Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st June 2010, 12:20   #1051
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 641
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

HTC is Damn good in signal reception and display. Earlier before getting VX140, i used to use HTC touch with external GPS. It used to be spot on and remember display clarity was better than my VX140.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 12:44   #1052
Senior - BHPian
 
cool_dube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,157
Thanked: 345 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smsrini View Post
My understanding is that the recent models like the nokia 5230, HTC legend and other higher end touch/smart phones, have inbuilt GPS antennas as well, so function in what is know as the A-GPS or assisted GPS mode. So if there is no satellite connectivity, then the device relies on the GSM/ GPRS network to provide a location fix and thereafter routing etc.
smsrini - you missed the point! I was not talking about GPS connectivity but GPRS connectivity which is required to download map tiles to the device (unless you have stored these locally).
cool_dube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 13:46   #1053
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 405
Thanked: 206 Times
Default

Guys, any good in-car holder for my Samsung spica? cost?
rbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 14:15   #1054
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 641
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbp View Post
Guys, any good in-car holder for my Samsung spica? cost?
Check the universal mobile holder in ebay eBay India: Car Mobile Phone / GPS / PDA / iPOD / MP3 Holder Mount (item 110537877432 end time 24-Jun-2010 18:17:01 IST)

I used the same one for my HTC, the grip was excellent, it never came off even when i used to park in sun.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 15:17   #1055
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,044
Thanked: 3,589 Times
Default

Just got my Nuvi265. Plugged in the SatNav card (Full size SD).Too hot for me to go outside for it to get a fix right now.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 15:27   #1056
MX6
Senior - BHPian
 
MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: City of seven islands.
Posts: 2,882
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Just got my Nuvi265. Plugged in the SatNav card (Full size SD).Too hot for me to go outside for it to get a fix right now.
Welcome to the club. You don't need to go outside to get a fix immediately. You can use the simulation mode staying indoors. It's fun!
Also search for some random POIs. Search for cities and make them your current location and search for POIs near that position.
MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 15:30   #1057
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Leaving the unit near a window is also good enough to get you a sat fix in a short time.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 16:15   #1058
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,044
Thanked: 3,589 Times
Default

Looks like SatNav and Google are using the same maps. In both my road is misspelt as Bethoor Road instead of Bithoor Road. I will update as I get to know it a bit.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 17:21   #1059
Senior - BHPian
 
cool_dube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,157
Thanked: 345 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Looks like SatNav and Google are using the same maps.
How I wish it was true! Definitely not - SatNav is nowhere near Google!!
cool_dube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 14:37   #1060
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,044
Thanked: 3,589 Times
Default

All Google Maps fans. I was one until I decided to go to Uttarakhand. The road (ages old) from Bhimtal to Bhowali is missing. So GMaps wants you to go down to Kathgodam and then to Nainital to go anywhere? Adds a minimum of 35km!

Got my Nuvi265WT running with SatNav. It looks like it is more for the from here to A or from Home to A (or reverse) device. Still to figure out how to go from A to B. Is quite fast. Just remember to let it lock initially before using it every time, otherwise you will only get garbage.

Is very accurate. A gripe - does not work with PIN codes!

Found that in my Civic I have to use the friction Grip. Which is essentially a heavy bag with a soft rubber base, on which you can mount the unit. The windscreen is too far for the vacuum cup to be of much use.


Another point, You may need a 2-way adapter for the power socket if you want to use anything else, a car fridge in my case. The power adapter has a built in 1A fuse.

Heard that in some cities, esp. in Delhi you risk a broken window just to steal the GPS. So watch out. Also, a case for buying a pouch.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 14:46   #1061
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Got my Nuvi265WT running with SatNav. It looks like it is more for the from here to A or from Home to A (or reverse) device. Still to figure out how to go from A to B. Is quite fast. Just remember to let it lock initially before using it every time, otherwise you will only get garbage.
I think it has a "set a new starting point" option too, but if it doesn't then you can do this:
1. Set B as your destination.
2. Add A as a "via point". It will ask you whether you want add A as new destination or via point.

But, you can check the A to B routes on their webpage as well.
MapmyIndia - maps, directions, and local search across India - just search, print and go!

Quote:
Heard that in some cities, esp. in Delhi you risk a broken window just to steal the GPS. So watch out.
Not only Delhi, most big cities in US too.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 15:59   #1062
MX6
Senior - BHPian
 
MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: City of seven islands.
Posts: 2,882
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

And in most of the big cities across UK and Europe too! Not just Delhi and US!

@sgiitk. Are you sure that the pin-code thing doesn't work for you? For me I've used that a couple of times (in chennai) and it worked fine.
And am surprised about the garbage too. I didn't get garbage. Incidentally, for me it didn't suggest any route at all and went back to the main screen until it locked. Then I had to hit the routing again.
If your map doesn't show you the route you can see in google, I'd suggest you to do a routing in Google earth. Save that as kml file. Then use converting programs like kml2gpx to convert that to gpx format and then save to your garmin.
When you try routing to the place, voila you find that if will show you the new route you have deviced, converted and imported! I remember my garmin asking me to off-road on perfectly available roads on a trip to a nearby place, speaking of which I plan to go there again this weekend to see the peacocks in full glory.
MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 16:05   #1063
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,044
Thanked: 3,589 Times
Default

@MX6: I tried quite a few local Pin codes - did not work. May be MMI does, and Satnav does not.

Garbage - obvious if it does not have an initial fix it may assume it is anywhere. Once when I powered up and did not wait it wanted to Navigate from Turkman Gate, Delhi. No big deal since it locks within 20 seconds!
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 21:22   #1064
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 291
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
All Google Maps fans. I was one until I decided to go to Uttarakhand. The road (ages old) from Bhimtal to Bhowali is missing. So GMaps wants you to go down to Kathgodam and then to Nainital to go anywhere? Adds a minimum of 35km!

Got my Nuvi265WT running with SatNav. It looks like it is more for the from here to A or from Home to A (or reverse) device. Still to figure out how to go from A to B. Is quite fast. Just remember to let it lock initially before using it every time, otherwise you will only get garbage.

Is very accurate. A gripe - does not work with PIN codes!

Found that in my Civic I have to use the friction Grip. Which is essentially a heavy bag with a soft rubber base, on which you can mount the unit. The windscreen is too far for the vacuum cup to be of much use.


Another point, You may need a 2-way adapter for the power socket if you want to use anything else, a car fridge in my case. The power adapter has a built in 1A fuse.

Heard that in some cities, esp. in Delhi you risk a broken window just to steal the GPS. So watch out. Also, a case for buying a pouch.
Have you tried Yahoo maps? In my personal opinion, Yahoo maps is MUCH better for highways than Google maps. It has amazing details on lesser travelled roads in rural areas than Google, where Google just shows that u r in the middle of nowhere! My experience was from Kalasa to Mudigere after the Kudremukh Ghats, where, google only has a very inaccurate roundabout road thru Sringeri, while Yahoo maps showed all the inner roads and an alternative from Mudigere to Belur too, since the highways was in tatters at the time.

I picked up a Garmin 205W and I was wondering if Satnav was the only way to go (I dont like the price of MMI), or if google/yahoo maps can be loaded on the Garmin.

Prajwal
prajwalkashyap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 22:18   #1065
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,044
Thanked: 3,589 Times
Default

@prajwal: It may not be easy to port Google or Yahoo to Garmin. SatNav look pretty good. Remember India is still not fully digitised, so with any digital map you must retain your sang froid. As I am coming to terms with my Garmin I am slowly getting to like the SatNav stuff, at the price. It is ure teaching me a lot about thinking in terms of street names, etc.

I remember MMI Ver 1 CD - had almost zero detail.

When I looked for maps in Ladakh I drew a near total blank from Google Maps.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sygic Maps Vs MMI maps, what's the difference? rkbharat Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 1st July 2014 07:43
Thoughts on Dedicated Bus, Cycle, Autorickshaw lanes etc carjinx The Indian Car Scene 21 3rd July 2012 12:30
Satnav Launches GPS Navigation Software navdeep Modifications & Accessories 119 16th November 2010 15:48
MapMyIndia vs SatGuide - Best Dedicated GPS Solution lynx Route / Travel Queries 2 20th February 2009 18:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:38.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks