Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th June 2008, 12:32   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default Help - iPhone touch screen dead

Hi Guys,

I need your help. I've bought an unlocked iPhone for my wife from Gaffar market, later I upgraded it using ZiPhone. It worked fine for a few days, but after some time the lower part of it's screen is dead, it doesn't respond to touches.

I restored it to factory settings and then again used ZiPhone for un-lock and jailbreak but to no avail.

Please tell me whether it's a software or hardware problem. And how to get it working? Will Apple India service it?

Or is it 22K down the drain :-(

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 13:21   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Randhawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,103
Thanked: 247 Times
Default

Did you drop it by any chance?
Randhawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 13:46   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randhawa View Post
Did you drop it by any chance?
Nope, the screen just went dead by itself one fine day.

I searched on net, and this problem seems to be a very common one. And Apple is replacing iPhones without any question being asked in US.

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 14:10   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Visakhapatnam
Posts: 44
Thanked: Once
Default

Then get it replaced from the apple store na? They replace woth out much trouble as Ive heard.
chvvkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 14:28   #5
BHPian
 
somebodystopme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 501
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

hmm seems you were unlucky bro. This is one reason I never a phone without Bill, Go to Palika Or Gafar and see if our Local mechanic can solve the problem.

Seems more of a hardware problem if apple is replacing phone in UK. Software one can be rectified.

Last edited by somebodystopme : 7th June 2008 at 14:29.
somebodystopme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 14:33   #6
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Apple always replaces things without any question, if they are within the warranty period. You can do that in Indian Apple stores too.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 14:39   #7
BHPian
 
somebodystopme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 501
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
Apple always replaces things without any question, if they are within the warranty period. You can do that in Indian Apple stores too.
Yeah But where do you get warranty for Apple Iphone in India Mate?
somebodystopme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 14:54   #8
BHPian
 
dezmo007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 43
Thanked: Once
Default

In order to avail the repairs under warranty you, will have to show the bill or the proof of purchase. If its purchased from the Grey market then you may have to pay for the repairs
dezmo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 15:03   #9
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 381
Thanked: 2 Times
Angry

Welcome to the world of Grey Market
eclectix 1st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 15:06   #10
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somebodystopme View Post
Yeah But where do you get warranty for Apple Iphone in India Mate?
I was just pointing out that just cos Apple replaces phones or ipods without asking questions does not mean that they are defective products. Apple's actions pleases the customer, since they are getting new products and they give them good publicity
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 16:27   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

HI

Are you saying that in case I have the Bill from the US I can go down to the Apple store here and have my defective phone changed?

Do they even stock iPhones in India??
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 17:43   #12
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Not yet kb100. I dont think India has iPhone in Apple stores yet. But iPod Touches, Macbooks etc are fine.

I also dont know if Indian stores will check to see if you have unlocked/jailbroken your iPhone.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 20:21   #13
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb100 View Post
HI

Are you saying that in case I have the Bill from the US I can go down to the Apple store here and have my defective phone changed?

Do they even stock iPhones in India??
Naa it's not possible even when you have the bill or you have a high link too in india in APPLE!!

The best is to send it to the APPLE abroad if you have any person going to US or UK, otherwise there is just two options left for you :
1. keep the phone till iphone launches in india!!
2. try convincing the APPLE INDIA that it's not Iphone it's IPOD touch



Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
Not yet kb100. I dont think India has iPhone in Apple stores yet. But iPod Touches, Macbooks etc are fine.

I also dont know if Indian stores will check to see if you have unlocked/jailbroken your iPhone.

As far as i know that it hasn't been launched here,so there is no chance that he can get replacement!!
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 21:34   #14
BHPian
 
revved_up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 662
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntomer View Post
I've bought an unlocked iPhone for my wife from Gaffar market,
Have you checked in Gaffar yet??
I think thats worth a try.
revved_up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 21:37   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 242 Times
Default

a) Cannot be serviced here in India

b) Send it to US for repairs, if you can

c) If during the scan they find that it has been unlocked or while upgrading its software, again a problem.

You will have to take that chance, otherwise forget the 22k.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In dash touch screen with support for GPS, bluetooth for new Scorpio triedeverything In-Car Entertainment 69 16th December 2010 14:57
Nokia launches X6 with capacitive touch screen ksethuram Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 30th July 2010 11:55
touch screen monitors -- ams impex kippu In-Car Entertainment 0 26th January 2009 09:14
need touch screen vga monitior arjunkr In-Car Entertainment 1 31st January 2008 14:21
1DIN, touch screen USB.... DRC In-Car Entertainment 15 18th September 2007 13:55


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:47.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks