Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st October 2013, 13:08   #151
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 187
Thanked: 82 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Wanted to share my experience:

I've been pretty impressed with mapmyindia.com. When I brought my Garmin GPS device from the US when relocating, I was doubtful whether it will work (though I had read on the internet that maps are available for India, just need to load them, etc, I was still very skeptical). I ordered the maps for my Garmin device from mapmyindia.com. It cost me Rs 5K in early 2012 (a bit steep, about the price I paid for the device itself in equiv INR). But it works like a charm, and well worth it I now feel.

The only downside (and a big downside at that) but one that has a workaround which I'll describe shortly, is that locations in India dont have a systematic street address that you can easily search on the GPS itself.

Workaround: Use latitude/longitude coordinates. Locate the addr, perhaps at home or even midroute on your smartphone in an app that shows coordinates. I've done both. I use the Wikiplaces app on iOS. Even more options to find coordinates on your PC at home (Google Maps itself). I suspect Google Maps on Android may show coordinates too (it doesnt on iOS). Then I just enter the coordinates into my GPS and keep saving it to my "favorites list" as time goes along, so I can pull it up in future without the same rigmarole.

This way, I have used my GPS successfully many times, stepping out totally unprepared from home. I relied on it completely to go from Bangalore to a wedding hall in Chennai. Took it to Mahabalipuram all the way to the hotel, and back to Bangalore. Took it many times in Bangalore to various locations that I was unfamiliar with.

This, in conjunction with a cup-holder mounted GPS holder (I didnt want a dash-mounted holder, for fear of inviting theft/vandalism), works like a charm. The specific mount I used was http://www.amazon.com/Bracketron-UCH...pr_product_top
vharihar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2013, 20:48   #152
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 139
Thanked: 55 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohanjf View Post
As suggested by GD, I downloaded the India map. I copied it into my mobile's 2 GB micro SD card and inserted the card into GPS device. But the map was not detected.

So I copied the map directly to the device's folder where the original US map is (*.img file). Only after that, the map got detected. This means, I don't even need a separate micro SD card.

EDIT: I couldn't find a 2 GB micro SD card in any store. I did not buy 4 GB, because I don't know if my device is capable of handling large memory units.
Your SD card needs to have a folder named 'GARMIN' (without the quotes). Place the map inside this and name it GMAPSUPP.IMG.

I just tried out my nuvi 205 with a 8 GB SDHC card. It worked like a charm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohanjf View Post
I did not delete the US map from my device. There is enough memory in the device for both maps to co-exist, and probably many more

When I opened the device memory, there was 765 MB free. Out of that, India map used only 169 MB. As mentioned by R2D2 in an earlier post, you have to uncheck US map when you use the device in India (probably because your searches should be limited to your present country).
My device has an internal storage of only 2 GB. The latest Garmin CN 2013.10 North America maps (USA, Hawaii, Canada, Islands) are taking approximately 1.49 GB, leaving little space for voice/language/gpx files. So I used a GMAPTOOL (downloaded from Noeman.org forum) to join all these maps (GMAPPROM, GMAPPROM1, GMAPSUPP) into a single GMAPSUPP.IMG and moved it to SD card. My GPS now has India maps on device and America maps on SD. Garmin CN India 2013.10 is 930 MB and MMI 7.1 is 471 MB.

I never had to uncheck US maps. The GPS automatically detects my location and sets country accordingly. Of course you can always click 'change country' manually.
sbiswas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2014, 11:33   #153
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: chennai
Posts: 84
Thanked: 16 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohanjf View Post
As suggested by GD, I downloaded the India map. I copied it into my mobile's 2 GB micro SD card and inserted the card into GPS device. But the map was not detected.

So I copied the map directly to the device's folder where the original US map is (*.img file). Only after that, the map got detected. This means, I don't even need a separate micro SD card.
----.
Hi Rohan,

I tried the same - copying the gmapsupp.img file onto the .system folder which has the current map (gmapprom.img) file. Had to make space by deleting some voice other language files. But the device does not recognize the new map. It still shows the North america map. Any pointers? Does this work only with SD card?

thanks
ZedMae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2014, 12:06   #154
Senior - BHPian
 
rohanjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,190
Thanked: 683 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZedMae View Post
Hi Rohan,

I tried the same - copying the gmapsupp.img file onto the .system folder which has the current map (gmapprom.img) file. Had to make space by deleting some voice other language files. But the device does not recognize the new map. It still shows the North america map. Any pointers? Does this work only with SD card?

thanks
No, I did not use SD card. In my device, I did not have any problem, as this custom map appeared in the list of available maps automatically.

However, when I tried in my colleague's device (same model as mine), the map did not appear in the customizing setting. But after restarting the device a few times, it appeared for selection!
rohanjf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2014, 15:30   #155
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: chennai
Posts: 84
Thanked: 16 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohanjf View Post
No, I did not use SD card. ---it appeared for selection!
Thanks. No luck for me though when I tried to directly put the gmapsupp.img file in the Garmin device system folder. Tried putting the openstreet map in the micro SD card of my mobile and now the device shows the open street maps.
ZedMae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2014, 19:31   #156
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,586 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

@rohanji; I saw on Garmin forums that up to 8GB is supported.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2015, 17:22   #157
BHPian
 
rockyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 253
Thanked: 11 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Will give it a try and report. I have a old Garmin Nuvi 1490T. Am not happy with Sat Nav maps and MapmyIndia is too costly
rockyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2015, 16:11   #158
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,327
Thanked: 3,832 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Need help guys. I have a GARMIN nuvi 2565LM and I understand it comes with free lifetime map (LM) support.
But it says System Requirements: * IBM-compatible PC running Windows 2000 or later operating system and an available USB port.
I don't use windows but Mac system. How do I solve this? Do I need to get this updated through a window system?

http://www.garmin.co.in/products/ont...dia/#updateTab

Suggestion/s please.
Rudra Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2015, 09:46   #159
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,586 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

@Rudra_Sen; The basic route us to install the driver (Garmin Communicator) and then update. Are you not having Windoze as a secondary OS on your Mac. I am sure there is a way for Mac and linux users. One of the other threads

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...gation-13.html

has a lot of discussion about upgrades. Have you Googled for it? Once you manage please post the route here.

Just checked Garmin Express does show Upgrade for the Mac.

http://software.garmin.com/en-US/express.html

In the windows world Garmin Express is no good, so we have to download and install from the Taiwan site of Garmin. However, it should get you the communicator. Of course USB is (I think) a must.

Last edited by sgiitk : 27th January 2015 at 09:52.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2015, 11:40   #160
BHPian
 
ajitkommini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 483
Thanked: 109 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

I use Garmin BaseCamp for downloading maps to the device, adding or editing POIs, route and track information etc. It's quite a comprehensive tool with an easy-to-use interface. I use the Windows version but I think there is a mac version as well. Perhaps you could give it a try. When I'm planning a trip I generally find a POI using Google Earth or whatever, then save it to one of the maps on my Garmin nuvi 1250 using Basecamp. This allows me to add useful fields like phone number etc. (In case I need to check something before arrival). When I return I retrieve all the tracks and stitch them together into a trip (what Garmin calls an adventure). It also has interesting tools like speed and altitude profile plotting.

Last edited by ajitkommini : 27th January 2015 at 11:43.
ajitkommini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2015, 18:15   #161
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
Need help guys. I have a GARMIN nuvi 2565LM and I understand it comes with free lifetime map (LM) support.
But it says System Requirements: * IBM-compatible PC running Windows 2000 or later operating system and an available USB port. ...
Map update is usually a file dropped into the device. I did the US map update on my ancient 260W on my Mac. Worked through the browser, with device connected to the USB port.

The "IBM-compatible PC running Windows 2000 or later operating system" is a language that they forgot to pay attention to after they first wrote it!
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2015, 18:55   #162
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
I did the US map update on my ancient 260W on my Mac. Worked through the browser, with device connected to the USB port.
How did you make that map work with 260W? Now Garmin changes Map ID with each update, so file will not work unless unlocked for that specific device + map ID combination. I think they started doing this from 2014 Q2 onward.

Gamin's update utility copies map file and also creates the file that has license for that map+device.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2015, 22:04   #163
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,166 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Gamin's update utility copies map file and also creates the file that has license for that map+device.
On a totally different topic: @nfb did you try installing MMI 2014 Maps on Mapsource/Basecamp? Does not work for me. But yes I can browse the map by keeping it in a flash drive and accessing. But I cannot install it on PC/MAC.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2015, 23:02   #164
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
On a totally different topic: @nfb did you try installing MMI 2014 Maps on Mapsource/Basecamp?
Have not tried MMI maps in last couple of years. Now Garmin maps coverage is good enough for my usage.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2015, 13:02   #165
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default Re: Where to find India's Maps for Garmin GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
How did you make that map work with 260W? Now Garmin changes Map ID with each update, so file will not work unless unlocked for that specific device + map ID combination. ...
It was an official update, so it did what it had to do! There is a background process that checks the device (the device should be connected over USB - the page asks for it. Or one can give the SNo to get the file) and pulls the appropriate update.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin Nuvi 50LM Review (GPS Navigation) jalsa777 In-Car Entertainment 265 28th August 2016 15:08
Sygic Maps Vs MMI maps, what's the difference? rkbharat Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 1st July 2014 07:43
Which GPS maps are best for India? xxaarraa Route / Travel Queries 31 24th January 2012 14:49
Karnataka Maps for Garmin deepan Route / Travel Queries 2 21st November 2009 10:32
Using Google & Yahoo India Maps on standalone GPS Device Haste Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 30th September 2008 19:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks