Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 14th January 2012, 13:01   #2401
BHPian

Default Re: The GPS/Maps Discussion Thread (Dedicated Satnav, Smartphones, Tablets, etc)

Hi guys,

I am a newbie when it comes to GPS and I do not know how to achieve what I am looking for on my iPhone.

I like to "follow" a track on google maps while touring. At home, before leaving and using wifi, I make a route map on Google Maps on my iPhone and after I start off, I want it to show me the route and my current position on that route with the GPS without using GPRS connection. Is that possible? I think I am trying to replicate what the Garmin's and MMI dedicated GPS systems can do on my iPhone.

Prajwal
prajwalkashyap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 12:38   #2402
Senior - BHPian

Post Re: The GPS/Maps Discussion Thread (Dedicated Satnav, Smartphones, Tablets, etc)

Didn't find this in any thread, hence sharing here. Certainly a possibility:

Quote:
GPS - Don't Program Your Home Address

A couple of weeks ago a friend told me that someone she knew had their car broken into while they were at a football game. Their car was parked on the green which was adjacent to the football stadium and specially allotted to football fans. Things stolen from the car included a garage door remote control, some money and a GPS which had been prominently mounted on the dashboard.

When the victims got home, they found that their house had been ransacked and just about everything worth anything had been stolen. The thieves had used the GPS to guide them to the house. They then used the garage remote control to open the garage door and gain entry to the house. The thieves knew the owners were at the football game, and they knew what time the game was scheduled to finish, so they knew how much time they had to clean out the house. It would appear that they had brought a truck to empty the house of its contents.