i suppose the iball ( or look for VIP or Powersafe- they are equally good )
If you read carefully, I am presently running iBalll 400W SMPS and I had ISSUSES WITH INTEX SMPS, NOT IBALL. IBALL IS WORKING FINE WITH MY SETUP THAT DOES CONSIST OF ONE DEDICATED GRAPHICS CARD.

iBall is, I believe the best option for madbullram. I believe that you meant the same from above post.cheers:

Quote:
Originally Posted by madbullram View Post
Antec Cabinet is atr 3K without SMPS :(...add SMPS...it comes to 3500Rs...

One more stupid question...do I have to buy a USB port seperately or it comes with the motherboard?
Generally there are four USB ports at the back of motherboard in I/O back panel. Just for information, the chipset of your setup will mostly support upto 8/10 USB connections.

But when you decide on the cabinet, be sure to have atleast 2 USB front ports along with front audio ports. There are some really cheap cabinets avaiable that skip giving these front USB and Audio ports. Well just avoid them. You will really appreciate the convience of front USB and Audio ports.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 10th May 2008 at 22:33.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 22:43   #30
BHPian
 
madbullram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chennai & Appleton, WI
Posts: 513
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

So I will settle for iBall with 400W SMPS or if i can will buy an ANtec SMPS and fit it to iBall?
madbullram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpine Processor Issue : Help Needed Akshay1234 In-Car Entertainment 1 19th January 2014 13:58
Help me choose a processor >I7 Vs Phenom VC FX process lohithrao Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 14th November 2011 16:09
How does TAP (Timing Advance Processor) work? sukrit7 Technical Stuff 12 19th October 2010 14:25
Which Processor, Motherboard & RAM? shuvd Gadgets, Computers & Software 47 4th May 2008 23:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks