Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th May 2008, 23:04   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madbullram View Post
So I will settle for iBall with 400W SMPS or if i can will buy an ANtec SMPS and fit it to iBall?

Mostly iBall cabinets will come with SMPS and so it wont be possible to go for the combination you have mentioned.
The iBall gamer cabinet will come with 400W SMPS in it and will cost around 1500-1700.
You can also look for iBall i648 that will also have 400W SMPS and will cost 1400-1500.

However the local resellers have the habit of taking off the power supply if you demand and they will sell off that to someone else. Here watch that the cost of cabinet will go down to more than 70% of original cost.
This bit is very trick, so its better to go for what comes fitted in cabinet.

However for your reference, PowerSafe 500W SMPS comes for around rs. 2750-2800.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 23:12   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Forgot to say this.

In my earlier post, I had also mentioned iBall i648, but then this cabinet does not come with 92mm fan fitted in it. iBall gamer does come with one 92mm fan fitted in it.
Here is the link:
iBall Your eyeball view. Our technology new.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2008, 23:31   #33
BHPian
 
splitsecond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: calicut
Posts: 83
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Avoid Zebronics. Personally I dont have any experience, but one friend of mine had to replace 2 SMPS of Zebronics. The second one was lost today. He called me up and we realized the problem. This time its going to be iBall.
zebronics platinum series is very reliable ones,almost all gaming pc's that i hav assembled for friends hav zeb smps.Most of the time they work in full load(gaming) still no problem with it.
splitsecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2008, 06:34   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,707
Thanked: 1,054 Times
Default

My first zebby 400W - regular version lasted some time , but a hard disk died during its tenure. I bought a zebby platinum 500W , it lasted all for a day before dying and taking my venerable Nforce 2 motherboard with it :(

I believe zebby PSU's have poor voltage regulation - i got this from someone who put a CRO probe onto the Voltage outputs of s few PSU's he owned , and was surprised.

Yes, even i have a friend who is running an E6750, a 2 GB XMS2 Ram kit , and an 8800GT on a zebby platinum 500W, But I wouldnt take the risk of buying one again.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2008, 08:46   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Bad experience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
My first zebby 400W - regular version lasted some time , but a hard disk died during its tenure. I bought a zebby platinum 500W , it lasted all for a day before dying and taking my venerable Nforce 2 motherboard with it :(

I believe zebby PSU's have poor voltage regulation - i got this from someone who put a CRO probe onto the Voltage outputs of s few PSU's he owned , and was surprised.

Yes, even i have a friend who is running an E6750, a 2 GB XMS2 Ram kit , and an 8800GT on a zebby platinum 500W, But I wouldnt take the risk of buying one again.

Pretty rough experience. I had a similar experience with Intex.
iBall is recomended as it generally works without any trouble.
PowerSafe, Antec are really expensive. If trying to get a high end machine, its fine, but for anything other than really high end pc, iBall is fine.
In all my assembled pc, iBall is till now working fine.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2008, 14:36   #36
BHPian
 
madbullram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chennai & Appleton, WI
Posts: 513
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

thanks to everyone, I am going on Monday to check out will keep you all posted.
madbullram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008, 07:49   #37
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,311
Thanked: 3,655 Times
Default

Gurus of gaming, here's a question for you. A friend wants to go in for this config :

AMD X2 4800 2.5 GHz
ASUS M2MVM DVI motherboard
NVidia Gforce 8600GT
512 MB

Usage : games - NFS, racing, strategy, third person etc.

Also what would be a good price ? He's already into games & is upgrading his system.

TIA !
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008, 09:02   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,707
Thanked: 1,054 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
AMD X2 4800 2.5 GHz -3.6k
ASUS M2N VM DVI motherboard 3k
NVidia Gforce 8600GT 256MB DDR3 - 3.2k (Mercury) - 5k(EVGA)
1 GB DDR 800 Branded RAM - 1.2k
the 512 MB 8600GT is slower than the 256, so recommend that you go with the 256MB DDR3 version.
512 MB system memory is too low for a gaming rig. recommend 1GB, 2 if possible

Last edited by greenhorn : 29th May 2008 at 09:05.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008, 13:29   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post

AMD X2 4800 2.5 GHz
ASUS M2MVM DVI motherboard
NVidia Gforce 8600GT
512 MB

Usage : games - NFS, racing, strategy, third person etc.



If budget is not a constraint, then he must go for 9600 available for around rs.10-11K.
This card is great and simply great. My friend recently bought one is now able to play Crysis ( he just loves the eye candy of Crysis, which I consider nothing but Glorified FarCry ) with ease.

But if budget is less than 10K, then 8600 with DDR3 is great option. DDR2 8600 is slower as pointed out by GreenHorn.

Ask your friend to also have a look at ATI Radeon 3850. He might find this card as value for money.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpine Processor Issue : Help Needed Akshay1234 In-Car Entertainment 1 19th January 2014 13:58
Help me choose a processor >I7 Vs Phenom VC FX process lohithrao Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 14th November 2011 16:09
How does TAP (Timing Advance Processor) work? sukrit7 Technical Stuff 12 19th October 2010 14:25
Which Processor, Motherboard & RAM? shuvd Gadgets, Computers & Software 47 4th May 2008 23:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks