Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st July 2008, 22:06   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

that card is ancient dude.Its the world's first GPU

Yes, that particular Card is 4x.

I wouldnt bother too much Finding the manufacturer recommended card. It would be like trying to source the stock speakers of an old car .Hard to get , and much better aftermarket solutions available these days, and we're not doing a restoration job here ...

Last edited by greenhorn : 31st July 2008 at 22:09.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 22:16   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

@ Magma:

This card is quite difficult to find in the market.

EDIT:
Thanks Greenhorn. It supports 4X, but I went by the fact shown in CPU-Z.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 31st July 2008 at 22:26.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2008, 22:18   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

dude , get the manual from the link he posted and read it . it says the board is 4X compatible , and the model he posted is what is the suggested card for installation. I'm pretty sure it will work
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2008, 10:12   #34
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

What are the options for a 512MB graphic card for a Intel QUAD core processor mother board?

I am looking for a compact Intel Quad core machine with a 512MB graphics card to convert AVCHD to DVD. Any suggestions. ASUS?
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2008, 10:59   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

Nope, Anything But Asus (and possibly XFX) . Their A.S.S (from their distributor , rashi) is pretty bad , and after RMA, a lot of people Just keep Getting a "refurbished" product with a different problem.

As always, budget please

And the others can take it up from there

PS: I think http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...iguration.html would be a better place to ask

Last edited by greenhorn : 1st August 2008 at 11:00.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2008, 23:50   #36
BHPian
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 355
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

thanks guys i only wanted to know whether the recommended card is 4X or 2X i am not trying to buy it
im trying to source one of the following which i think should fit my bil
creative 3D blaster Riva TNT 32MB
NVIDI riva tnt 2 32 mb
ATI Radeon 9000 64MB AGP graphics card ( not 9000 Pro or any other series)
ATI RAdeon All in Wonder 7500 64 MB
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 00:02   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

Magma, While I dont want to be held responsible for killing your motherboard, I really see no reason why the currently available graphics cards shouldnt work on your system.

If you're planning to get the above mentioned cards for free, then no issues, But I certainly wouldn't Pay for them when there is better stuff available

My advice, take your system to the dealer offering the 64 MB card ( if he's selling it for ~1k) and get him to install it

Last edited by greenhorn : 2nd August 2008 at 00:03.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2008, 19:16   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 20
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi guys I'm running an almost same system so might be of some help to magma

My system (bought new from the states in summer 2000)
Dell dimension xps P3 800 @ 100hz (original intel board)
3 x 256 mb sdram 100hz
64mb geforce 256 agp 4x oem dell (the first gpu and the first card at 64mb)
creative soundblaster live 4.1
usb 1.1
win xp pro

The mboard is rated at agp 2x. My card works fine with the mboard.
The display became faulty 3yrs ago, my vga displayed dark shadows, upgraded to a sony 17" LCD, still same problem. My LCD has dvi-d and came with the cable plugged it in to my agp card and everything works great - 1280x1024 @ 60hz

Now from what i think your comp should handle all cards agp 4x and maybe? even 8x. Best bet is to carry the comp and have it installed from the seller. I've had alot of trouble on ram, my comp takes strictly max 256mb 100 hz and not 133hz which is/was widely available. I took it to the engineer he tried all his used ram chips about 20 - 30 (paid the price of new ones)and took the only 2 that worked 4yrs in no problem.

So hope it helps
Mr Bansal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008, 18:05   #39
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
What are the options for a 512MB graphic card for a Intel QUAD core processor mother board?

I am looking for a compact Intel Quad core machine with a 512MB graphics card to convert AVCHD to DVD. Any suggestions. ASUS?
ATI Radeon 3650 512MB which should cost ~ 4-5k should be decent enough for you.
ATI cards have a slightly better Video Decoder for HD content.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 18:20   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,823
Thanked: 213 Times
Default

Guys, How good is Simmtronics Nvidia 8400GS 512MB card? Cost about 2.7K. XFX is available for 3.5K.

My application is regular stuff with moderate gaming like Colin Mcrae, NFS prostreet, MotoGP etc. I have 2GB ram with Intel G31PR motherboard. Will this card be enough for my applications?
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 18:53   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

Simmtronics is selling graphics cards these days ? their RAM went bust so many times that vendors in trivandrum stopped accepting warranty for them

an 8400GS for 2.7k? not worth it, especially a simmtronics one. Last i heard , mercury 8600GT's were available for about that price

and get the 256 MB version. It faster than the 512 mb version since the 256 MB version used DDR3 ram , while the 512 uses cheaper and slower DDR 2 RAM

But dont expect it to last too long though. Nvidia has revealed that a flaw in their manufacturing process will cause all 8 series cards to die a premature death.

compared to the 8400GS. an Ati Radeon 3450 should cost about the same , and have similar performance, but you can get hold of a 8600

Hunt around Ritchie street. you should get some cheaper rates

Last edited by greenhorn : 5th September 2008 at 18:55.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 16:17   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,823
Thanked: 213 Times
Default

Thanks Greenhorn, I got the XFX 8500GT 512MB for 3K. Works fine on most games. 8600GT was about 4K. Happy with this.
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 20:49   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,077 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mail4ajo View Post
Thanks Greenhorn, I got the XFX 8500GT 512MB for 3K. Works fine on most games. 8600GT was about 4K. Happy with this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
and get the 256 MB version. It faster than the 512 mb version since the 256 MB version used DDR3 ram , while the 512 uses cheaper and slower DDR 2 RAM
I guess its too late now
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009, 10:38   #44
BHPian
 
parimal_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 435
Thanked: 174 Times
Default Need Help in buying a Graphics card..

Hello every one,
I need a suggestion from experts about buying a graphics card,
my pc is very old(Pentium 4 3Ghz HT with 915 Intel Board 512 RAM),so i dont want to spend more money on it but i have allocated budget of 10 k for upgrade.
so mostly 2.3 k for hard disk , 2 k for RAM rest for graphics card.
My Board has PCI Express Slot..so Guys please suggest

Note from Team-BHP Support : Thread MERGED. Please use the search feature before creating a new thread on a topic that might already exist. Please continue your discussion in an existing thread. This will keep all the relevant information in one place and make it easier for readers in the future.

Last edited by Jaggu : 2nd February 2009 at 12:17. Reason: Search please
parimal_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009, 13:16   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

i suppose 9600gt will fit your budget perfectly.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
Which cities in U.P. can issue Smart card or Plastic card driving license (DL) ? zook09 The Indian Car Scene 11 24th November 2010 15:21
LAN card to LAN card sharing abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 21st December 2008 01:55
Need Advice on TV tuner CARD for Laptop wmax Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 7th August 2008 16:18
Ferrari F355 - WARNING Very Graphic Accident GTO Street Experiences 24 3rd September 2005 09:27


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks