Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th May 2008, 09:49   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,420
Thanked: 158 Times
Default Old HDD Data to new PC?! and more...

I got a new Lenovo K200 Ideacenter just yesterday.

What I wish to do now:
  • Copy all data from my previous HDDs to the new PC OR Install the old HDD to the PC.
  • Add another 1GB or 512MB RAM to boost performance.
  • Install my previous CD-Writer to the PC.

Questions:
  • Its got a seal on the cabinet. Does the warranty become void if I open the cabinet to add anything I wish?!
  • Will performing any of the above task void the warranty?!
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 09:57   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

Quote:
Its got a seal on the cabinet. Does the warranty become void if I open the cabinet to add anything I wish?!
Will performing any of the above task void the warranty?
1) if you install the HDD or CD writer in the old PC , yes it will void the warranty
2) if the RAM is installed by the authorized dealer , no issues , but chances are you will be overcharged a lot
3) you can put your old HDD in a externalUSB enclosure ( costs ~500) and connect it to your new PC - that wont void warranty
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 10:10   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,420
Thanked: 158 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
1) if you install the HDD or CD writer in the old PC , yes it will void the warranty
2) if the RAM is installed by the authorized dealer , no issues , but chances are you will be overcharged a lot
3) you can put your old HDD in a externalUSB enclosure ( costs ~500) and connect it to your new PC - that wont void warranty
  1. What if I do install the old HDD and the CD-writer. And when the time comes to claim warranty, I just remove them off

  2. I bought it from Vijay Sales who actually gave me the wrong configuration. I was supposed to get 1GB RAM and 160GB HDD. Instead I got another model with 512MB RAM and 250GB HDD. I anyways took it.

    The Vijay Sales guy said that he can give me an extra 512MB RAM for Rs 990/-. That would anyways mean opening the seal. I told him that instead I'll get the RAM from outside and put it in myself. He said that would be fine. He also added that everything must be present that came with the PC. If I add another RAM its okay, but the original 512MB RAM that came with the PC should be present inside.

  3. What is it called?! You mean I can connect my old HDD (its quite old) to my new PC and transfer all data?!

Oh and another question:
How much does a external graphics card cost?! Well give me the most value-for-money one please?!
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 10:20   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

1- that would still mean removing the sticker - voided warranty.
2- as i expected , ram is overpriced by 2x. 1k should get you a GB of ram. check if your chipset supports dual channel, in that case , two identical RAM modules should be better.

3- as long as it is an IDE HDD , no issues. Just ask for an External USB Hard disk enclosure. you can get generic ones(tech com, zippy etc) for 500, and branded ones(transcend , vantek) for more.
4. There are no external gfx cards . only internal ones. what's your budget ?
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 10:59   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,420
Thanked: 158 Times
Default

Will pick that External USB Hard disk enclosure soon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn
that would still mean removing the sticker - voided warranty.
Are you very sure?! I'll have to read through that entire Warranty book now



Quote:
4. There are no external gfx cards . only internal ones. what's your budget ?
3k for graphics cards. But I'm not sure what motherboard I have and if it even supports it. I think there are graphic cards that can now be externally attached.
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 11:25   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

check if your motherboard has a PCI express slot.
No, I'm pretty sure there are no external gfx cards
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 11:44   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Do you have your old PC still?
Simply connect them together into a LAN.
Both will remain FULLY operational and you can access one from the other, transfer data, use the optical drives et all....
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 16:30   #8
BHPian
 
NOTORIOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 783
Thanked: 86 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Will pick that External USB Hard disk enclosure soon!



Are you very sure?! I'll have to read through that entire Warranty book now





3k for graphics cards. But I'm not sure what motherboard I have and if it even supports it. I think there are graphic cards that can now be externally attached.
this will surely void your warranty if that sticker is removed


Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Do you have your old PC still?
Simply connect them together into a LAN.
Both will remain FULLY operational and you can access one from the other, transfer data, use the optical drives et all....
for that you just need a 20 rs cross cable.

Last edited by NOTORIOUS : 13th May 2008 at 16:33.
NOTORIOUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 18:54   #9
BHPian
 
hyper123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 321
Thanked: Once
Default

Use this to determine which motherboard, RAM, etc is installed in the your PC - CPUID.

There are no external graphics card. Try stretching your budget to 5k for the card.
hyper123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 19:24   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

One suggestion..

Instead of dealing with sales/support. Talk to one of the guys who installed the PC, they will happily procure and install RAM etc (and Fix new Warranty sticker) for 500 Rs.

Easiest option in my experience so far.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 22:57   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
I got a new Lenovo K200 Ideacenter just yesterday.

What I wish to do now:
  • Copy all data from my previous HDDs to the new PC OR Install the old HDD to the PC.
  • Add another 1GB or 512MB RAM to boost performance.
  • Install my previous CD-Writer to the PC.
Questions:
  • Its got a seal on the cabinet. Does the warranty become void if I open the cabinet to add anything I wish?!
  • Will performing any of the above task void the warranty?!
DONT GET THAT SEAL OFF. IT WILL VOID THE WARRANTY.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
1) if you install the HDD or CD writer in the old PC , yes it will void the warranty
2) if the RAM is installed by the authorized dealer , no issues , but chances are you will be overcharged a lot
3) you can put your old HDD in a externalUSB enclosure ( costs ~500) and connect it to your new PC - that wont void warranty
Yes, they will overcharge horribly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post

What if I do install the old HDD and the CD-writer. And when the time comes to claim warranty, I just remove them off
They will come to know this from that Sticker Seal


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
.

I bought it from Vijay Sales who actually gave me the wrong configuration. I was supposed to get 1GB RAM and 160GB HDD. Instead I got another model with 512MB RAM and 250GB HDD. I anyways took it.

The Vijay Sales guy said that he can give me an extra 512MB RAM for Rs 990/-. That would anyways mean opening the seal. I told him that instead I'll get the RAM from outside and put it in myself. He said that would be fine. He also added that everything must be present that came with the PC. If I add another RAM its okay, but the original 512MB RAM that came with the PC should be present inside.
They are overcharging you way too much. Rs 900 is what is the cost of Kingston 1GB RAM. At you location it will be around 950-1000 Rs.

There are many ways to transfer all data. USB is the best option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Oh and another question:
How much does a external graphics card cost?! Well give me the most value-for-money one please?!
You can get Point-Of-View 8600GT for around 5K. 3K is sufficient for 8400.
IMHO, you should raise the graphics card budget to 5-6K. Again you will have to check your motherboard for PCI X16 slot. Again if you use some software like PCWorks to detect PCI X16 bus, but then, there are chances that you may not have that slot.
use CPUID to detect you motherboard version.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 23:03   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

Lenovo IdeaCentre K200 Desktop PC CyberIndian Tech
Quote:
Lenovo K200 desktop also offers free Slots including one PCI Express 16X Full height, one PCI Express 1X Full height and two PCI Full height slots.
I suppose that's taken care of

just curious , since the OP was asking for an external graphics card, and that he bought a branded system from a supermarket, A few questions -

1 You do know what a Gfx card does right
2 Why do you need a gfx card ? - specifically for what applications/games

Last edited by greenhorn : 13th May 2008 at 23:06.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2008, 00:24   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post

A few questions -
Why do you need a gfx card ? - specifically for what applications/games
He already mentioned 3K as limit. Hope he can extend it to 5-6K, where he will really have good options.
Under 3K is, I think RD3450 from Asus. It will get hot if its only passive cooling.
I dont think that he can get a good reasonable gaming graphics card for 3K.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2008, 00:40   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

aagg, assuming that he needs it for gaming may not be always right. lets see what he needs it for before starting with the suggestions
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2008, 01:09   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,420
Thanked: 158 Times
Default

I need the graphics card for gaming. But are the ones you guys talking about externally attachable?! Through USB?!

I'll call up the Lenovo HelpLine tomm and check with them about the seal.
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scoop data on the Alto K10, WagonR AMT & more Aditya The Indian Car Scene 63 7th November 2015 15:02
Laptop DIY: Adding a 2nd Hard-drive (or replace with new SATA HDD) Kumar R Gadgets, Computers & Software 14 27th October 2014 15:32
Heavy Data Back Up DVD or HDD NOTORIOUS Gadgets, Computers & Software 48 22nd February 2011 06:13
Ipod to portable HDD Data Transfer viper Gadgets, Computers & Software 5 26th April 2008 14:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:02.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks