Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th December 2009, 15:52   #391
BHPian
 
IndianNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 150
Thanked: 34 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianNomad View Post
SatGuide X350 for just Rs 9999/- inclusive of tax and shipping charges.

Thinking of buying one, came accross the above.

Please suggest.
Any suggestions please


Kindly suggest a good gps device which is economically priced.
IndianNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 16:07   #392
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: @ Driver's Seat @
Posts: 679
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

Did anyone try Satguide maps on Symbian Software? Its available free at satguide website
lambuhere1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 16:56   #393
BHPian
 
MadBiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 180
Thanked: 218 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
Did anyone try Satguide maps on Symbian Software? Its available free at satguide website
Dont know why, It doesn't work on my Nokia 5800
MadBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 17:41   #394
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
Did anyone try Satguide maps on Symbian Software? Its available free at satguide website
Yes tried it on N82. Software (Destinator) has a poor UI.

Better to get Garmin XT and use Satguide's map with that.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 20:22   #395
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,166 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianNomad View Post
Any suggestions please


Kindly suggest a good gps device which is economically priced.

Not sure about the hardware mentioned. But I am sure you can get a Garmin + Satguide maps within 10K, if you can arrange a Garmin from US. Infact the 205W prices are down to 90$ if you look at Amazon. As its the X-Mas sales and newer products might get introduced.

I would say you should look at Garmin and buy satguide maps. Thats the best combination you can get for the same price.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 13:11   #396
BHPian
 
genesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 764
Thanked: 288 Times
Default Does The Text To Speech Feature (Garmin/Satnav)

If i get a gps nuvi255w (with text to speech features) will the garmin read out the street names as it is supposed to (e.g. left on pl lokhande marg)

or will it just say go left. (which would happen in a nuvi 205w)

The tts of nuvi 255w works in the US, hence trying to figure out if tts would work in India
genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 17:01   #397
BHPian
 
bj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 771
Thanked: 121 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by genesis View Post
The tts of nuvi 255w works in the US, hence trying to figure out if tts would work in India
I have a Nuvi 760. It is a north America model. Still, no issues reading out desi names of streets in our country. Sounds entertaining though in an American accent

-BJ
bj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 18:06   #398
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,166 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bj96 View Post
I have a Nuvi 760. It is a north America model. Still, no issues reading out desi names of streets in our country. Sounds entertaining though in an American accent

-BJ
Not sure on this. I thought TTS may be some thing which I could do without. Hence bought the basic Garmin.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 20:00   #399
BHPian
 
bj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 771
Thanked: 121 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
...I thought TTS may be some thing which I could do without. Hence bought the basic Garmin.
OT: Well for that matter, we do not really need even a GPS in India. Just lower your window and ask the passer by/pedestrian at the next nook. Unlike US and western countries we have plenty of them on our roads...
bj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2009, 00:49   #400
BHPian
 
genesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 764
Thanked: 288 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bj96 View Post
I have a Nuvi 760. It is a north America model. Still, no issues reading out desi names of streets in our country. Sounds entertaining though in an American accent

-BJ
@BJ96: Are you using Satguide maps in India?
genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2009, 21:41   #401
BHPian
 
bj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 771
Thanked: 121 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by genesis View Post
@BJ96: Are you using Satguide maps in India?
no. I am using navteq garmin map.
-BJ
bj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2009, 23:34   #402
BHPian
 
joecherian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 547
Thanked: 78 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadBiker View Post
Dont know why, It doesn't work on my Nokia 5800

well, as per satguide, this sw doesn't work on touch screen based mobiles.
joecherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2009, 14:07   #403
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: @ Driver's Seat @
Posts: 679
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Ravi View Post
The same night, I charged it fully for 8 hours as specfied in the user manual. When I switched it on Friday morning, standing on the open terrace of my home, the satellite connectivity was established within a few minutes. After establishment of connectivity, a 'lock' icon was also shown for the first & last time.
Ravi, GPS bug also hit me. I also bought LX130, But even after 20 min on open terrace, I am not able to see the connectivity. Do we need to have all the bars in green for the connection to be established. And I don't see the "lock" icon also on mine. Can you kindly help me please ?
lambuhere1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2009, 14:48   #404
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ............
Posts: 3,261
Thanked: 4,207 Times
Default

@lambuhere1,

Before switching on your navigator, please ensure than it is fully charged, i.e., 8 hours for the first charge and about 4 hours for the subsequent charges till there is green glow on the right side frame of the navigator. Please note that if the charge is less or partial, sometimes it does not connect at all.

Please stand in a open place without any surrounding high-rise building to ensure quick connectivity.

You require a minimum of 3 satellites in use with green bars to fix co-ordinates. The fix mode changes to 3D immediately after connectivity. The LCD screen also displays GPS in white letters with green icon on the left indicating the strength of the connectivity signal.

The 'lock' icon was displayed only once during the first usge. Subsequently, as soon as the navigator is switched on in an open place like balcony, immediately, it connects, say, within a minute. Once the navigator is connected, you can go indoors or car, and the connectivity stays on. I found the navigator is fully connected on Bangalore city roads, National Highways, State Highways and even on some village roads, I travelled.

Hope, you will get the connectivity if you follow all the steps mentioned above. If the problem persists, please contact MMI customer support at their toll-free number 1800 11 9898. They are very helpful.

Last edited by J.Ravi : 27th December 2009 at 14:52.
J.Ravi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 14:25   #405
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,166 Times
Default Satguide Map Updates?

Satguide owners,

Is there a way to find, what all has been updated on new map release? I called up Satguide and put up a question. I did not get any answers.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sygic Maps Vs MMI maps, what's the difference? rkbharat Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 1st July 2014 07:43
Thoughts on Dedicated Bus, Cycle, Autorickshaw lanes etc carjinx The Indian Car Scene 21 3rd July 2012 12:30
Satnav Launches GPS Navigation Software navdeep Modifications & Accessories 119 16th November 2010 15:48
MapMyIndia vs SatGuide - Best Dedicated GPS Solution lynx Route / Travel Queries 2 20th February 2009 18:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks