Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd June 2008, 13:35   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 1,093 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Oh then you are in same boat.... as mentioned earlier, I do something similar. Need to have many configs live in VM to test Open Source projects that I work on at home.

In that case, we can scale down a LOT.

4 GB (800 MHz) will do just fine, no need to spend $$$ on CorsAir /G-Skill, simple Transcend will do. Even if RAM fails, you wont have to worry about business downtime so cheap is okay.

So, at cost of 47k this config can be considered (CorsAir 1066 Mhz)

Attachment 15568

Or at 39k, (Transcend 800 MHz)

Attachment 15569
975XBX2 is an outdated board. Do not purchase it. Get a newer X38/X48/P35/P45 board. Either of these chipsets will do.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 14:48   #32
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hey Thanks, RoC. I was already comtemplating whether X38 or P35. A little cheap but good on features will certainly help. I certainly don't need the Asus Wifi and all those jazzy mobo that people will come up with. Someone mentioned Abit P35. I've heard good things about this board. How's it gonna be w.r.t. overclocking which I am looking to do in moderation.

Below are the Abit IP-35 specifications. Looks good to me.

=============================================

Socket-775 Form Factor, Supports Intel Core 2 (Dual/Quad), Pentium Processors

Supports 1333, 1066, 800 MHz Front Side Bus Speeds

Intel P35 / Intel ICH9R Chipset

Silent OTES Dual Copper Heatpipe Chipset Cooling System

4 x DDR2-800 Memory Slots, 8 GB Maximum Capacity

1 x PCI Express x16 Slot, 1 x PCI Express x4 (x16 Sized), 1 x PCI Express x1

3 x 32-bit (33 MHz) PCI Slots

2 x 32-bit PCI Based Realtek Gigabit Ethernet Ports

Realtek ALC888 HD Audio 7.1 CODEC, 8-Channel Analog w/ Optical SPDIF In/Out

6 x Intel Serial ATA-II/300 Ports, RAID 0, 1, 10, 5 Support

2 x JMicron Serial ATA-II/300 eSATA Ports, RAID 0, 1, JBOD

12 x USB 2.0 Ports, 2 x Firewire 400 Ports

Integrated Clear CMOS, Reset/Power Buttons, LED Code Display

Solid State Capacitor Design
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 15:53   #33
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Abit IP 35 looks like a good board to me. What say specialists?
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 15:54   #34
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Just now, I came to a dilemma. While using Windows VMs with VMWare, is it wise to use a SCSI virtual disk or IDE virtual disk? Can someone explain with pros and cons why I should use which?
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2008, 10:03   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Thane
Posts: 12
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Phew! finally i got time to add my two cents.

Over the past few days I have been working on hyperV, Vmware 2 and Xen express.

Guess what sucks the most! Xen express. Why? simple its a lot like vmware esx except the hardware hypervisor dependency instead of the vmware's software one. The software one also runs faster. I thought if we integrate a software hypervisor to xen it will make it better. I prefer HyperV to this cos atleast i can also use the system that it is installed on.

I also take back what i said earlier about vmware 2. Its a lot slower than its predecessors but its maybe cos its in beta. Turn off logging and debug info and it runs a lot faster.

I just built a puny system with an E8400 with DP35DP and 2x 160 GB sata on raid 0 with 4 GB memory. I am on a short budget so that is what i could get. Maybe i will add 4 GB later and 2 more 160 GB drives.


I wanted a SAS 5i from dell or something. SCSI is so much better compared to sata.
Ritesh Nair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 22:11   #36
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 139
Thanked: 58 Times
Default Re: Virtualization Capable Workstation

Some rules of here -

1 - Whichever brand you select - make sure your processor and mobo BIOS support VT extensions for paravirtualization to work

2 - Max out the Memory (budget permitting - fastest and largest amount you can lay your hands on and your mobo)

3 - Also check if you can get a NIC that supports TOE - [TCP Offload Engine - this spares your CPU from TCP processing loads - thus more CPU cycles for your VMs]

4 - Give Linux kvm a try - you'll be pleasantly surprised

Finally - of all the virt technologies available - in my experience
- Vmware offers the best toolset [e.g: VMM ] in terms of manageability and orchestration, but loses on performance

- Bare metal hypervisors [xen, kvm] are performance beasts - but have a steeper curve in manageability & learning

Cheers & let us know how it goes!
lugnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make a 2WD more capable in offroad conditions? n.devdath Technical Stuff 17 21st September 2016 21:17
Thinking Aloud : 4wd Offroad capable Jungle Safari vehicle.....the build is on abheekg 4x4 Vehicles 135 28th November 2014 19:18
Is Desktop Virtualization with Hyper-V possible? Samurai Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 1st September 2008 14:30


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks