Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:35   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rr_zen View Post
@Monkey: 4.5K for 4 metros and other towns is definitely worth the price I would say. I was quoted 10K by GPS India just for Chennai and nearby areas and so I junked the idea of buying it. I have a Nuvi 350 for which I am desperately in need of India maps.
you could buy a state of the art mobile phone with all the features plus GPS, maps & navigation free for life, all for just 13k. Nokia 6110.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2008, 19:07   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
rr_zen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 258 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
you could buy a state of the art mobile phone with all the features plus GPS, maps & navigation free for life, all for just 13k. Nokia 6110.
Well said, John. By the way, I already have a N95 8GB which does the trick.

The thing is that having bought a Garmin in the US, I want to put it to the best of its use in India as well.

Last edited by rr_zen : 23rd July 2008 at 19:09.
rr_zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 01:31   #18
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,582
Thanked: 3,244 Times
Default

Interestingly, no free upgrades etyadi fr the 4.5k, 3k for city map though.

I asked the ASPL gent in delhi if I could get an re-install if my SD card crashed, to which he said: Do you get a replacement CD if you break your movie OST CDs?
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 16:37   #19
BHPian
 
Mad Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 260
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

i was told while buying the maps that i would get two free updates .....
Mad Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 16:45   #20
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,582
Thanked: 3,244 Times
Default

delhi mein ASPL junta have told me that.

that said, worldwide torrent sites are FULL of US/EU map data. What about India?
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008, 16:46   #21
BHPian
 
Maibaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 268
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

Bought Garmin India map SD card for my Nuvi 360 from Street Atlas Company India Pvt Ltd, bangalore for Rs.4500/- after a 10% discount. This is the company that is designing the online maps and marketing the same through ASPL. The address and contact no is in one of the previous posts.

Looks like it has detailed information on Bangalore city roads but I am still trying out various local routes. Not sure about the state and national highway coverage though. Planning a trip to Jog this weekend where I will test its usability.

Regarding map updates, I was told I would get free map updates for one year every three months on an average.

In case the data on the original SD card gets corrupted, re-installing the maps on a different SD card is possible as long as you return them the original SD card. Of course, you need to buy the replacement SD card yourself.
Maibaa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008, 23:48   #22
BHPian
 
spawnofsatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los angeles/Mumbai
Posts: 707
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

@Monkey - Does the voice talk in different Indian accents? or is it just the standard one?
spawnofsatan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2008, 12:10   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Here is the link to free garmin India map.
This is from openstreetmap.org, so its not really very detailed. Many road names are missing, and all you see is a line.
So if you just want to try out a gps, or know your city somewhat, this map will be great
Its 12MB, and in img format, so just load it in your SD card and read it up!
http://downloads.cloudmade.com/asia/india/india.img
I am linking NCR.img(Delhi) and Bangalore.img(Bangalore) also, if india map is too huge.
Please note that there is no topographic information in BLR and DEL maps since I created them myself from OSM, and creating topo map was a bigger headache(download data from NASA et al)
http://www.tanveer.in/files/tbhp/Bangalore.img
http://www.tanveer.in/files/tbhp/NCR.img

Last edited by tsk1979 : 25th September 2008 at 12:31.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2008, 20:48   #24
BHPian
 
nirmalts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stuttgart, Germ
Posts: 252
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Nice work!!

Works fine with Garmin Mobile XT on WM 6.1.

Search doesnt work however. Says "Detailed maps are required for this feature". Any way to fix this?

Also any possibilities of converting googlemaps to Garmin IMG. I guess they are more detailed than OpenStreetMap

Thanks again

Nirmal
nirmalts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2008, 11:42   #25
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Nope, no way of converting google maps. They are proprietery.
OSM can get much better if everybody contributes and adds to maps.
For example for California, OSM has coverage rivalling commercial vendors
If more people get involved in India, we would not need any mapping companies to supply maps.

nirmalts which map did you try on your garmin. The india.img or the ones which I created?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2008, 14:45   #26
BHPian
 
nirmalts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stuttgart, Germ
Posts: 252
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
If more people get involved in India, we would not need any mapping companies to supply maps.
It will be tough for companies in India to keep the map updated without public support. Google is also following the path with their public mapmaker. But as you said using googlemaps offline is illegal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
nirmalts which map did you try on your garmin. The india.img or the ones which I created?
I tried the bangalore.img you created. I liked the Garmin interface better than Destinator (Satnav) or MapMyIndia or MapKing. I am using it on my HTC. With Garmin I get a lock in 20-30 secs.

Last edited by nirmalts : 30th September 2008 at 14:48.
nirmalts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2008, 14:56   #27
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

What you can do is study google maps, and then using Yahoo satellite overlay, keep on adding to the Bangalore map.
You can even study locally available paper maps, learn the road names, and then keep adding to open street map.
Every wednesday the database gets updated with new maps, so you will see your changes on wednesday.

Try the India map, it has TOPO information too and I think your unit may be wanting that to activate search feature.
If that works use the all India map.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2008, 15:22   #28
BHPian
 
nirmalts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stuttgart, Germ
Posts: 252
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
What you can do is study google maps, and then using Yahoo satellite overlay, keep on adding to the Bangalore map.
I have been updating googlemaps. Will start updating openstreetmap from now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Try the India map, it has TOPO information too and I think your unit may be wanting that to activate search feature.
Tried india.img map now. Routing doesnt work with this either. I can choose a point on the map and navigate to there, but cannot give an address. Interestingly it shows that it is a "detailed map". I have a Europe map loaded, where it works fine.

Nirmal

Last edited by nirmalts : 30th September 2008 at 15:24.
nirmalts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2008, 14:13   #29
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 52
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Does anyone use the above Garmin India Maps in Mobile (Symbian S60) ?

It always shows the next Road / Street to where am actually travelling.
Tried Zooming out, Etc. as suggested in the screenshots above, but no use.

As this map has all the highways covered, it would be very helpful, when compared with Nokia Maps or Nokia Navigator (Route66).

I tried Google Maps and mGmaps, but they dont provide Turn by Turn Navigation in India.

Any help in this will be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
dskumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2008, 16:40   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 651 Times
Default

My Garmin iQue 3200 is a symbian platform

Quote:
Originally Posted by dskumar View Post
Does anyone use the above Garmin India Maps in Mobile (Symbian S60) ?

It always shows the next Road / Street to where am actually travelling.
Tried Zooming out, Etc. as suggested in the screenshots above, but no use.

As this map has all the highways covered, it would be very helpful, when compared with Nokia Maps or Nokia Navigator (Route66).

I tried Google Maps and mGmaps, but they dont provide Turn by Turn Navigation in India.

Any help in this will be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin Nuvi 50LM Review (GPS Navigation) jalsa777 In-Car Entertainment 265 28th August 2016 15:08
Sygic Maps Vs MMI maps, what's the difference? rkbharat Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 1st July 2014 07:43
Which GPS maps are best for India? xxaarraa Route / Travel Queries 31 24th January 2012 14:49
Karnataka Maps for Garmin deepan Route / Travel Queries 2 21st November 2009 10:32
Using Google & Yahoo India Maps on standalone GPS Device Haste Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 30th September 2008 19:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks