Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th November 2008, 19:51   #31
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 52
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
My Garmin iQue 3200 is a symbian platform
Thanks gd1418,
All is fine in your Garmin iQue, with this India Garmin Map ?
You dont face similar problems to mine ?
dskumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2008, 20:05   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 651 Times
Default

This unit was purchased a couple of years ago by the local Delhi authorised dealer and came with the base All India map and the Delhi & Bombay maps. After a year they upgraded the maps and I've a few cities of North & South in it.

I've had no problems whatsoever till date except that my unit is now discontinued by garmin and they are not developing upgraded maps on symbian.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dskumar View Post
Thanks gd1418,
All is fine in your Garmin iQue, with this India Garmin Map ?
You dont face similar problems to mine ?
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2008, 11:04   #33
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

If somebody has a garmin unit purchased from abroad, and no india maps, cloudmade offers free downloads of openstreetmap img.
They are not as detailed, but its updated weekly.
I expect that in another year Delhi Chennai Bombay and Bangalore will be very accurately mapped
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2008, 15:17   #34
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 52
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
If somebody has a garmin unit purchased from abroad, and no india maps, cloudmade offers free downloads of openstreetmap img.
They are not as detailed, but its updated weekly.
I expect that in another year Delhi Chennai Bombay and Bangalore will be very accurately mapped
Hi TSK,

Can you give a pointer for downloading OpenStreetMap img file ?

Thanks in advance.
dskumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2008, 16:00   #35
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dskumar View Post
Hi TSK,

Can you give a pointer for downloading OpenStreetMap img file ?

Thanks in advance.
dskumar, india is available here
CloudMade Downloads

Chennai is very well mapped thanks to the efforts of volunteers there. You won't need another map.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2008, 21:32   #36
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 52
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Thanks a Lot TSK. That was a very good Link. Will use this map and post my experience here soon.
dskumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2008, 11:06   #37
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Download a new img every couple of weeks or so as osm maps are updated regularly.
for example a main road blocked due to metro construction, or a road becoming 2 lane from 6 lane due to construction work?, somebody will put it on OSM
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2009, 20:47   #38
Vin
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 52
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nirmalts View Post
I tried the bangalore.img you created. I liked the Garmin interface better than Destinator (Satnav) or MapMyIndia or MapKing. I am using it on my HTC. With Garmin I get a lock in 20-30 secs.
Dear Nirmal,

you mentioned you used the garmin interface on your HTC(its a windows mobile if im not wrong), can you explain in a little more detail how to use the garmin interface on your windows mobile,

Do you need any special software etc,

I have an HTC as well and would love to use this map,

thanks in advance,


Vineet
Vin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 22:47   #39
BHPian
 
absynthguzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 650
Thanked: 223 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
If somebody has a garmin unit purchased from abroad, and no india maps, cloudmade offers free downloads of openstreetmap img.
They are not as detailed, but its updated weekly.
I expect that in another year Delhi Chennai Bombay and Bangalore will be very accurately mapped

From what I'm aware, Garmin original maps have a "MAP ID" and then a Key file is given as "license". Hence maps don't open until license file is also present within the program.

Do these maps need a "MAP ID" to be "unlocked" before using them ? Or since its freeware, Garmin just loads them as normal.

Cheers in advance
absynthguzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 23:43   #40
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Garmin loads up these maps without any problem since these are freeware.
But remember you won't have any routing with these maps, its just like moving map. So if you roughly know the roads, or can plot your own route this is for you
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 13:29   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 0
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi. I was wondering if anybody knows if it is possible to use alpine navigation units in India, specifically Bangalore. Will it be possible to load the garmin maps, or the maymyindia maps onto an alpine device?
ashwinmj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 04:04   #42
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

Try this if you have a Garmin unit/ software, quite workable-ly detailed I'd say Garmin india map

Well, address search doesn't work, but you search mostly by POIs - works. And routing works.
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 22:44   #43
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bru
Posts: 71
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Chek at MapmyIndia.com Online maps, GPS Navigation, Driving Directions, Local Search They are seeling maps for Gramin devices.
gogo_gogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2009, 12:21   #44
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ludhiana PB / Houston TX
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Garmin

Hi....i just got complete Indian GPS maps for my GARMIN from MapmyIndia.com Online maps, GPS Navigation, Driving Directions, Local Search . It cost me Rs.6300.

you can also check it out........its working good on plains, but on hills like himachal its total blackout!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxj2005 View Post
Guys,

Does anyone know where I can get India's map for a GARMIN NUVI 200 GPS in or around NCR and also load it ?

I have bought this in US so it currently works for US and canada I believe.

I have heard there is a dealer who deals in the same in delhi but do not know if he is reliable..
Can some one throw some light on this....
sizoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2009, 20:01   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLK View Post
Try this if you have a Garmin unit/ software, quite workable-ly detailed I'd say Garmin india map

Well, address search doesn't work, but you search mostly by POIs - works. And routing works.

Garmin released newer version of India maps.

Maps are quite detailed and address search works as well

Checked a few Buildings that were constructed last year. Most of them have been included in Map.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin Nuvi 50LM Review (GPS Navigation) jalsa777 In-Car Entertainment 265 28th August 2016 15:08
Sygic Maps Vs MMI maps, what's the difference? rkbharat Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 1st July 2014 07:43
Which GPS maps are best for India? xxaarraa Route / Travel Queries 31 24th January 2012 14:49
Karnataka Maps for Garmin deepan Route / Travel Queries 2 21st November 2009 10:32
Using Google & Yahoo India Maps on standalone GPS Device Haste Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 30th September 2008 19:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks