Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd February 2009, 15:39   #46
BHPian
 
parimal_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 435
Thanked: 174 Times
Default

9600Gt is out of Budget,i can spend max 6k for card,10 k is my total budget,how about 8600gt/gts...does anyone using this card
parimal_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009, 15:56   #47
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,629
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
Hello every one,
I need a suggestion from experts about buying a graphics card,
my pc is very old(Pentium 4 3Ghz HT with 915 Intel Board 512 RAM),so i dont want to spend more money on it but i have allocated budget of 10 k for upgrade.
so mostly 2.3 k for hard disk , 2 k for RAM rest for graphics card.
My Board has PCI Express Slot..so Guys please suggest
Are you planning to keep the mobo ? I suppose yes and you are planning for upgrade on HDD, Ram and graphics card.
Now in your post you have mentioned that your mobo is based on 915 chipset. So your board had PCI Express X16 slot and not PCI Express X16 2.0. I think you have 1.1. So the 2.0 graphics card wont be utilized fully, but backward compatitibility is there. I think that 9600GT from nVidia and 4670 from ATI fits you budget well. I will suggest you go for 4670, it eats less power and is equally good. Remember that it will be hard to find these cards in 1.1 version, you will have to spend for 2.0.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
i suppose 9600gt will fit your budget perfectly.
I think even HD4670 is good. It eats less power while giving out as good performance.
That mobo has 1.1 slot and not 2.0. And finding the 1.1 version of these cards is a bit tough. He will not be able to utilize the full potential of either 9600GT or HD4670.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009, 16:51   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
9600Gt is out of Budget,i can spend max 6k for card,10 k is my total budget,how about 8600gt/gts...does anyone using this card
TheITWares - Graphic Cards

check the price
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009, 16:58   #49
BHPian
 
parimal_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 435
Thanked: 174 Times
Default

are you sure of the backward compatibility of HD4670,will it support Intel 915 Board.
parimal_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009, 21:27   #50
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,629
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
are you sure of the backward compatibility of HD4670,will it support Intel 915 Board.
The 915 ( codenamed Grantsdale and 925, Alderwood ) has X16 slot, so this card will work, but not to full potential. This was same query I was having for 945 also. My friend wanted to fit in 2.0 X16 card in 945, at that time I had contacted many people and did a lot of googling. Everybody had the same answer, not full potential will be available, but will work.

Now from what I have read, the X1 will work only with I/O Controller Hub ( ICH ) 7 and not 6, and your mobo has six. But this was for X1 and not X16, so I think HD 4670 will work in your mobo.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 23:11   #51
BHPian
 
parimal_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 435
Thanked: 174 Times
Default

Brought 9500 GT at 3600Rs,but not working ,fan is starting but no display,
what could be the problem,the card is working on other board.
parimal_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 20:11   #52
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,629
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
Brought 9500 GT at 3600Rs,but not working ,fan is starting but no display,
what could be the problem,the card is working on other board.
Its mostly a board issue. Try updating BIOS ( do this only if you know this perfectly or else let some professional do it ).

Which make graphics card ?
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 21:07   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

have you disabled the onboard (if any) in bios ?
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 21:17   #54
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Did the Mobo read the gpu? did the drivers install properly? Did you use the display out from the gpu instead of the MOBO? describe the process you followed and maybe we can help you out.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2009, 12:46   #55
BHPian
 
parimal_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 435
Thanked: 174 Times
Default

after installation i connected through GIC only tried both the option with VGA and also tried to connect with DVI cable
checked the cmos setting also
even num lock key was not working after using the card
is it may be due to any problem with the port as mobo is 3 and half years old.
but i cleaned the port before installation,GIC fan was working.
parimal_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2009, 13:09   #56
BHPian
 
parimal_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 435
Thanked: 174 Times
Default

aaggoswami i really dont know the make ,my friend brought it for me.
parimal_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2009, 17:47   #57
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,629
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
after installation i connected through GIC only tried both the option with VGA and also tried to connect with DVI cable
checked the cmos setting also
even num lock key was not working after using the card
is it may be due to any problem with the port as mobo is 3 and half years old.
but i cleaned the port before installation,GIC fan was working.
Quote:
Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
aaggoswami i really dont know the make ,my friend brought it for me.
Well, I tested 9600GT on 915 today. It works. So this problem is more specific to your mobo.
Clean the dust, clean ram and clean the port and card pins. It will mostly do the job.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2009, 18:48   #58
BHPian
 
parimal_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 435
Thanked: 174 Times
Default

aaggoswami

I did the cleaning procedure already.but still not working,may be some problem with the mobo.
but then why the fan is working on GIC.
parimal_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2009, 21:07   #59
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,629
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parimal_g View Post
aaggoswami

I did the cleaning procedure already.but still not working,may be some problem with the mobo.
but then why the fan is working on GIC.
Does the 9500GT require any external power supply ?
The 9600GT that I tested had one. It ran well on 915.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2009, 21:11   #60
BHPian
 
parimal_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 435
Thanked: 174 Times
Default

no it does not have ext power supply
parimal_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
Which cities in U.P. can issue Smart card or Plastic card driving license (DL) ? zook09 The Indian Car Scene 11 24th November 2010 15:21
LAN card to LAN card sharing abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 21st December 2008 01:55
Need Advice on TV tuner CARD for Laptop wmax Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 7th August 2008 16:18
Ferrari F355 - WARNING Very Graphic Accident GTO Street Experiences 24 3rd September 2005 09:27


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:14.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks