Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th November 2009, 20:05   #286
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Anyone using SatGuide over Windows Phone?
I have experienced an issue where the software freezes frequently and one of the feature of the software to keep the phone in ON mode (since I have phone set to sleep after a few seconds if not active) while operation.

I recently updtaed the map to their latest version of OneIndiaMap07 and it was working fine until I had a soft reset on the phone.
This time I dont see much of the issue where phone is freezing, but I see that SatGuide is not able to keep the phone in ON mode while operation.

I have experienced that after a soft reset on the phone, some or other problems start appearing.. I have to either reinstall or swap maps a few times - I still dont know what fixes it and what is the exact pattern. Has anyone experienced similar issues with SatGuide running on WindowsPhone?
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 00:54   #287
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Madras
Posts: 588
Thanked: 139 Times
Default

I plan to buy a Garmin PND (Nuvi 285WT)from US and buy Satguide maps from India. I have one question, would i be able to find a place in google maps and push it to garmin using garmin pc communicator?
hyper-VTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 09:40   #288
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,350
Thanked: 8,167 Times
Default

Officially no. Because the Satguide maps will be available to you in SD card. You cannot browse this map in a PC. You need to install these maps in Mapsource on your own.

Once done you can use the mapsource features to plan your trips. Routing may or may not be enabled on this based on the translation. Be aware this is not Garmin supported method.


In fact I checked on the Garmin site, as to what is the option which allows maps to be transferred to the device and also that can be browsed on a PC. The only official method is that you need to buy these maps as CD/DVD from Garmin. This can then be installed along with Mapsource on a PC and then transferred to the device/SD card.

Meanwhile, can owners of Garmin Maps (I mean Navteq and not Garmin compatible maps like MMI, Satguide) please update on its coverage across India? I thought it is very limited.

Last edited by ampere : 18th November 2009 at 09:41.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 16:09   #289
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,350
Thanked: 8,167 Times
Default Errors in Satguide

I can see quite a lot of Kerala State Highways not being marked in Satguide. (SH15, SH42, etc...)

Also the Trichur Choondal road is marked SH39, while it SH69. The Choondal Guruvayur SH49 is not at all marked.

Looks like this is just the tip of the iceberg. There will be quite many of them lurking around.

Again re-stating:
I did not find the Kerala portion of Satguide maps, comprehensive at all.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 20:15   #290
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Is this 2xx series so popular with Garmin?
I thought 7xx and 8xx is better. I was about to get an 855 (with speech recognition / voice commands and other few features) in around $190-$200, and was planning to put MMI on that, later decided against it. I thought I can still try my HTC running SatGUide for some more time if its going to work smooth.

Another question guys!
Is there any way I can install Same Garmin s/w on my Windows Phone? I remember someone bought DX device and was trying all the options.. Can I do that on my Windows Phone? I would like to give it a try and see if I can make use of Garmin features (like speech recognition - since I already use voice command on Windows Phone sometimes, thought that would work cheaper) on my Windows phone!!!

My problem wiht the Windows Phone device still exists, I have written to SatGuide, lets see if they can fix it and make me stick with SatGuide for some more time.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 20:44   #291
Senior - BHPian
 
Ravveendrra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,391
Thanked: 404 Times
Default Purchase query

Seeing several threads in the travelogue section as well as this one. I have almost decided to buy MMI. A vist to their web-site showed that they are selling Garmin nuvi 215W for about 17K (complete with maps, lifetime subscription etc.).

I was wondering if this 215W is a decent machine and if this was a good deal. I do not want any high funda stuff like lane-change information, reading of street names etc. as they are useless where I live and in most places in India where streets go by a local name that would be different from the official name. I also do not need an MP3 player, video machine, bluetooth or FM.

I cannot find any retailers for MMI - seems they sell only over the net. Is this correct.

Cheers,
Ravveendrra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 21:07   #292
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketan View Post
Is there any way I can install Same Garmin s/w on my Windows Phone?

Yes. Garmin's software (Garmin Mobile XT) runs fine on Windows Mobile / Windows CE and Symbian.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 21:24   #293
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Madras
Posts: 588
Thanked: 139 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Officially no. Because the Satguide maps will be available to you in SD card. You cannot browse this map in a PC. You need to install these maps in Mapsource on your own.

Once done you can use the mapsource features to plan your trips. Routing may or may not be enabled on this based on the translation. Be aware this is not Garmin supported method.


In fact I checked on the Garmin site, as to what is the option which allows maps to be transferred to the device and also that can be browsed on a PC. The only official method is that you need to buy these maps as CD/DVD from Garmin. This can then be installed along with Mapsource on a PC and then transferred to the device/SD card.

Meanwhile, can owners of Garmin Maps (I mean Navteq and not Garmin compatible maps like MMI, Satguide) please update on its coverage across India? I thought it is very limited.
Sorry i am a bit confused. So you mean
1. I can buy the GPS set from US and buy India map from SatGuide (i suppose supplied in a SD card)
2. Not be able to transfer routes from Google Maps from PC to GPS

Correct?
hyper-VTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 21:47   #294
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

regarding point #1, yes this is how things will work. You get SD Card from Satguide, and put that in device.

regarding point #2, it is possible but would require some work. That is setting up "mapsource" from Garmin and setting up your Unit. This is all that is required.

IF you want to do other things like route planning / map browsing on PC, than you would need to setup maps from satguide on PC. This is somewhat tricky. Took me quite a few hours to do that.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 22:02   #295
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,350
Thanked: 8,167 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyper-VTEC View Post
Sorry i am a bit confused. So you mean
1. I can buy the GPS set from US and buy India map from SatGuide (i suppose supplied in a SD card)
2. Not be able to transfer routes from Google Maps from PC to GPS

Correct?
That is correct. The GPS hardware will only read the SD card supplied map. You cannot transfer routes from Google maps from PC to GPS. Reasons:

- If you buy Garmin, it understands maps only in its own format, which would be supplied by the maps vendor in India (Satguide/MMI).
- But you cannot view this map in a PC officially. (Thought you can use many available S/Ws on the web to translate this map onto PC.)
If you can do that, you can then define points, routes etc and transfer the same to the GPS.
- Also note Google maps and vendor maps may be different. So co-ordinates of a place in Google maps can be different from vendor maps. Hence it may translate one on one and hence you wont be able to over lay google maps onto GPS.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 01:55   #296
BHPian
 
robimahanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: BLR/GAU
Posts: 610
Thanked: 1,564 Times
Default Garmin 215W

Got a Garmin 215W with MMI maps. I am currently trying it out across some highways as well as a few towns. It seems pretty accurate. Sometimes the route shown is not the most preferred one but overall its pretty user friendly. The one problem I have faced often is that, while on some highways the map shows that you are beside the highway rather than on it.
Attached Thumbnails
The GPS/Maps Discussion Thread (Dedicated Satnav, Smartphones, Tablets, etc)-img_0203rsz.jpg  

robimahanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 10:39   #297
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robimahanta View Post
The one problem I have faced often is that, while on some highways the map shows that you are beside the highway rather than on it.
This is a common problem, on my recent trip to India there were times where I was running Garmin, MMI (MioMap) and Destinator (Satguide) all at the same time on the 2 WM devices a dedicated PND I was carrying. They all appeared to have problems with poorly configured maps, there were some major roads which did not feature on the maps. One day I tried getting from Connaught Place to Ansari Road and although Garmin managed to get me to Daryaganj it was suggesting that I make right turns where there was a permenant rigid road divider preventing you doing so.

I also used GPSed to record my tracks so I could view them in google earth to check whether it was just inaccuracy in my devices causing the problems. The tracks viewed in GPSed were perfect in terms of showing actual road positions compared to the offroad position showed in most the satnav software. This proves the mapping used is not 100% accurate. MMI appear to port the same map data to different formats such as for use in garmin devices.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 14:49   #298
Senior - BHPian
 
mdsaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,629
Thanked: 445 Times
Default MMI Map Update

Hey everyone just spoke to MMI support on their website about the release of new maps.

This is what they had to say :-
Quote:
MapmyIndia [2:26:40 PM]: How may i help you.
Mahesh [2:26:54 PM]: When is the new version of maps coming out?
MapmyIndia [2:27:15 PM]: have you registered your product on our website.
Mahesh [2:27:22 PM]: yes
MapmyIndia [2:27:31 PM]: we are about to release new version.
[2:27:53 PM]: we will communicate it to all of our existing users
Mahesh [2:28:14 PM]: as this is my first upgrade will i be charged
[2:28:25 PM]: or are all updates free
MapmyIndia [2:28:40 PM]: we charge Rs.500 for update.
Mahesh [2:29:19 PM]: but the first one is supposed to be free right
MapmyIndia [2:29:35 PM]: no update is free.
Mahesh [2:29:52 PM]: so will this update come on a new SD card
MapmyIndia [2:30:18 PM]: yes.
Mahesh [2:30:31 PM]: Great looking forward to it
[2:30:35 PM]: keep up the good work
[2:30:41 PM]: thanks
MapmyIndia [2:30:49 PM]: Thanks For chatting
Have a nice day!

Last edited by Rehaan : 19th November 2009 at 20:21. Reason: Please don't post the same thing in more than one place. You are free to link to this post in the other thread if reqd. Thx.
mdsaab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 18:43   #299
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 651 Times
Default

The latest Satguide maps for Garmin detailing 404 cities and 16 L POIs is accurate, atleast in Delhi/NCR. Next week I'm driving to Jodhpur, so will know the accuracy on highways and other cities as well..
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 20:33   #300
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,350
Thanked: 8,167 Times
Default

Same here. The Satguide seems to be good in Bangalore. Need to see how it figures in Kerala and other states, when out on holidays.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sygic Maps Vs MMI maps, what's the difference? rkbharat Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 1st July 2014 07:43
Thoughts on Dedicated Bus, Cycle, Autorickshaw lanes etc carjinx The Indian Car Scene 21 3rd July 2012 12:30
Satnav Launches GPS Navigation Software navdeep Modifications & Accessories 119 16th November 2010 15:48
MapMyIndia vs SatGuide - Best Dedicated GPS Solution lynx Route / Travel Queries 2 20th February 2009 18:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:12.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks