Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th July 2008, 23:47   #16
BHPian
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 355
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

i found the manual for the motherboard
all it says is the following
"this motherboard supports AGP/2x/4x graphic cards such as ASUS AGP-V6800 DDR/64M

what does this mean,?

looks here
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...cuv4xc-100.pdf
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 07:43   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

hmm. looks like an AGP 2x slot. a new AGP card ( FX 5200/6220) should cost about 1k, but in your case , any old riva TNT2/Geforce 2/4 Ati rage etc , one of the older cards will do . try posting in the giveaway/help with computer configuration thread. someone might have one of those lying around unused.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 10:53   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Its 2X AGP. It will be very difficult to source the graphic card.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 13:38   #19
BHPian
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 355
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
hmm. looks like an AGP 2x slot. a new AGP card ( FX 5200/6220) should cost about 1k, but in your case , any old riva TNT2/Geforce 2/4 Ati rage etc , one of the older cards will do . try posting in the giveaway/help with computer configuration thread. someone might have one of those lying around unused.

what i dont understand is that the manual (link that i have posted ) it says the motherboard can take a 4X card and even suggests an ASUS V6800 DDR/64M but in the software that grrenhorn provides it shoes the borad to support only 2X. How come?
Also this asus card that is suggested is it 2X or 4X how do we know?

Also i have been quoted 800rs for a 64mb card from a dealer , how do i know whether its 2X or 4X

lastly : as grenhorn ji suggests if any one has an old card lying around i would be willing to buy considering the shortage for my type of card
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 13:50   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

I believe 8x/4x cards are backward compatible with older slots 4x/2x slots, the only problem is that the card will run at 2x speed instead of the speed it is capable of. shouldnt make a big difference, given your older system. magma, there really is no shortage of AGP cards, nobody wants them these days , except for people stuck with older motherboards.

About the 64 Mb card from the dealer, find out what its model number is ( geforce FX 5200 , Radeon X200 etc. once we know the model name , it should be easy)

I still think that instead of buying new ( chances are you'd be getting unsold old stock) , you're better off picking one up second hand ( provided you can source one)
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 14:36   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I believe 8x/4x cards are backward compatible with older slots 4x/2x slots,
I dont think that they are backward compatible. The 4X and 8X wont work in 2X. Its 1X and 2X that are compatible, i.e a 1X card will work in 2X and 2X card will work in 1X.

However, if the slot is " Universal " type, 1X, 2X, 4X and 8X can be used.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 31st July 2008 at 14:37.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 14:50   #22
BHPian
 
Jaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 555
Thanked: 141 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
hmm. looks like an AGP 2x slot. a new AGP card ( FX 5200/6220) should cost about 1k, but in your case , any old riva TNT2/Geforce 2/4 Ati rage etc , one of the older cards will do . try posting in the giveaway/help with computer configuration thread. someone might have one of those lying around unused.
The AGP cards are not easily available and the new ones cost more than the PCI variants. I am hunting for a AGP 4x card for the past couple of days without any luck. One dealer says that 8x should be compatible but I am not too sure.
Guess i'll have to settle for some used stuff.

- Jag
Jaguar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 15:02   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

8x AGP card in a 2x slot? - Ubuntu Forums
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 15:10   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

@ green horn:

AGP 1x
A 32-bit channel @ 66 MHz.266mb/sec, 3.3 V.

AGP 2x
A 32-bit channel @ 66 MHz X 2, 533 mb/sec, 3.3 V.

AGP 4x
A 32-bit channel @ 66 MHz X 4 , 1.04gb/sec, 1.5V

AGP 8x
A 32-bit channel @ 66 MHz X 8, 2.08gb/sec, 0.8V.

Here as the voltage of 1X and 2X are same, they are compatible, but the 8X or 4X wont work in 2X.

Only if the slot is of universal type, the 4X or 8X can work in 2X slot.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 15:35   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

@ aaggoswami: AGP compatibility for sticklers

@ magma, if you arent into swapping parts in your PC , and having trouble sourcing a 4X card, the best course of action would be to lug your PC to the dealer's place and have him figure out ( at his expense ) if the card he wants to sell you works or not

EDIT : VIA Pro 133A (VT82C694X) Universal AGP Motherboard

I dont think using a newer card will be an issue

Last edited by greenhorn : 31st July 2008 at 15:49.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 15:47   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Getting confusing now.

When I was searching for a card for MSI K9-MM-V ( there were two versions for this motherboard, and mine was with AGP, not the PCI one ), I did a lot of research, but eventually decided agaisnt buying the AGP 8X.

However, now I am using the source as wikipedia.
Wikipedia says that
Quote:
AGP cards are backward and forward compatible within limits. 1.5 V-only keyed cards will not go into 3.3 V slots and vice versa,
.

@magma: try out and update.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 15:53   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

OT: I dont recall the K9MM-V ever having a PCI-E version!

EDIT: I think most current AGP cards come with both keys

Last edited by greenhorn : 31st July 2008 at 15:58.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 15:54   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
OT: I dont recall the K9MM-V ever having a PCI-E version!

There was one long ago when the motherboard was introduced as " entry level for AM2 socket ". I have seen one personally. But at that point of time never realized that I will need one graphics card.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 19:24   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 1,094 Times
Default

Not all AGP 8X cards will work in AGP 2X boards. Many do not support the 3.3V signalling standard and hence will not boot. I remember my 9800 pro not booting an old CuBX board.

What will work for certain is any TNT/TNT2/GF/GF2 and the ATi Rage 128/First few radeons. Anything beyond that may or may not work.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 21:54   #30
BHPian
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 355
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

guys why dont we just find out what type of card is the one that is proposed by ASUS itself. i have posted in a previous post
i think its an ASUS v6800 ddr/64mb

if this is a 4X card then it means the 4x and 8x should be backward compatible.
can you guys help me in checking ot whether this particular card is 2X or 4X?
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
Which cities in U.P. can issue Smart card or Plastic card driving license (DL) ? zook09 The Indian Car Scene 11 24th November 2010 15:21
LAN card to LAN card sharing abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 21st December 2008 01:55
Need Advice on TV tuner CARD for Laptop wmax Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 7th August 2008 16:18
Ferrari F355 - WARNING Very Graphic Accident GTO Street Experiences 24 3rd September 2005 09:27


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:33.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks