Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th December 2009, 09:12   #376
Senior - BHPian
 
navan49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 998
Thanked: 68 Times
Default

Hi Friend,

That is great. Any idea how to make the GPS work for E61. I down loaded OVI software but doesn't work in my Nokia E61i. Where as E75 works nicely and used that yesterday.
navan49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 10:11   #377
BHPian
 
bj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 777
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navan49 View Post
Any idea how to make the GPS work for E61. I down loaded OVI software but doesn't work in my Nokia E61i
e61i (and e61) does not have built-in GPS chip (hardware) in the phone. You can buy external GPS hardware and pair it with phone using Bluetooth.

-BJ

Last edited by bj96 : 18th December 2009 at 10:13.
bj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 10:42   #378
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 645
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Went to mumbai by train. Carried my vx140 saw two movies, had amazing clarity. Also passed time seeing maps, which station is coming next. And also fun to see train speed. And at one point speed was showing 250kmph, is it really possible. Will show pics when i am back.

from mobile
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 18:22   #379
BHPian
 
viper_711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 346
Thanked: 55 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
And also fun to see train speed. And at one point speed was showing 250kmph, is it really possible. W

from mobile
I am not aware of any Indian train even crossing 200kmph - even if the tracks could take it; the coaches are just not designed for it!
viper_711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 18:28   #380
Senior - BHPian
 
navan49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 998
Thanked: 68 Times
Default

Hi BJ96,

Thanks for the information. If you could help me of some more light on external GPS chip that will help me. Shall we load it in the 2 GB SD card in E61i or we have to buy another card. I feel the screen in E61i is bigger so it will be clearer than the E 75.

Hi Bombay,

I have E61i. I want the Navteq. How can i get it and install in my Nokia.Can you help me.

Last edited by Eddy : 19th December 2009 at 19:41. Reason: Please avoid posting multiple back to back posts. Use the edit option if posting within 20 min. Thanks
navan49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 18:49   #381
BHPian
 
bj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 777
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navan49 View Post
If you could help me of some more light on external GPS chip that will help me. Shall we load it in the 2 GB SD card in E61i or we have to buy another card
Mapping software will be loaded in the phone only. You will have to buy an external "bluetooth GPS receiver" which will communicate with satellites and find out about your position co-ordinates and then feed this data to the e61i phone via bluetooth RF signal and then mapping software inside e61i will use this data to guide your navigation. The communication will be like the following:

GPS satellites -> GPS receiver<-> e61i Phone <-> Mapping software -> You.

The external GPS device (like a hands-free kit) are plenty in the market. Just google "bluetooth GPS for Nokia".

Read these links:
MapmyIndia iNav : GPS navigation for mobile phones! Nokia, Blackberry, HTC, ASUS GPS phone navigation software all India

Nokia Europe - Nokia Bluetooth GPS Module LD-4W - Overview

Buy any that suites your wallet and taste.

Personally, I find phone + external GPS device too clumsy to handle. I have a standalone Garmin Nuvi 760 which doubles up as hands-free for my phone.

Hope it helps.

-BJ

Last edited by bj96 : 19th December 2009 at 18:53. Reason: better sentence
bj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 14:10   #382
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ............
Posts: 3,260
Thanked: 4,210 Times
Default

Today, we had been to Nandi Hills. On the return journey, we came by a different route via Dodda Ballapura and Nelamangala. My MapmyIndia Lx 130 Navigator guided me correctly throughout the trip. The full satellite connectivity was seen on NH 7, NH 207, SH and even village roads. The alignment and the arrow mark was on the road and not by the side of the road. The Navigator shows the latest landmarks of Bangalore like NICE road, the newly constructed Gopalan Arch Mall on the Mysore Road, etc., which indicates that the pre-loaded map is the latest one. The NICE road toll was costly at Rs 15 from Tumkur Road to Magadi Road.

Last edited by J.Ravi : 20th December 2009 at 14:15.
J.Ravi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 11:23   #383
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,521
Thanked: 8,448 Times
Default

Apart from Nokia Maps, what are the other ways of getting maps esp. if you are not using a Nokia phone? Does Google sell its maps, as pre-loaded entities? Because nobody would like to have his/her GPRS/EDGE on all the time for map access.

So what are the options if one is not on Nokia?
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 11:29   #384
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,381
Thanked: 329 Times
Default

I think you already have Garmin maps. You can load them on Nokia. Garmin runs fine on my Nokia N82.

You can download Google maps and use that as well(multiple software packages to do that), but routing / navigation wont work.

And Nokia just updated maps to include coverage for 100 cities.
NetfreakBombay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 13:07   #385
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,521
Thanked: 8,448 Times
Default

Thanks ! I did not know that Nokia can read Garmin maps. I wanted to know this only for information. So what are the different S/W which can download google maps?

Google site also lists that one can download maps to the phone. Does this mean, once downloaded, you will not need any GPRS connection further, and the phone can be used as an independent GPS entity?

Last edited by ampere : 21st December 2009 at 13:10.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2009, 20:16   #386
BHPian
 
IndianNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 150
Thanked: 34 Times
Default SatGuide X350 for just Rs 9999/-

SatGuide X350 for just Rs 9999/- inclusive of tax and shipping charges.

Thinking of buying one, came accross the above.

Please suggest.
IndianNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2009, 22:49   #387
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,381
Thanked: 329 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
what are the different S/W which can download google maps?

you will not need any GPRS connection further, and the phone can be used as an independent GPS entity?

You can use mgmaps. It has gMapMaker tool to download map and mgmaps itself runs on mobile and uses these maps. Its free.

It does not require GPRS. But it can use GPRS if you allow (e.g. to search).
NetfreakBombay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 11:36   #388
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 713
Thanked: 371 Times
Post Mymapindia inside Chennai

I am planning for a Tuticorin-Chennai drive next week (600 kms).
I am confused on buying Mymapindia navigator (LX for Rs.12K) for driving inside Chennai.
Is it worth it? Is it available in shops in Chennai?

(Someone earlier had said 'Croma' has it?, Since I will be driving regularly to Chennai in the future, I plan to invest in a GPS navigator).
manim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 11:43   #389
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 645
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper_711 View Post
I am not aware of any Indian train even crossing 200kmph - even if the tracks could take it; the coaches are just not designed for it!
So it might be GPS error. Heard GPS are pretty accurate, when driving car the speed display was very much same as car.

Most of the time train speed was between 90-100, only for around 10 mins it reached 150-200-250.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 13:38   #390
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,521
Thanked: 8,448 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
You can use mgmaps. It has gMapMaker tool to download map and mgmaps itself runs on mobile and uses these maps. Its free.

It does not require GPRS. But it can use GPRS if you allow (e.g. to search).
@NFB, Thanks ! Will try it out. Currently downloading the India Map.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sygic Maps Vs MMI maps, what's the difference? rkbharat Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 1st July 2014 07:43
Thoughts on Dedicated Bus, Cycle, Autorickshaw lanes etc carjinx The Indian Car Scene 21 3rd July 2012 12:30
Satnav Launches GPS Navigation Software navdeep Modifications & Accessories 119 16th November 2010 15:48
MapMyIndia vs SatGuide - Best Dedicated GPS Solution lynx Route / Travel Queries 2 20th February 2009 18:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks